We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pint”

The Duke of Wellington
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Description: IT'S been a battle - but the Duke of Wellington has emerged victorious once again. Just weeks before the 200th anniversary of the original Duke's historic triumph over Napoleon at Waterloo, The Duke at Stanwick has beaten the builders and has opened its bars and kitchen. The 19th century hostelry has been closed since the end of last year to undergo major renovations. And now, under the ownership of the Vaz family, will be taking hospitality into the 21st Century. Now it's probably the best and most state-of-the art pub in Northamptonshire - and certainly the best pub in the village! Our head chef has recruited a team of crack chefs who intend to fight for top culinary accolades, while our manager has been signed from an internationally-renowned country house hotel to lead our charge to new heights of hospitality. We look forward to you trying us out. And filling your boots. We promise to fight for your custom.
Restaurant details
Description: IT'S been a battle - but the Duke of Wellington has emerged victorious once again. Just weeks before the 200th anniversary of the original Duke's historic triumph over Napoleon at Waterloo, The Duke at Stanwick has beaten the builders and has opened its bars and kitchen. The 19th century hostelry has been closed since the end of last year to undergo major renovations. And now, under the ownership of the Vaz family, will be taking hospitality into the 21st Century. Now it's probably the best and most state-of-the art pub in Northamptonshire - and certainly the best pub in the village! Our head chef has recruited a team of crack chefs who intend to fight for top culinary accolades, while our manager has been signed from an internationally-renowned country house hotel to lead our charge to new heights of hospitality. We look forward to you trying us out. And filling your boots. We promise to fight for your custom.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Stopped off on my travels. Nice pub. Had a pint of bitter and sat out front to enjoy the nice weather.

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmVaz, Owner at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello Paul B.
Glad you found us during your travels, happy we was able to accomodate you. We cannot take credit for the weather but very happy you enjoyed our pub.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2018

Ate in the evening with a group of ladies, All meals were enjoyable and nicely presented.
The restaurant was clean and had a good atmosphere, Gardens were tidy and well maintained. Ample parking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmVaz, Owner at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello Christine. T

Thank you for dining with us.
Your comments on our gardens are very much appreciated.
We have recently launched our new Vegan Menu along with our vegetarian one. I am very happy to read your meal was enjoyed by all of your party.

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Relaxed, friendly, wonderful food, great atmosphere and decor...
We had the Sunday roasts - chicken, lamb and beef. Each as good as the other and we couldn’t find fault in anything
Thank you

1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmVaz, Owner at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear Ian C.

So wonderful to read you enjoyed our Sunday offering.
We are very proud of our Sunday roasts.
Thank you for choosing us as your restaurant choice.

Kind regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Popped in for lunch with wife and brother in law. Restaurant was very nice, service was good but fish was bland and tasteless. Could not identify type of fish served but it looked extremely nice on the plate and it was with bitter resentment that on eating it was left feeling cheated. Home made 'Tartar Sauce' was provided but was not pleasant to eat.
At £12.00 per person, this alternative to Cod, Haddock or even Rock Salmon was found to be wanting. Not recommended at any price.

Thank Purdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmVaz, Owner at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hello Purdy 2013.

I am so very sad to read this review.
Especially when our Fish N chips meal is a firm favourite here at the Duke.
I am unaware if you mentioned this to us on the day? We would have happily changed this item for you rather than you leave our restaurant feeling cheated.
I do hope we get to serve you again and offer you a positive dining experience we aim to deliver at The Duke of Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

I have been very slow in doing a review for the 'Duke', our visit on Sunday was about the tenth time we had eaten there. In fact we consider it to be our local - although it is a few miles from home. Anyway, we decided to go for Sunday lunch as there was no need to stay home for the final.

This proved to be a great decision as we enjoyed the best Sunday lunch we have ever had in a pub. We both had the crispy egg starter which I had enjoyed before. This is a terrific start to a meal and I found out how to prepare the egg as I want to try them at home. We both chose traditional main courses. One pork and one chicken. Both were excellent and the Yorkshire pudding deserves special mention as it was so light and crispy. Desserts were sticky toffee and Pear in Prosecco and both were thoroughly enjoyable.

So, will we repeat this visit - most definitely.

Thank ltexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmVaz, Owner at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear ltexile.

May I thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Thank you for being such a loyal customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and offering you the service you have now come to expect from us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke of Wellington also viewed

Stanwick, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Burton Latimer, Kettering
Higham Ferrers, Northamptonshire
 
Finedon, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing