We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky River Heritage Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in Postman's Cottage after Christmas and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is on the far west side of KI and is set in a clearing near the visitor's centre in Flinders Chase National Park.

Staying here was fantastic, we were near the walks around the visitor centre, and even had our own evening shows of wallabies, kangaroos and joeys, among other wildlife right outside the door! Be careful at night if you're driving around, those critters like to jump out from everywhere. Be sure to do the platypus walk in the evening, we didn't see a platypus but we did see almost everything else in the park!

This cottage, as other reviewers point out is small and basic but very comfortable. It has 4 beds, a double bed with a single bunk over it, and another single bed. I think that this would be a small space for 4 people though! There is a table and chairs and a working kitchen, with an oven, 2 hob cooktop, microwave, fridge and pots, pans and crockery galore. The star of the room is the wood burner, which is beautiful and really heats the place up. Some books and board games are left in the room, which is a lovely touch. The toilet is in a separate outbuilding beside the cottage, and disappointingly, despite it's size it doesn't have a shower (it is clearly a disabled toilet, and even has a drain in the centre of the floor!). The showers are a short while away, past the visitor centre in the campsite facilities, which can fill up with children depending on when you time your shower. However, you don't really go to somewhere like Postman's cottage for it's conveniences, you go for it's beauty and the wildlife around you!

We found this an excellent base for our KI trip, it's remoteness was a plus for us! We came away refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denni84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Postman's Cottage in August 2011. It is in a lovely corner of a beautiful island. Despite the modern conveniences of fridge, microwave and an electric stove and oven, it felt like we stepped back in time to the 1800s --thick plaster walls and a wood stove and after 5PM, we were the only ones there. We were glad for the conveniences especially the electric heat, since we set off the smoke alarm trying to start the fire in the old wood stove!

We had lots of Cape Barren Geese on our doorstep and kangaroos just down the road. The rain had closed the trails, so we did not get to do the hikes we hoped to, but it was great spot to visit Admiral's Arch, Remarkable Rocks and go on the night walk at the Hansen Wildlife Refuge and see a wonderful bird show at the Raptor Center. We enjoyed the penguins in Kingscote, but advise staying on that end of the island after the night walk to see them because the road was so full of wildlife at night (kangaroos, possums, echidnas) that we had to return slowly and carefully to avoid hitting anyone on our way back to Flinders Chase. Night time there was beautiful, so quiet and the stars were incredible.

The cottage is small but cozy. It is a bit inconvenient to have the toilets in a separate building and showers down the road, but it is definitely a step up from camping and very comfortable even in winter--the beds had nice warm comforters. It was very convenient to have the arrangements include ferry transport--except that the ferry broke down so we missed a flight to Sydney (but we got another night in Flinder's Chase!) Apparently this had not happened in the 18 years one island resident has been on the island.

I would definitely recommend the Postman's Cottage, especially to nature lovers!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in the Postman's Cottage in mid-June. We are generally the types to camp or backpack, but didn't want to bring all the equipment for this trip. Instead, we chose this very cheap cottage, right inside Flinder's Chase National Park. We could not have been more pleased with the cottage. I was incredibly homey and warm, with a wood-burning fireplace, comfy bed, full kitchen, board games, travel books, and lots of information about the park and island. Being inside the park was great, we were often greeted by wallabies and other wildlife in the mornings and evenings, and were able to visit places in the park before other people arrived. Also, the booking process is so easy, a simple email and everything is taken care of, even the bookings for the ferry to the island. Please note though, this is a self-catering woodsy cottage, not a hotel room with maid service if you're in to that sort of thing. Also, the cottage has an attached bathroom, but the showers are at the main campground, a short distance away.

Room Tip: Just email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent one night in the Postman's cottage and it definitely was a fun experience!
The cottage is tiny and very basic in the furniture: no TV, an ancient sink, a wooden table, 4 chairs, that's it! The bathroom is outside (luckily not too far though). We spent the evening playing board games and watching wildlife.
The location is excellent as it is right in the National Park. It's easy to go for a walk and meet the wallabies.
If you are not looking for luxury but a fun experience and a touch of History, I would absolutely recommend to stay in the Postman's house. There is another bigger house at the same location available for rent.
The only negative point: it has no shower...
I wouldn't stay there for a whole week but one night is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFlamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night in May's Homestead. We decided to stay here because we want to catch the sunrise at Remarkable Rocks and this place is just 30 minutes' drive away. There are other heritage accommodation provided by Flinders Chase National Park, but this is the most economical and well-equipped cottage.

The cottages at Cape du Couedic would be the nearest to Remarkable Rocks, but they come with a minimum of 2 nights' stay and we don't have that extra time.

May's homestead come with a fully-equipped kitchen and fully furnished living room and bedroom. A fireplace helps to warm up the living room and a portable heater is included in the cottage. The toilet is a little outhouse just outside and adjacent to the living room.

The cottage is set in a big field and Cape Barren geese roam freely in the field. It's a great place for bird watching enthusiasts like us. It's near the Flinders Chase Visitor Centre.

It's a great place to be near nature and the wild.

  • Liked — The nearness to Flinders Chase National Park
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

Accommodation of the Flinders Chase National Park : Historic light keepers' cottages at Rocky River. Backpacker style accommodation is also available in Postman's Cottage (close to each other). Accommodation for 5-7 persons. Full kitchen. Living room with a fire place. Shower and toilets OUTSIDE (historic ..). A lot of Kangoroos, Cape Barren geese, birds around the house. Lovely. An unforgettable experience back to the past.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LannyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
2.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
54.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
69.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
6.2 mi away
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
#29 of 49 in Kangaroo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky River Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky River Heritage Accommodation

Property: Rocky River Heritage Accommodation
Address: | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of the early pastoralists in these beautifully restored stone cottages. Peace and comfort beckons at the end of the day exploring Flinders Chase National Park, situated within walking distance of the Visitor Centre and the Chase Café. Choose from two bedroom May’s Homestead, built in the 1890’s or Postman’s Cottage, built for the visiting mailman. Relax and enjoy the abundant wildlife. Take a walk before sunset or sunrise to the Platypus waterholes lookout, where you might be fortunate to glimpse this elusive creature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky River Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing