We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously remote”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulously remote”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

After ploughing through muddy roads and being engulfed in the sea mist, we were welcomed by Ranger Mick, an engaging and knowledgeable guide. Wildlife abounds and as the mist lifted we realised what a great location Cape Borda is.
We stayed at the light keeper’s cottage which is large, comfortable and fully equipped. Don't miss Mick's tour, or the great little reading room with copies of the log books telling what daily life was like for a light keeper.
This is the most remote of the three lighthouses, with no shops or houses close by it provides a real feeling of what life would have been like for light keepers and their families – but with modern amenities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great place, lots of roos, great walks (especially Ravine des Cassoars), and Mick telling us about the last real lighthouse in South Australia. Comfortable accommodation even when chilly

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dbsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Wonderful, peaceful, bright and clean; plenty of roos, warm inside, windy without just as it should be.

Room Tip: Yes, there is no swimming pool! Its a lighthouse keeper's cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Hartley Hut. It's a self contained unit with full kitchen facilities, a sofa and a dining set. It's a heritage accommodation but has been refurbished. Overall, we are quite happy with everything except that we felt the heating was not so sufficient for the hall and it was a bit chilly. We did see many kangaroos hopping around! Although it's isolated and far from other places, Cape Borda is a quiet and beautiful place worth going.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Chai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Hartley Hut at Cape Borda Lighthouse station. The hut is ideal for a couple, with simple furnishings but everything you need for your stay. There were many kangaroos just outside our front door, it was a beautiful sight to see. The current caretaker of the lighthouse made our stay special, he took exceptionally good care of us, and gave us a wonderful tour of the lighthouse and museum. There is a lovely picnic spot looking out to sea nearby, my partner and I enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of wine here. This was our first lighthouse stop in KI, and an amazing introduction to lighthouses and to Kangaroo Island!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
17.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
85.9 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
189 reviews
26.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#20 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
58.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
16.6 mi away
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
Flinders Chase Farm Stay
#29 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: 10145 Playford Hwy, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a step back in time by staying in a beautifully restored 3 bedroom heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Borda on Kangaroo Island’s remote north-west coast. Other affordable options are available in Hartley Hut, a one bedroom cabin or rustic Woodward Hut, a bunkhouse for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing