We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue paradise”
Review of The Stanwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stanwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wedding venue paradise”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had our wedding here 11/08/2013.venue was perfection, staff were extremely helpful.Lee the manager was exceptional in making the day perfect and stress free for us.wedding breakfast was served with speed and skill without rushing around and tasted exceptional .80 covers with no complaints, only praise from both sides of our families.very well kept gardens, good size well laid out rooms, picturesque setting for any wedding.EXCELLENT.many thanks guys
Gary and Natalie Francis

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazroofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your spcial day. Congratulations
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    69
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
107
75
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here on a short business trip to the area and chose purely based on location. Exceeded my expectations generally. The Loft (my room) was small but comfortably furnished and even had air conditioning. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great. The welcome on arrival was very friendly.

I ate in the hotel restaurant and the service was very pleasant but the waitress was rushed off her feet due to the amount of customers, so things were a bit slow. The steak and chips special was well cooked and well presented.

Only small negatives - my room was a bit close to the main road - if this bothers you ask for one further away, and the check-out was a bit perfunctory which was a surprise given the friendliness of everyone else I had dealt with. The kitchen staff smoked under the bedroom window.

Room Tip: Some rooms front the road - if noise concerns you check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your honest critique. Staffing is difficult to get right. We like people to book but if they just walk in it puts us under pressure as you experienced!
The window nearest to the road in the Loft should be locked this will reduce noise & tobacco fumes. The room is air conditioned and there is another window overlooking the gardens.
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and i decided to take her brother and partner for a meal. We were not disappointed a free appetizer followed by our starters, main meal and dessert. All we could get from our guests were oohs and arrs that tastes so good i was almost ready to ask them as they enjoyed their meal so much would they like to pay. Service was very quick the staff attentive bar staff keen to serve; alround a damn good evening but the food was definitely the star of the evening.
Keep up the good work well done, pat everyone on the back you have done a great job. We will be back.
Chris L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for expressing your appreciation. So glad you enjoyed your time with us
Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely place for a wedding and prides itself on that. Therefore, don't book a table in the restaurant for Saturdays!!!
Lovely Italian nights on Thursday and the "Steak nights" on Friday are excellent.

During the week it appears to be a business venue and there are a number of people staying in the hotel.

Can't seem to work out their Wednesdays, though!
Half price drinks and "nibbles" appear from the kitchen. The barman is very popular and dresses in an array of bow ties and waistcoats! Loads of people arrive and its kisses all round. Everyone who knows everyone resorts to kissing.
There is a chap there who clearly comes for the food and even complains if there seems to be a lull or a lack of food.
* last week the same fellow was seen "clearing up others' leftovers" and the bar staff actually encouraged him!!
Wonderful setting and is really worth a visit. Need someone to kiss me next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Mike!
I'll make sure you get lots of kisses next Wednesday! Wacky Wednesday is an event Phil, our bar manager (of the waistcoats etc.) has hosted for many years. He is a National Treasure so we carry on the tradition.
Saturday nights are no longer affected by weddings. We did have a staff shortage last week but normally the weddings do not interfere with dining experiences.
We did have a chef(long gone) who thought work was over after the wedding breakfast but this is certainly no longer the case.
Thanks for your comments
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Before I give this place a second chance, I will ask that all important question " have you got a wedding party booking ? " We arrived early for our booking on Saturday 29th, we expected to have a drink at the bar before dinner but the pleasant young lady said that our table was ready and we could go straight in. Drinks order taken and they arrived in a timely manner and our food order taken was then taken . 2 starters and 2 mains. After about 30 mins we were offered some bread whilst we waited. An hour after taking our order a complementary starter arrived.......(left over from the wedding ?) We then waited another 15 mins before our actual starter arrived. At no time was an explanation or apology offered. Overall the food was good but it will be some time before we risk going there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I apologise for the abysmal service. It was nothing to do with the wedding. Heads will roll. We will contact you regarding a complimentary meal.
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel and the gardens are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff made you very welcome. The food and the service was first class.
We shall definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the dual carriageway are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation.
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I enjoyed the best Midsummer Ball ever! Great food, ambience & entertainment. The venue is delightful and the gardens beautiful. My room was spacious & well appointed. The staff are exceptional especially the "tuck in" service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for showing your appreciation
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwick
11.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,056 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
215 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwick Hotel

Property: The Stanwick Hotel
Address: West Street | Northamptonshire, Stanwick NN9 6QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwick Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in the Northamptonshire countryside. It is privately owned and run by a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, who aim to ensure a relaxing and pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the village of Stanwick, close to Wellingborough and Kettering and convenient for Northampton and Milton Keynes. It has 22 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, with free internet access, Freeview television and tea and coffee making facilities. As well as this there is a restaurant on site offering all meals as well as a communal lounge for guests to relax in and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The Courtyard Restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared modern British food. The Stanwick Hotel has a purpose built entertainment suite making it a perfect location for weddings and other celebrations, exhibitions and conferences all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Stanwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing