We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The lighthouse keepers cottage at Cape du Couedic is very well equipped, everything you'd hope for is there. A really worthwhile stay in such a beautiful, remote place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in Parndana Lodge, loved it!. Stunning location; walked down to Admirals Arch each evening- loved the scenery, fur seals, Tammar wallabies right next to the Lodge etc. Remarkable Rocks truly remarkable! A photographer's paradise. Loved the "feel" of the cottages- beautiful stone buildings, heritage listed, gave a sense of the history and isolation. Rooms spacious, clean, furnished in keeping with the era, beds comfortable. Kitchen well appointed. Only criticism would be of the bathroom- clean but basic, not heated. Also, would like to see a BBQ installed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had 1 night at this Heritage Accommodation, and upon arrival, we panicked. Why? Because there was no telephone (only one phone in my lodge for emergency use only), no TV, no Wifi etc.

We arrived late afternoon. After keying in the number combinations of the key press, we manage to get the key and unlock the house door.

There was still good light from the sky, so we made our way down to the Admiral's Arch, which was beautiful and I had a very good photograph session at the arch. We also observed fur seal frolicking at the rocks, which is very nice to watch. Watching the sunset at the cape was also magical, because it was a very fine day.

At night, the whole family had chats and played some games in the rooms. It was chilly, so all of us had to turn on the heater which was provided for warmth. After sunset, there is nothing to do, so it is good in a way to spend time the "good old way".

The next morning, we went to the Admiral Arch again, albeit in a different light - morning light. We saw more fur seals in the morning, and had a good time walking around the area.

If you like creature comfort, Wifi, Internet and such, you may suffer "withdrawal symptoms" here, but otherwise, it is a good rustic get-away for short period of time. It's quite a long drive from the nearest "civilization". Good thing we bought food from the supermarket near the jetty to cook our dinner, or else we would have to drive out a long way for dinner.

Room Tip: There is an emergency phone in Troubridge Lodge, so might be a good idea if you get to choose which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Cape du Couedic is on the south east corner of Kangaroo Island, home of seal colonies, koalas, platypus and much more. We stayed at the lightkeeper's cottage set below the lighthouse. There are three cottages which originally served the keeper and assistant keeper's families. All are available for reasonable rates and come complete with fully equipped kitchen (take you own food as there’s not much available close by), comfortable living area and bedrooms, and are spotlessly clean. There's no TV (which is a bonus!) but there’s a full complement of games so you can experience life before the digital age.
Surrounded by eucalyptus forests the area abounds with wildlife. Take a strong torch (supplied with the cottage) and go wandering at night to see the nocturnal animals. We found a large male koala in the tree in the carpark at the visitor centre.
The National Parks visitor centre is the best we've experienced - very good interpretive centre and a cafe that serves excellent food and possibly the best espresso coffee on the island.
We stayed two nights and it was well worth it. This is also a great base to explore the Rocky River walk, Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch, West Bay etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Cape du Coeudic Lighthouse Keepers cottage is a fantastic place to reflect on life today. There is limited phone reception, no TV, no newspapers which was fantastic to enjoy the comfortable accomodation and the surrounds. Located deep within the Flinders Chase National Park we enjoyed the admirals arch, remarkable rocks and wildlife sans the crowds early in the morning and late in the evening. You need to plan all your meals, but the kitchen facilities are more than adequate with a huge kitchen table. For those in need of a coffee and company the National Parks Cafe at the gateway to Flinders Chase is a very friendly place. Like others have said we recommended you consider this unique place to experience the National Park and Kangaroo Island!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fur seals, great walks, Remarkable Rocks, heavy seas, quiet. Older style cottage a bit light on modern conveniences but a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dbsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Accommodation very spacious, clean and atmospheric. Environment is a knockout, as good as it gets

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bronba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
3.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
55.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
903 reviews
59.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
20 mi away
Kangaroo Beach Lodges
50.6 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range: $135 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience spectacular coastal scenery and wildlife whilst staying in one of three beautifully restored heritage listed three bedroom Lighthouse Keepers Cottages at stunning Cape du Couedic on the south-western corner of Kangaroo Island within Flinders Chase National Park. Cape du Couedic is located just a 20 minute drive from the Flinders Chase National park Visitor Centre and Chase Cafe. From your accommodation, take a short stroll to view New Zealand Fur Seals frolicking in the ocean and playing on rocks at Admirals Arch, and a 5 minute drive to Remarkable Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing