We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquillity with the most amazing view you can imagine.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquillity with the most amazing view you can imagine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent my last night on a two-month trip in Cape Borda in the Woodward Hut and it was absolutely magical. I made the booking on site after a daytrip there, the place is so amazing it needs to be seen.
With an oceanview of 180 degrees, the only thing blocking it from the cabin window a beautiful lighthouse, you cannot go wrong.
Sunset, clear skies, kangaroos and wallabys hanging around and absolute silence. I was lucky enough to have the entire place to myself, there are two other cabins but they were empty for the night. I spent the evening in front of the lighthouse with a book and a glass of wine and had my dinner in the sunset. The peace and tranquillity will be with me for a long time.
Yes, it is very basic and my cabin had no running water but it's not a problem, it's part of the charm. It's clean and comfortable. You need to stock up on food but there is a rainwater tank with perfectly good water to drink. The cabin I stayed in was small but big enough for me, and the price is very reasonable.

You can really feel the presence of the history at this place, and it's easy to let the imagination run wild, trying to figure out how the lighthouse keepers lived and survived on this place. The exhibition showing pictures from the old days are very educational and interesting.

I would love to go back to Cape Borda, that place really gave me peace of mind and cleared my soul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annehedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear annehedlund,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at Cape Borda! Your appreciation of the magnificent views, the company of wildlife, the sense of history and the peacefulness of Cape Borda is so rewarding to read about. You have clearly made a close connection with this special location during your stay in Woodward Hut and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We'd already stayed at Cape Willoughby, and this was even better. Lovely old period furniture; even an electric organ to play on ! We stayed in Flinders Light Lodge. Comfy, cosy rooms. Well-equipped kitchen. Watching the lighthouse beams shining out during a rain shower was so beautiful. As per Cape Willoughby, the last few kilometers of the road in is atrocious. If you're not in a full-blown 4WD be prepared to slow to about 20 km/h and even then you'll be shaken, blended, and dissolved into your constituent particles. How our car held together I'll never know. Worth the effort, but just so you know what to expect...

Room Tip: Flinders Light Lodge is the largest one at Cape Borda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Scott O,

We’re very pleased to hear that your stay in Flinders Light Lodge was so comfortable! Although the journey to Cape Borda can sometimes be an adventure we’re pleased that your rewarding experience made it so worthwhile! Cape Borda is undoubtedly a very special location – thank you for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in the historic Woodward Hut, basic, clean with all the facilities you need - upmarket camping really. But the location and enthusiasm of Ranger Mick make up for any short fall. Amazing location, great walks in the area, fantastic history, and the tour brings it all together. The rhythmic light sweeping across the grounds at night is a sight not to be missed

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Carolyn S,

It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Cape Borda! Woodward Hut is attracting quite a following amongst those looking for simple accommodation in a fantastic location. Mick will be very pleased to receive your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Most of my time on Kangaroo Island, I based myself in Penneshaw and just spent one night in Hartley Hut at Cape Borda. On my next trip, I will do it the other way around without question. The hut itself is basic and has everything you need, but the location is what makes the experience truly spectacular. If you aren't into "remoteness", this isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for natural beauty where it can truly be appreciated in peace and tranquility, I doubt you could find a better place. I also doubt that you could find a host more passionate about the Cape Borda lighthouse and it's history as I found in Mick. He is a One Man Show of information about the place and even if you just come for the lighthouse tour, it's worth it. If you stay the night, it's even better. The sunset was spectacular and when that show was over, the lighthouse searchlight roamed the compound all night long. In my case, I even had the full moon! It was a night that I will never forget and I hope to get back again with my husband and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear HollandJen

Yes, it is easy to fall in love with Cape Borda! It is clear that in just one overnight stay you made a profound connection with this magnificent remote location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return with your husband and friends. Thank you very much for such a heart felt review of your experience at Cape Borda - it is an absolute pleasure to read!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in Hartley Hut, not old not modern but comfortable all facilities needed. Location was to die for. The light sweeping accross the grounds at night was soothing and gave you a real connection. Beware the cliff top walk if your knees are dodgy, I recomend treking poles( I am 55 and have had 2 knee ops) The ranger is a real character and his tour is not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Cathy C,

We’re pleased to hear that you were so comfortable in Hartley Hut! It is certainly a very special experience to stay overnight in the presence of the Cape Borda lighthouse - a reassuring sentinel in this spectacular location. The staff will be delighted to hear your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Flinders Light Lodge at Cape Borda after staying at both Cape Willoughby and Cape du Couedic; we thought this was the pick of the three accommodation options (with Cape Willoughby a close second) and wished we'd stayed longer here. The classic limestone house is light, airy and spacious, well equipped and well situated just behind the lighthouse with great views over the sea (and great sunsets). The lighthouse keeper was very friendly and helpful and the whole complex is well tended (aided by the many grazing wallabies!) The walk to the lookout east of the lighthouse is highly recommended for some great views (we even saw a sea eagle there in the late evening) as is the walk to Harveys Return a few kilometres down the road. It's well worth it if you can time your visit or stay to coincide with the daily cannon firing - quite impressive. The location is quite remote so you obviously need to bring all you need for your stay. There is some Telstra Next G coverage at the lighthouse itself, but limited at a few hundred metres back at the cottage. There's a lot of healthy rivalry between some of the park wardens who look after the KI lighthouses and this certainly improves the experience for most visitors. The wardens all really do a fantastic job at managing these unique places, and it really is an unforgettable experience whatever the weather conditions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear fitzrovians,

Congratulations on joining a select group of people who have stayed at all three Kangaroo Island Lightstations! We are delighted to hear that you particularly enjoyed your stay at Cape Borda and that the views, the walks, the tour, the wildlife and the comfort of Flinders Light Lodge all combined to create such a memorable experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Remote, unique and raw. Cape Borda is accommodation with a difference, that's for sure. Pre dinner drinks sitting by the lighthouse, watching the sunset, with the friendly local kangaroos keeping you company...can't ask for much more. The rangers/keepers and the museum provide interesting history on days gone by. Great walks nearby, a must see are the limestone caves at beach at the end of the Ravine de Casours walk. Or walk down the historic Harveys Return track down to the gorgeous beach to take a well earned swim. Agree with John's comment on the dirt road, but all in all its worth the bumpity bump. Thanks to Leith and Mick (the keepers/rangers) for their enthusaistic and knowledgable stories and information.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Denise L,

Yes, Cape Borda is certainly the place for a different holiday experience! It’s great to hear that you made the most of your stay by exploring the nearby walking trails - and sunset drinks by the lighthouse in the company of the local wildlife sounds absolutely idyllic. The staff at Cape Borda will be very pleased to receive your compliments – thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
17.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
59.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
35.8 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 49 in Kangaroo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
52.3 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
41.7 mi away
Seal Bay Cottages
Seal Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Seddon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: 10145 Playford Hwy, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a step back in time by staying in a beautifully restored 3 bedroom heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Borda on Kangaroo Island’s remote north-west coast. Other affordable options are available in Hartley Hut, a one bedroom cabin or rustic Woodward Hut, a bunkhouse for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing