We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Borda Lighthouse KI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stay at Cape Board light station was a wonderful experience. It was beautiful to watch sunset at evening’s when Kangaroos, wallabies, Birds were roaming around. We really enjoyed Harveys return and Ravine des casoars hikes. Accommodation was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karunathilaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at Cape Borda was fabulous! Woodward Hut is great for adventurers. It's basic but clean and has everything you really need and is very quiet. Mick the lighthouse keeper was the best host! He made it fun and informative. We really enjoyed sitting on our porch watching the kangaroos feed, driving to Flinders Chase to do the Platypus walk and see the rocks and seals, watching the sunset and sunrise, and checking out the Cape Borda museum and lighthouse and nearby walks. If you come up, be SURE to do the tour with Mick, don't just do the self-guided tour! It's totally worth the money--he's full of great stories and information and is a real hoot.

Room Tip: The Woodward hut is tiny and just one room with older twin beds and the bathroom is across the yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sabine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A stay at Cape Borda light station is a "must-do" on Kangaroo Island. National Parks SA Senior Guide Mick is the host with the most - abundant wildlife, amazing views, a tour with an answer for every historical/nature question, and keen to make your stay a memorable one.
I stayed in Hartley Hut - clean, comfortable,fully equipped kitchen,plenty of bedding, heating, all with a 70's decorating twist! Great retreat for 3 nights-especially during the storm. Absolutely the sort of weather you should experience at a remote Lighthouse station.
Don't let the road put you off going - this place is too special to miss.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank rchg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cape Borda light station is steeped in history and nobody can give a better account of the fascinating history of this light house on Kangaroo Island than our National Parks SA host Mick Rosewarne.
Anyone visiting Kangaroo Island should make the drive (long!) from the ferry to Cape Borda and take the tour. If you can make the 12:20pm tour then you will also get the privilege to experience the firing of the signalling cannon (loud!).
We stayed for two night in Woodward Hut and although small, the accommodation was affordable and comfortable and you find most of what you need in the cabin.
Also...make sure you check out the 'reading room' which is part of the Cape Borda museum section of the light house station.
We had an amazing time and giving our time there five stars.

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding and save $10 per night. Make sure to visit the reading room in the museum se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in Woodward Hut for one night and it definitely was the highlight of my Kangaroo Island 3 day trip. The 39km drive along the unsealed road to Cape Borda had been well graded by council the week before I got there so I didn't encounter any issues. I recommend calling Cape Borda Lighthouse prior to travel to double check the condition of the road if you are not in a 4WD however.
The Hut was basic but quaint and perfect for one person. Kangaroos grazed on the open grass area directly in front of the hut at dusk. On the oppose side of the hut stood the Lighthouse and the open water. An amazing place to sit and watch the sunrise or sunset. The hut didn't have a toilet attached to it but it wasn't located far away and the light from the Lighthouse at night was enough to guide the way without much need for a torch.
Without a doubt, Mick, the resident Lighthouse keeper was the icing on the cake at Cape Borda. His enthusiasm, friendliness and warm hospitality was much appreciated as a solo traveller. You will have a great laugh during his guided lighthouse tour which is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After booking the Hartley Hut we were delighted to accept a free upgrade to one of the main houses where we stayed for two nights. The property was clean and simply but well furnished. We were the only people staying there and the sense of remote isolation as an experience in itself and gave a wonderful insight to the lives of the early lighthouse keepers and the isolation they faced in this wild and stunning location. The ranger made us feel very welcome and gave us a private tour of the museum and lighthouse and even fired the canon for us. We used this as an opportunity to go on the Ravine de Cassowary walk which was stunning and worth the effort and it brings you out on a wild and empty beach. The kangaroos that appear in the morning and evening set the scene perfectly and as the start of our four week journey in Australia from the UK, Kangaroo Island and Cape Borda in particular was a great introduction to the country and its wildlife. I travelled with my 17 year old son who was delighted with the wildlife and location. Special thanks to Trevor the ranger who made us feel very welcome and was full of advice. Take a book and listen to the radio.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed two nights, Our building was a blast from the past but in need of repair we were a bit reluctant to drink the water stored from the asbestos roof...however there was a filter on one of the taps...could be very cold in winter....Very remote place 30 k from bitumen and it was wet so road access was not for small or low vehicles...
It was an exciting thing to do and we had a great time....brush up on your scrabble as there is no TV ... internet ....mobile reception and a weak radio signal.

Room Tip: Go in the warmer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear olivoil,

We’re pleased that you had such a great time at Cape Borda! However, we are sorry to hear that you noted a need for repairs in your cottage and were concerned about the water. We hope that you were able to find the time to speak to our staff so that any maintenance issues could be rectified and so that you could be reassured about the quality of the drinking water. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cape Borda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
17.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
66.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
435 reviews
75.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
27.1 mi away
LifeTime Private Retreats
LifeTime Private Retreats
#10 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
86 reviews
23 mi away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: 10145 Playford Hwy, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a step back in time by staying in a beautifully restored 3 bedroom heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Borda on Kangaroo Island’s remote north-west coast. Other affordable options are available in Hartley Hut, a one bedroom cabin or rustic Woodward Hut, a bunkhouse for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing