We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Wednesday or Saturday”
Review of The Stanwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stanwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely place for a wedding and prides itself on that. Therefore, don't book a table in the restaurant for Saturdays!!!
Lovely Italian nights on Thursday and the "Steak nights" on Friday are excellent.

During the week it appears to be a business venue and there are a number of people staying in the hotel.

Can't seem to work out their Wednesdays, though!
Half price drinks and "nibbles" appear from the kitchen. The barman is very popular and dresses in an array of bow ties and waistcoats! Loads of people arrive and its kisses all round. Everyone who knows everyone resorts to kissing.
There is a chap there who clearly comes for the food and even complains if there seems to be a lull or a lack of food.
* last week the same fellow was seen "clearing up others' leftovers" and the bar staff actually encouraged him!!
Wonderful setting and is really worth a visit. Need someone to kiss me next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi Mike!
I'll make sure you get lots of kisses next Wednesday! Wacky Wednesday is an event Phil, our bar manager (of the waistcoats etc.) has hosted for many years. He is a National Treasure so we carry on the tradition.
Saturday nights are no longer affected by weddings. We did have a staff shortage last week but normally the weddings do not interfere with dining experiences.
We did have a chef(long gone) who thought work was over after the wedding breakfast but this is certainly no longer the case.
Thanks for your comments
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 356 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Before I give this place a second chance, I will ask that all important question " have you got a wedding party booking ? " We arrived early for our booking on Saturday 29th, we expected to have a drink at the bar before dinner but the pleasant young lady said that our table was ready and we could go straight in. Drinks order taken and they arrived in a timely manner and our food order taken was then taken . 2 starters and 2 mains. After about 30 mins we were offered some bread whilst we waited. An hour after taking our order a complementary starter arrived.......(left over from the wedding ?) We then waited another 15 mins before our actual starter arrived. At no time was an explanation or apology offered. Overall the food was good but it will be some time before we risk going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I apologise for the abysmal service. It was nothing to do with the wedding. Heads will roll. We will contact you regarding a complimentary meal.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel and the gardens are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff made you very welcome. The food and the service was first class.
We shall definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the dual carriageway are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation.
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I enjoyed the best Midsummer Ball ever! Great food, ambience & entertainment. The venue is delightful and the gardens beautiful. My room was spacious & well appointed. The staff are exceptional especially the "tuck in" service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maralyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for showing your appreciation
Jo & Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for a free night on a deal from our car insurance.

The hotel was very nice and set in very pretty grounds. There was a wedding on the day we stopped which took over the whole hotel and kept us out of communal areas (the hotel were very willing to work around this by offering to section of a corner of the eating area if we had wanted); worth bearing in mind if you are not part of a wedding party. It is worth mentioning that we did not experience any noise disturbance from this event.

The breakfast was very nice but extremely expensive (£15 pp); may be a better deal if you eat meat.

All in all a very nice short stay in a clean, well decorated room in nice grounds that gave us a base to explore the locality.

Room Tip: If you are not part of an event try and get a room furthest away from the main part of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_and_gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Whoops! Sorry, our new receptionist charged you the £30 which Take Time Out pay us. It takes a little while to learn all the non standard rates. Breakfast is £8.50, so we will credit the £13 back to you. Thanks for pointing out the error. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My Husband and I got Married here the 12th Of May 2013.
The Courtyard is a beautiful place to get Married. The Staff were Fantastic on the Day and the Wedding Manager Lee, We cant thank him enough for giving us a Day we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandyvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us.
Thanks for showing your appreciation
Team Courtyad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend over the bank holiday weekend for his birthday as we were hot air ballooning nearby . First impressions are vital after a long drive and we were not disappointed . On a sunny day the first thing you notice is the immaculately kept gardens and immediate serenity . The check in was quick and probably the most welcoming we've experienced , our room was in a converted stable that oozes charm , has all the mod cons and a huge bed and a bathroom the size of some hotels bedrooms ! What really separates this hotel from others is the attitude of the staff who are charismatic and extremely helpful . It's privately run and its nice to see the owners interact with their guests and we were invited into the main house that has ornate decorations collected from around the world that were quirky and added to the charm . There is also a secret country garden , bliss .
We had a Sunday lunch carvery that was scrummy , there is a good selection of wines too .. This hotel is perfect for that countryside weekend break and is conviently located . Hot air ballooning is nearby in Market Harborough , a must !!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you! Your appreciation is most welcome.
Team Courtyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwick
5.5 mi away
The Hind Hotel
The Hind Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
255 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
226 reviews
16.4 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
6.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwick Hotel

Address: West Street | Northamptonshire, Stanwick NN9 6QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Price Range: $91 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwick Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in the Northamptonshire countryside. It is privately owned and run by a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, who aim to ensure a relaxing and pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the village of Stanwick, close to Wellingborough and Kettering and convenient for Northampton and Milton Keynes. It has 22 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, with free internet access, Freeview television and tea and coffee making facilities. As well as this there is a restaurant on site offering all meals as well as a communal lounge for guests to relax in and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The Courtyard Restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared modern British food. The Stanwick Hotel has a purpose built entertainment suite making it a perfect location for weddings and other celebrations, exhibitions and conferences all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Stanwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing