We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
67
36
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
36
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woodward hut light house full kitchen stayed for two nights gravel road amazing views the cottages mick sunset toilet sa tour kangaroos council furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at Cape Borda was fabulous! Woodward Hut is great for adventurers. It's basic but clean and has everything you really need and is very quiet. Mick the lighthouse keeper was the best host! He made it fun and informative. We really enjoyed sitting on our porch watching the kangaroos feed, driving to Flinders Chase to do the Platypus walk and see the rocks and seals, watching the sunset and sunrise, and checking out the Cape Borda museum and lighthouse and nearby walks. If you come up, be SURE to do the tour with Mick, don't just do the self-guided tour! It's totally worth the money--he's full of great stories and information and is a real hoot.

Room tip: The Woodward hut is tiny and just one room with older twin beds and the bathroom is across the yard, no showers. This was perfect for 2 adventurous friends staying just a couple of nights, but if you want more privacy and/or an ensuite, check out the 2 larger properties. The biggest house is quite luxurious.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sabine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A stay at Cape Borda light station is a "must-do" on Kangaroo Island. National Parks SA Senior Guide Mick is the host with the most - abundant wildlife, amazing views, a tour with an answer for every historical/nature question, and keen to make your stay a memorable one.
I stayed in Hartley Hut - clean, comfortable,fully equipped kitchen,plenty of bedding, heating, all with a 70's decorating twist! Great retreat for 3 nights-especially during the storm. Absolutely the sort of weather you should experience at a remote Lighthouse station.
Don't let the road put you off going - this place is too special to miss.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank rchg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cape Borda light station is steeped in history and nobody can give a better account of the fascinating history of this light house on Kangaroo Island than our National Parks SA host Mick Rosewarne.
Anyone visiting Kangaroo Island should make the drive (long!) from the ferry to Cape Borda and take the tour. If you can make the 12:20pm tour then you will also get the privilege to experience the firing of the signalling cannon (loud!).
We stayed for two night in Woodward Hut and although small, the accommodation was affordable and comfortable and you find most of what you need in the cabin.
Also...make sure you check out the 'reading room' which is part of the Cape Borda museum section of the light house station.
We had an amazing time and giving our time there five stars.

Room tip: Bring your own bedding and save $10 per night. Make sure to visit the reading room in the museum section.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in Woodward Hut for one night and it definitely was the highlight of my Kangaroo Island 3 day trip. The 39km drive along the unsealed road to Cape Borda had been well graded by council the week before I got there so I didn't encounter any issues. I recommend calling Cape Borda Lighthouse prior to travel to double check the condition of the road if you are not in a 4WD however.
The Hut was basic but quaint and perfect for one person. Kangaroos grazed on the open grass area directly in front of the hut at dusk. On the oppose side of the hut stood the Lighthouse and the open water. An amazing place to sit and watch the sunrise or sunset. The hut didn't have a toilet attached to it but it wasn't located far away and the light from the Lighthouse at night was enough to guide the way without much need for a torch.
Without a doubt, Mick, the resident Lighthouse keeper was the icing on the cake at Cape Borda. His enthusiasm, friendliness and warm hospitality was much appreciated as a solo traveller. You will have a great laugh during his guided lighthouse tour which is a must.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After booking the Hartley Hut we were delighted to accept a free upgrade to one of the main houses where we stayed for two nights. The property was clean and simply but well furnished. We were the only people staying there and the sense of remote isolation as an experience in itself and gave a wonderful insight to the lives of the early lighthouse keepers and the isolation they faced in this wild and stunning location. The ranger made us feel very welcome and gave us a private tour of the museum and lighthouse and even fired the canon for us. We used this as an opportunity to go on the Ravine de Cassowary walk which was stunning and worth the effort and it brings you out on a wild and empty beach. The kangaroos that appear in the morning and evening set the scene perfectly and as the start of our four week journey in Australia from the UK, Kangaroo Island and Cape Borda in particular was a great introduction to the country and its wildlife. I travelled with my 17 year old son who was delighted with the wildlife and location. Special thanks to Trevor the ranger who made us feel very welcome and was full of advice. Take a book and listen to the radio.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews