We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
67
34
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
34
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodward hutlight houselighthouse keeperskangaroo islandremote locationfriendly kangaroosstayed for two nightsgravel roadthe kitchenthe cottagesmickrangercannonsunsettoiletheatersa
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 106 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A wonderful place, so quiet and peaceful yet full of interesting history and gorgeous views. The sunset was magnificent. House was clean and well presented with loads of space. The Ranger was very welcoming and had a wealth of information about early shipping to Australia. Kangaroos everywhere. Absolutely memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwibird248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Kiwibird248,

It’s great to hear that your stay at Cape Borda was so memorable! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review - the staff at Cape Borda will be delighted to receive your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Sea was blue, kangaroos were numerous, history fascinating. Thanks to Mick and Trevor. Great walking all around. Wild and rugged coast. Hope to be back. The house was comfortable and extremely well equipped. Loved the organ and the radio waS very welcome. Lovely to go without Tv for a while and look at the stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meredithure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear meredithure,

We’re very pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Cape Borda! It’s good to hear that you were so comfortable in the lighthouse keeper’s cottage and enjoyed exploring this stunning location. Mick and Trevor will be delighted to receive your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family didn't know what to expect and it was kind of a surprise to them when they learned that I booked us in. We were amazed by the place. Firstly the location is just incredible secondly you are alone, thirdly the kangaroos say good night and good morning to you in the backyard, forth the people in charge of the heritage are adorable and their explanations are mindblowing. ( now I know rouly how to use a sextant, thanks a lot!) fifth the cottage is huge huge. And having the gas cheminey is amazing, my children loved it. Stayed in Flinders Flight Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Achim F,

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review of your stay at Cape Borda! It’s great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience in this stunning location and that you enjoyed your stay in Flinders Light Lodge. The “adorable” staff at Cape Borda will be very pleased to receive your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent my last night on a two-month trip in Cape Borda in the Woodward Hut and it was absolutely magical. I made the booking on site after a daytrip there, the place is so amazing it needs to be seen.
With an oceanview of 180 degrees, the only thing blocking it from the cabin window a beautiful lighthouse, you cannot go wrong.
Sunset, clear skies, kangaroos and wallabys hanging around and absolute silence. I was lucky enough to have the entire place to myself, there are two other cabins but they were empty for the night. I spent the evening in front of the lighthouse with a book and a glass of wine and had my dinner in the sunset. The peace and tranquillity will be with me for a long time.
Yes, it is very basic and my cabin had no running water but it's not a problem, it's part of the charm. It's clean and comfortable. You need to stock up on food but there is a rainwater tank with perfectly good water to drink. The cabin I stayed in was small but big enough for me, and the price is very reasonable.

You can really feel the presence of the history at this place, and it's easy to let the imagination run wild, trying to figure out how the lighthouse keepers lived and survived on this place. The exhibition showing pictures from the old days are very educational and interesting.

I would love to go back to Cape Borda, that place really gave me peace of mind and cleared my soul.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annehedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear annehedlund,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at Cape Borda! Your appreciation of the magnificent views, the company of wildlife, the sense of history and the peacefulness of Cape Borda is so rewarding to read about. You have clearly made a close connection with this special location during your stay in Woodward Hut and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We'd already stayed at Cape Willoughby, and this was even better. Lovely old period furniture; even an electric organ to play on ! We stayed in Flinders Light Lodge. Comfy, cosy rooms. Well-equipped kitchen. Watching the lighthouse beams shining out during a rain shower was so beautiful. As per Cape Willoughby, the last few kilometers of the road in is atrocious. If you're not in a full-blown 4WD be prepared to slow to about 20 km/h and even then you'll be shaken, blended, and dissolved into your constituent particles. How our car held together I'll never know. Worth the effort, but just so you know what to expect...

Room Tip: Flinders Light Lodge is the largest one at Cape Borda
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Scott O,

We’re very pleased to hear that your stay in Flinders Light Lodge was so comfortable! Although the journey to Cape Borda can sometimes be an adventure we’re pleased that your rewarding experience made it so worthwhile! Cape Borda is undoubtedly a very special location – thank you for your positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews