We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
287
87
23
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
87
23
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue steak night sunday lunch wedding reception christmas party night dance floor wedding breakfast the main house daughter's wedding perfect venue roast beef birthday meal wedding guests little touches lovely setting lounge area pudding
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 420 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Before I give this place a second chance, I will ask that all important question " have you got a wedding party booking ? " We arrived early for our booking on Saturday 29th, we expected to have a drink at the bar before dinner but the pleasant young lady said that our table was ready and we could go straight in. Drinks order taken and they arrived in a timely manner and our food order taken was then taken . 2 starters and 2 mains. After about 30 mins we were offered some bread whilst we waited. An hour after taking our order a complementary starter arrived.......(left over from the wedding ?) We then waited another 15 mins before our actual starter arrived. At no time was an explanation or apology offered. Overall the food was good but it will be some time before we risk going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I apologise for the abysmal service. It was nothing to do with the wedding. Heads will roll. We will contact you regarding a complimentary meal.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel and the gardens are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff made you very welcome. The food and the service was first class.
We shall definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the dual carriageway are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation.
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I enjoyed the best Midsummer Ball ever! Great food, ambience & entertainment. The venue is delightful and the gardens beautiful. My room was spacious & well appointed. The staff are exceptional especially the "tuck in" service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maralyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for showing your appreciation
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for a free night on a deal from our car insurance.

The hotel was very nice and set in very pretty grounds. There was a wedding on the day we stopped which took over the whole hotel and kept us out of communal areas (the hotel were very willing to work around this by offering to section of a corner of the eating area if we had wanted); worth bearing in mind if you are not part of a wedding party. It is worth mentioning that we did not experience any noise disturbance from this event.

The breakfast was very nice but extremely expensive (£15 pp); may be a better deal if you eat meat.

All in all a very nice short stay in a clean, well decorated room in nice grounds that gave us a base to explore the locality.

Room Tip: If you are not part of an event try and get a room furthest away from the main part of the hotel to avoid any noise disturbance.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_and_gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Whoops! Sorry, our new receptionist charged you the £30 which Take Time Out pay us. It takes a little while to learn all the non standard rates. Breakfast is £8.50, so we will credit the £13 back to you. Thanks for pointing out the error. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My Husband and I got Married here the 12th Of May 2013.
The Courtyard is a beautiful place to get Married. The Staff were Fantastic on the Day and the Wedding Manager Lee, We cant thank him enough for giving us a Day we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandyvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us.
Thanks for showing your appreciation
Team Courtyad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews