We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing compared with other KI lighthouse accom”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A little disappointing compared with other KI lighthouse accom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our second KI lighthouse accommodation and the accommodation was a little anticlimactic after Cape Willoughby. The buildings themselves are classic South Australian stone structures with wide verandahs and spacious rooms, however the setting and atmosphere of the cottage are rather bleak and the house was quite dark and gloomy inside (small windows etc.) and had a more depressing feel to it than the cottages at Cape Willoughby. Certainly this helps empathise with the plight of the lighthouse keepers and their families but it may not be what you are looking for in a holiday. The bathroom and kitchen were a bit more basic although there was a wonderful old wood stove in the kitchen. The location is great, although obviously quite remote. It's a real experience and a privilege to have the park to yourselves after most of the day trippers have gone and the cottages are only a short drive to Remarkable Rocks and a short walk to Admirals Arch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear fitzrovians,

It’s great that you were able to experience the very special character of all three lightstations on Kangaroo Island! We are of course sorry to hear that the ambience of your lighthouse keeper’s cottage at Cape du Couedic did not appeal to you as much as Cape Borda or Cape Willoughby. However, we’re pleased that you enjoyed being close to some of Flinders Chase National Park’s main attractions and that the sense of isolation in this magnificent location proved to be such a special experience. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cape du Couedic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I truly hate to be the first to not have loved this place, but unfortunately our expectations were unmet.

First, the bad:
We were initially excited about ‘staying at a lighthouse’. Unfortunately, the magic of the lighthouses just didn’t translate to the cabins themselves. There was nothing uniquely special about them. Nice in their own right, but not unique. The lighthouse is no longer functioning, which might be great for better sleep but was disappointing. Then, based on customer reviews, I thought we would have koalas in trees nearby that we could see/hear at night. Not only did we not hear/see anything, but there didn’t seem to be any trees tall enough to be the right kind of tree. They may be at the visitor’s center, but that is fairly far away. The house: the bed was hard and extremely uncomfortable. There was absolutely no food or condiments supplied (no coffee, no sugar, no salt) so you will need to bring everything you need with you. While I can see how this would be fine for a larger family staying for a longer period of time, it was inconvenient for just 2 of us.

Now the good:
The location is fabulous. We very much enjoyed the Flinders Chase area overall. The proximity to both remarkable rocks and admiral’s arch is very nice, the scenery here is fantastic and the sense of isolation and quiet is wonderful. There were several paths with great views, including the walking path to admiral’s arch, that we enjoyed and we spent several hours reading on the back porch just enjoying the view, the fresh air and the nature.

Unfortunately, just not quite what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear pjsid,

We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed Cape du Couedic’s stunning location and magnificent coastal scenery! Of course we are also disappointed that your stay was not all that you had hoped it would be. The coastal environment does not support the taller gums and encounters with koalas are therefore more likely when exploring other areas of Flinders Chase National Park. However, we hope that you enjoyed the company of the wallabies and other local wildlife and took plenty of time to enjoy the sights and sounds of the nearby New Zealand Fur Seal colony at Admirals Arch.

It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with a time when the lighthouse was not operational. The Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA), which monitors the light remotely, reports that there was only one outage in the last twelve months and that the Cape du Couedic Lighthouse has an average failure rate of only 10 out of 1000 nights! You’ll be pleased to know that on the rare occasions when the light is not operational, AMSA issues a bulletin to shipping in the area to ensure safety at sea.

As we do provide complimentary supplies of tea, coffee, milk, sugar, salt and pepper in the cottages we were very surprised to hear that you did not find this to be the case and sincerely apologise for any oversight. As Cape du Couedic is a remote location our booking information recommends that guests bring with them any food or supplies they may require and we are grateful to previous reviewers who have often repeated this valuable advice. We were also surprised to hear that you didn’t find your bed comfortable as other guests have remarked on their comfort. Although the comfort of a bed is very much a matter of individual preference we value all feedback so that we can ensure that we are offering a consistent standard and the optimum level of comfort.

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Cape du Couedic. Although some aspects of your stay fell below your expectations we’re pleased that you found so much enjoyment in the views and quiet isolation of this very special location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The lighthouse keepers cottages are much more than just a place to sleep, a base for exploring the magnificent Flinders Chase National Park. Those with an imagination and those who remember the recent past will love the stories of the lives of the lighthouse keepers who lived in this rugged and isolated location. Even my technology addicted children began to appreciate the attractions of seals, wind, rock, shrubs, wallabies and caves. I loved imagining the lives of the men and women who hunted wallaby and fished to supplement the three monthly delivery of supplies, while enjoying the modern comforts of showers, fridge and microwave. An additional pleasure - my children learned to wash up the old fashioned way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Zinta H,

We’re so pleased that you found your stay at Cape du Couedic to be such a special experience and, as you say, not just a place to sleep! Cape du Couedic is certainly an ideal place to escape from the distractions of technology and reconnect with history and nature. As you have found, it is also a place for families to reconnect with each other, over a meal, a board game or, yes…….even over the washing up! Thank you for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights and wished we had the opportunity to stay longer. Great location, quiet and scenic, and not too far from the park facilities and the beach at Hanson Bay. The accommodations are rustic but very spacious and comfortable and an excellent choice for a family on Kangaroo Island. We were well prepared with supplies purchased ahead of time, and the visitor center and cafe in the national park were even better than expected. Even during the busy Christmas season, this location is quiet since most visitors are there only during the day. It's a long drive to/from the other end of Kangaroo Island, so if you're doing a variety of activities on the island you may want some time at this end and more time at the other end. Overall, for wildlife (wallabies, kangaroos, fur seals), secluded beaches, and scenery, this place is the best on KI!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mike T,

We’re pleased that your family was so comfortable in Karatta Lodge and that you enjoyed the quiet seclusion and magnificent coastal scenery at Cape du Couedic! Having plenty of time and more than one accommodation location is certainly good advice for visitors wanting to see as much as possible of Kangaroo Island. In addition to Cape du Couedic, we offer accommodation in three other equally stunning locations – Cape Willoughby on the eastern end of Kangaroo Island, Cape Borda on the north west coast and Rocky River in the heart of Flinders Chase National Park. We also offer a complimentary KI Tour Pass for guests staying for five or more nights. We hope you’ll be able to stay longer and see even more on your next trip to Kangaroo Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed ust before new year and wish we'd spent more time here. basic furnishings but everything you need and no TV! Log fires and very comfortable beds and lots of room. Wonderful location - we loved the seals and saw one give birh! Beautiful, historical, comfortable and serene. We will be back.

Room Tip: $20 from the visitor centre. Bring all food needed and some KI wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear michael p

Witnessing the birth of a New Zealand Fur Seal would certainly be a holiday experience to remember! We’re pleased that you were so comfortable in the lighthouse keeper’s cottage at Cape du Couedic and delighted that you intend to return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We returned after 15 years to stay at Cape du Coedic and it was just as magical as we remembered from our first trip , with our then 2 year old daughter, right down to the wallabies hopping across the backyard, relatives of the previous ones? This time with our 17 yr old daughter nd 12 yr old son who both enjoyed the beautiful spacious home, peace the NZ fur seals and wonderful "Remarkable Rocks" . Staying more than 5 nights and having the opportunity to use the island pass and check out the Cape Borda lighthouse, great tour, and Kelly Hill caves and the Seal bay tour was a real bonus. I love the fact that there is no TV, or phone cover, kids enjoyed it too. Thanks for keeping these open , we won't wait 15 yrs to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jan M O O

Yes, Cape du Couedic is something of a time warp! We’re so pleased that you were able to rediscover the magic you enjoyed on your previous visit to Cape du Couedic and that you were able to extend your stay to include May’s Homestead at Rocky River and the lighthouse keeper’s cottages at Cape Willoughby and discover the special character of each. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape du Couedic on your next visit to Kangaroo Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We loved our four nights in this wonderful place. The location was amazing, the cottage was well-equipped with spacious rooms and absolutely spotless. Full marks to those who look after these treasures! The close proximity of some of KI's best scenery was a bonus. The isolation made the experience seem more authentic and it was hard to drag ourselves back to reality. We made sure that we had plenty of provisions for dinners and ate our lunches at the park office cafe, which is excellent for daytime meals.

Room Tip: The wind will put you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear GaelBGeelong

Cape du Couedic is the perfect escape! So it’s easy to understand why guests who have spent a few days staying in the comfort of the lighthouse keeper’s cottages and enjoying the magnificent scenery are reluctant to return to the “real” world. Thank you for your glowing review and your kind comments on the presentation of the cottages – we will pass on your compliments to our dedicated staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
8.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
59.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
72.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
58.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience spectacular coastal scenery and wildlife whilst staying in one of three beautifully restored heritage listed three bedroom Lighthouse Keepers Cottages at stunning Cape du Couedic on the south-western corner of Kangaroo Island within Flinders Chase National Park. Cape du Couedic is located just a 20 minute drive from the Flinders Chase National park Visitor Centre and Chase Cafe. From your accommodation, take a short stroll to view New Zealand Fur Seals frolicking in the ocean and playing on rocks at Admirals Arch, and a 5 minute drive to Remarkable Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing