We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Borda is a beautiful and quiet place to be!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Hartley Hut. It's a self contained unit with full kitchen facilities, a sofa and a dining set. It's a heritage accommodation but has been refurbished. Overall, we are quite happy with everything except that we felt the heating was not so sufficient for the hall and it was a bit chilly. We did see many kangaroos hopping around! Although it's isolated and far from other places, Cape Borda is a quiet and beautiful place worth going.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly_Chai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Hartley Hut at Cape Borda Lighthouse station. The hut is ideal for a couple, with simple furnishings but everything you need for your stay. There were many kangaroos just outside our front door, it was a beautiful sight to see. The current caretaker of the lighthouse made our stay special, he took exceptionally good care of us, and gave us a wonderful tour of the lighthouse and museum. There is a lovely picnic spot looking out to sea nearby, my partner and I enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of wine here. This was our first lighthouse stop in KI, and an amazing introduction to lighthouses and to Kangaroo Island!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aphrodite R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank laurettamia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLuisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard_M-Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
17.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
66.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
435 reviews
75.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
27.1 mi away
LifeTime Private Retreats
LifeTime Private Retreats
#10 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
86 reviews
18.8 mi away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: 10145 Playford Hwy, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a step back in time by staying in a beautifully restored 3 bedroom heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Borda on Kangaroo Island’s remote north-west coast. Other affordable options are available in Hartley Hut, a one bedroom cabin or rustic Woodward Hut, a bunkhouse for two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Borda Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing