We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable”
Review of The Stanwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stanwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Refreshing change from the hotel chains, pretty and quaint. Good service, cosy bedrooms and lovely surroundings.

Travelled on business and would stay here again in preference to other well know hotel groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Because we are rural wi-fi is a nightmare. The speed in the area is so slow and we can't do anything about it, In the main house Rooms 1 & 2 have the strongest signal but in the guest lounge or the bars it is fine.
Glad you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    67
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
102
74
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights visiting relatives in the area. The room was comfortable and well equipped with a very large ensuite. The food was good and we entertained friends there, the evening meals were excellent. The conservatory dining room overlooking the garden is very pleasing. Could not get WIFI in the room though. Would probably want to avoid weekends in future as it got taken over by celebration functions and its also a popular wedding reception venue.

Room Tip: A room in the original house rather than the annexe is by far the best option. A different quality a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reallyhard2please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always of value.
Kind regards
Jo & Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed over on valentines ball (Saturday 16th) I have to say I never stayed in a more unique and quirky little hotel that excel in giving 1st class service but not just good service it personal. Taking time out of there busy work to have chat with me and my wife just nice touch!
The night went down a treat from the food, top notch tentative staff and brilliant entertainment of the live band ...Value for money!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldw1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for showing your appreciation!
It lifts our spirits! We always try to do our best.
Jo & Team Couurtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Courtyard is "Nice. It doesn't excel, but it doesn't offend either. It is reasonably priced, rooms are very clean and comfortable and the food is slightly above average pub grub. I didn't try the more extensive dinner menu but it looked ambitious. The chef tried hard with a little amuse bouche before the soup - a nice try but it was really just prawn cocktail on a small piece of toast - better to focus on serving good honest meals and miss out the fancy stuff. Breakfast was superb, well cooked and plenty of it. Service was keen and polite from a very friendly staff.

So why only "nice" - well the hotel is a little tired. Bedrooms are not full on chintzy although that appears to be the aim, but they are let down by retention (addition?) of 70s and 80s decor. They are set apart from the main building in what looks like the original house. The refurbishment creates some decent sized bedrooms but it has not been done with great style. There is a separate, shared living room which I didn't use but which looked very cosy. Bedrooms are a short walk to the main building and an umbrella is provided - a nice touch as this part of the world can be a wet and windy. The outside of the hotel is pure 1970s with a large conservatory - which serves as the main dining room - tacked on. Frankly it was all a bit of an eyesore. The mixed timeline theme continued with 21st Century WiFi in every room but 20th Century bandwidth making it almost inoperable. However, a kind hotel neighbour left his Netgear connection open so I piggybacked on that!!!

I would happily stay here again for a short visit, but would hope that the management go back to some of the fundamentals that they obviously can do so well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Well I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast!
Thanks for the extensive critique. We are a small hotel in a rural location which only began in 2004 with 6 rooms in the main house, where the guest lounge is, which is deliberately "chintzy" in keeping with the 1930's original building.
The rest of the Hotel has been added since then driven by customer demand. I am sorry if you found the style to be 70's. Perhaps I am getting old!
Most of our regular customers love us and we don't serve "amuse bouche" at this moment in time we just give all our customers, whether they want the full menu or a smaller meal, a "complimentery appetiser". We like to be relaxed friendly and informal.
The wi-fi I can do nothing to improve because of our rural location. I have lots of boosters and the signal is better in some places and at some times than others.
Come back again in the Summer and see the 2 acres of gardens blending with the buildings
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Courtyard is what it just says....and there-in lies the first problem, when some guests returned to their rooms, firstly the Courtyard echoed their 'early-morning enjoyment' and secondly the walls between the rooms were a little thin to ensure privacy from the next room. The Breakfast room was pleasant and airy with sufficient space between tables for 'eating privacy' but when we visited the breakfast bar...the food all looked superb but the bacon was only just warm. A disappointing outcome to breakfast and difficult to 'express' to the foreign staff, however, a welcoming and charming place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dine4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
This is a very difficult problem for me to solve as I don't know exactly when you stayed but I am guessing Valentines Ball? I have never encountered problems with the walls being too thin before.
I only have two non British staff and both of them speak perfect English and would have known what to do about the bacon.
I can only offer my apologies.
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently held a retirement party in Reflections. We were well looked after by the staff, nothing was too much trouble. The food was plentiful and excellent. right up until we checked we were well looked after

Our room was in the main house and was very clean, warm and welcoming.

The lounge area is great to meet up with friends before the party.

A number of the guests had not been there before, but they would definately be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
So glad we looked after you and you had fun!
Team Courtyard x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay was as good as it gets, nicely furnished room, good food, great breakfast and bar prices much more reasonable than most hotels, only fault was a lot of drunk guests making noise till about 3am but can't fault the hotel for that

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_travell0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Glad you liked us! Sorry we didn't give you a room in the Main House away from the revellers!
Team Courtyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwick
6.5 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
11.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,041 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
248 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
16.4 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwick Hotel

Property: The Stanwick Hotel
Address: West Street | Northamptonshire, Stanwick NN9 6QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwick Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in the Northamptonshire countryside. It is privately owned and run by a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, who aim to ensure a relaxing and pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the village of Stanwick, close to Wellingborough and Kettering and convenient for Northampton and Milton Keynes. It has 22 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, with free internet access, Freeview television and tea and coffee making facilities. As well as this there is a restaurant on site offering all meals as well as a communal lounge for guests to relax in and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The Courtyard Restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared modern British food. The Stanwick Hotel has a purpose built entertainment suite making it a perfect location for weddings and other celebrations, exhibitions and conferences all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Stanwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing