We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing wedding day to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stanwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing wedding day to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at the courtyard on the 11/08/12 and we both had a truly amazing day. from the arrival drinks on the lawn through till we left after breakfast the next morning, everything exceeded our expectations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they went out there way to make sure our day was special. We had 15 rooms booked and everyone commented how nice and quirky the hotel was. The grounds were beautyfull and our photos are great. Were so glad we picked a hotel like the courtyard where we picked and paid for what we wanted rather than having wedding packages forced on us where your paying for stuff you dont even want. A special thank you must go to phil the barmen who even went as far as wearing an apron to match our colour scheme and mandy for looking after us on the day. A thank you to hayley for helping us plan it and everybody that was involved. Many thanks gem and nick

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for showing your appreciation.
It means so much to all of us.
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    62
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
99
71
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Before my daughter's wedding we booked a meal at the Hotel as a family celebration. The staff were excedingly attentive and the food was of a very high standard. On the wedding day we arrived well before the time allocated for the meal but we were warmly welcomed. We were able to wander around the extensive grounds on a very summery day. My daughter had a hog roast for the meal which was provided by an outside agency. The hotel staff manged the meal very well. The only problem arrived when I came to my part of the wedding and had spent hours on a power point presentation accompanied by music. I had gone in early on the day to sent up my computer with a projector, however the hotel decided to use their own system. The person responsible for the system arrived minutes before the presentation and when it was run there was no sound, I later found out the sound on the hotel's computer had be set to mute. This just took the gloss off the day for me.
We did however book ourselves and our friends in for a Christmas meal the day after the wedding as we liked the hotel and the atmosphere. They took our booking and said they would contact us for a deposit as the had not formally started taking booking. As the months went on my wife became worried as we had no contact from the hotel. She contacted the hotel on a number of ocassions which resulted in them admitting they had lost our booking details, wanting to change the date we had booked and then wanting to put us in a side room on the original night, both of which were declined.
We have gone back to the hotel because we like the food and the staff are very good, but in our case they have made some poor mistakes.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel with a central meeting area is excellent if you are staying at the hotal a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I apologise for any problems with our wireless projector that you experienced. We do have another one that you can connect to manually.
I can't get to the bottom of your Christmas booking either because you must have made enquiries before we had bookings set up for this year and we start this in February so I just don't know what went wrong. We would have been able to fit you in I am sure.
I'm glad everything else was good
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

A really good venue for a day to night weddling reception.

Unfortunately the bar, the prices were very erratic, a ribena having gone for 50p to £1.00, Lord knows how we we ripped off with the rest of the drinks????

Breakfast, there were not enough people dealing with the amount of tables, Eggs were ordered and tea or coffee in a rather disorganised shambolic way.... we never got our fried eggs????????? breakfast had been eatin without....

Sort the bar and breakfast and would recommend to others!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns.

Sorry about confusion over cordials. We don't actually sell Ribena but there are two prices for a dash at 50p or half a pint of cordial. You were probably at an advantage when you were charged 50p!! All our prices are computeriised on the tills and can't be changed.

I suppose that you all arrived for breakfast at the last minute! This usually happens after weddings and is a nightmare for us!!

I think scrambled eggs on the breakfast buffet may be the answer. You are supposed to wait for the eggs to be cooked before you select the other items!

Kind regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Dear All @ The Courtyard

Now the dust has settled and we've had chance to catch our breath, we would like to say a sincere thank you to all at the Courtyard for helping to make Kerry and Ian's wedding such a memorable, successful and happy occasion.

If only you knew how many of our guests have said it was the best wedding they have ever been to and how super the reception venue, food and service was.

We would and will unreservedly recommend the Courtyard.

Many many thanks.

Francis & Margaret Beasant

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your special day

Kind regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We attended a party here in June 2012, and were all extremely pleased with everything! From the staff, surroundings, food and decoration. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. They accommodated us well as a family with two small children, and quite frankly, the room was a bargain! A wonderful place to stay, definitely recommended!

Room Tip: We didnt see the non-Courtyard rooms, but heard these were nice. However, if you can request one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy80Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for the compliments

Kind regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in June 2012. The setting is great nice well kept gardens and very peaceful.
In the bedroom there were nice touches bottled water and biscuits.
The restaurant setting is excellent in a conservatory overlooking the gardens; the food was very good and not too dear. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My Son and his new wife held their wedding there on the 2nd June and we had the most amazing spectacular day. Every detail was taken care of and the staff were outstanding. Every thing from the rooms to breakfast the next day couldn't have been any better.
The ground of the Courtyard are breathe taking and this made the picture even more special for us to remember the day. We would recommend anyone who may be thinking of booking here for their wedding to book as it is the perfect setting and venue.
I am hoping to book for my 50th next year and one of our guest is going to show her daughter for her wedding also. A big thank you to every one at the Courtyard for making it a very special day. Sally and Martin Bedwell.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardhotel54, Owner at The Stanwick Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanwick
6.5 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
11.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwick Hotel

Property: The Stanwick Hotel
Address: West Street | Northamptonshire, Stanwick NN9 6QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwick Hotel is a beautiful small hotel in the Northamptonshire countryside. It is privately owned and run by a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, who aim to ensure a relaxing and pleasant stay. The hotel is located in the village of Stanwick, close to Wellingborough and Kettering and convenient for Northampton and Milton Keynes. It has 22 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, with free internet access, Freeview television and tea and coffee making facilities. As well as this there is a restaurant on site offering all meals as well as a communal lounge for guests to relax in and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The Courtyard Restaurant offers a wide range of freshly prepared modern British food. The Stanwick Hotel has a purpose built entertainment suite making it a perfect location for weddings and other celebrations, exhibitions and conferences all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Stanwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing