We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Velho
GreenLeadersGold level
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

It was an average airport hotel. I wouldn't stay again. No hot water in the room, and they staff couldn't fix it or move us to another room. Honestly, they treated us like we were idiots that couldn't figure out a euro-shower. It was very frustrating. Once they finally admitted it was broken, they basically shrugged and said there was nothing they could do. Couldn't move us to another room, no comps, nothing. Also, there was no AC and the bed was just two twin beds pushed together, making for a very lopsided sleep. Breakfast was blah. There are plenty of other options at the airport. Don't bother with this one.

Room Tip: No hot water and no AC, don't bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Eric O,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us.
We're deeply sorry for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you found our facilities and guest services less than satisfactory. Rest assured, your thoughts will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    329
    208
    52
    43
See reviews for
150
293
77
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

So we stayed there because we had a morning flight. In the past we had stayed at the Radisson. Neither place is really that close to the airport, and neither is particularly nice, but the Holiday Inn is clearly worse. Good new is that there is a hotel that's opening soon right at the airport.

Rooms are small and stuffy. They have some sort of a restaurant, with horrible food and they charge EUR12 for some cheap wine that retails for EUR 2 or 2.50. But then no real alternative.

Breakfast is not what you expect in Portugal but the typical Holiday Inn worldwide thing. Only redeeming value is that they have an espresso machine. We ended up having breakfast at the TAP airport lounge.

Poor location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Bauwens,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport.

Feedback from our clients is one of the best ways to keep the quality service high and consistent.
We will make our best to avoid these situations on the future, and we expect to have you with us again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prior Velho hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive to book a room here, based on some of the negative reviews I saw on tripadvisor. I am pleased to report that my stay at the Holiday Inn Express was extremely positive!

My partner and I had an early flight out of Lisbon on February 8th. We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express on the evening of the 7th. The room was small, but we really only needed a place to hang our hat before the flight, so to speak. As another poster reported, there was only one bath towel in the bathroom, but the extra towels were placed in clear view on a shelf in the main room, not hidden.

The decor was modern and new. We had no issues with the free internet that was provided to guests. We used the computer and printer in the lobby to print out our boarding passes and all went well. The front desk staff was friendly and professional. I would like to compliment Joao and Mariana, the "face" of the Holiday Inn Express on the night we arrived. Mariana went above and beyond for us. She told us the best night spots in Lisbon, ordered a taxi for us, and explained to him where we should be dropped off. The driver had spent some time in France as a youth, and my partner and he chatted in French. He gave us some great tips for our visit and took great pride in showing us some of the beautiful spots on our way to our destination. I wish I'd paid attention to the name of the Taxi company, because that driver deserves a compliment as well!

We had dinner out in Lisbon, but the Holiday Inn Express did offer a dinner on site. The breakfast was more than adequate. Cereal, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, several different types of bread, rolls, etc. Marmalade, butter, jam, pastries, orange juice, coffee, a machine that cranked out lattes, cappuccinos, etc. I was more than satisfied.

So, to summarize...reasonably priced, practically on the tarmac of the airport, modern, clean, with great staff. I'm definitely staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Annette L,

What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for taking time to express your thoughts. It will be shared with our team.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

It is an airport hotel and for the price you don't expect much. So - then is should be easy to exceed the expectations, right ?
This did not happen during our brief visit.
However the reception service was fast and friendly and the room clean and big enough there was nowhere to put your luggage. The bed was almost "asian" hard which is weird in Europe and had an effect on sleep quality. As you usually choose airport hotel only if you have an early flight it really matters to have a good night sleep. I didn't.
There was only one towel in the bathroom and taking a shower after my wife I only wad a wet towel. To be exact, another towel was found too late hidden in the closet in the room itself.
The breafast is very, very basic and reminds a flight meal (not tasty). But - it does the job.
Back in the room after Nr2. there was no water in the tank to flush... Well, we were out of time and there were two of us.
The internet in the lobby computer was so slow, that it took over 15 minutes to do the check in and print out the boarding passes.
I only give 2 points as the amenities are quite new and goodlooking but experience-wise it didn't live up to our pretty low expectations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MSander,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with
We're deeply sorry for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you found our facilities and guest services less than satisfactory. Rest assured, your thoughts will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed there due to shuttle service and location near the Lisbon Airport.The hotel was recently renovated .The staff put us in a room which had a door to an adjoining room although the hotel was only half full.
The party started next door at 23:30 ,when we complained to the front desk they never did anything about it.At 02:30 they finally shut up and we left the hotel at five in the morning with very little sleep.
The hotel is run by terrible staff and will soon be a one star if they continue.I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Don't stay in any adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Nkyle,

We thank you in advance for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport.

Your comment is very important for us, so on the name of all our team we apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Feedback from our clients is one of the best ways to keep the quality service standards high, so we can improve what is wrong and maintain what is good.

Once again, We're deeply sorry for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you found our facilities and guest services less than satisfactory. Rest assured, your thoughts will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

We expect to have you with us again in a near future, in order to have another opportunity to welcome you and make the hotel your home.

Kind regards,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated for the airport and the price is not bad for Lisbon.just remember that the hotel mini bus stops running from the airport at 8pm.Staff was very friendly and room very clean.catering facilities are the worst due to the use of vending machines at night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Carlos G,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay.
We're particularly appreciative that you found our hotel to be modern and functional. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

Most importantly, we would like to apologize for the catering. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Looking foward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for just one night after a flight. I have to say that it was the best Holiday Inn hotel I have stayed in in terms of the rooms, breakfast and staff.

The room was spacious, well decorated, clean and with free Wi-Fi. The breakfast was very good, I especially enjoyed the traditional Portuguese cakes offered. In terms of the staff, I have to highlight the excellent professionalism of the gentleman working at the reception on the night of 8th of November (I'm afraid I don't remember his name!), but his competence and welcome really made a difference, well done.

The only improvement I would suggest is to make the shuttle to the airport free of charge (it costs 5 euros for a 5 min ride, the same price as a taxi). The location of the hotel makes it ideal for early morning flights but a taxi or car are needed if planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inês M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sirx,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay.

We're particularly appreciative that you found our hotel to be modern and functional. We're also thankful for your comment regarding our Staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

Regarding the shuttle service, we assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate department.

Looking foward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Inês M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prior Velho
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#131 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#181 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport
Address: Rua Da Guine | Antigo Edifício Hidrotecnica, Prior Velho 2685-334, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Prior Velho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Velho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, a brand new modern hotel, ideally located next to Lisbon International Airport and only minutes away from FIL trade fair venue, the Pavilhão Atlântico and Lisbon City Centre. Whether you re coming on a short business trip or to see the historical sights, you ll find this Budget Hotel perfectly adapted to both occasions.Lisboa Oriente, the closest train and metro station, is located a mere 5 min away (by car), and just next to it is Vasco da Gama Shopping Centre. Less than 5 miles away from the Hotel, you can find main attractions like the Lisbon Casino, the Oceanarium, Gulbenkian Museum and St. George s Castle with its astonishing views over the Seven Hills.The Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport offers twin bedrooms with 2 single beds for a maximum of 2 adults, and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa, where families of 2 adults and 2 children (under 18) can comfortably stay.All guestrooms are equipped with A/C, a spacious work desk, cable LCD TV and pay-tv, direct dial phone, hairdryer, ice bucket, en-suite bathtub, tea and coffeemaker (for complimentary use) and high speed internet access at a charge. Make yourself comfortable and kick off your day with an appetising complimentary continental buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing