We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Castello di San Gaudenzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Castello di San Gaudenzio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cervesina
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A litte difficult to find but well worth it. We arrived in June and the setting is amazing, an old castle tucked away in the Italian countryside, the rooms are a little dated but I think this adds to the charm. We were here for business meeting, we had one meeting room and an old library which we ate in one day. The restaurant is great, if a little difficult to find down a long corridor. The service is good. Its all very old school, room keys with tassels, waiters wearing white tuxedos. Overall a beautiful place though. We paid around €85 per night which was well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    59
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
84
3
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful park setting and main building. However, a large part of the building is recently built and many rooms are in this part. It might need some refurbishment, but a certain touch of out-of-fashion in the decoration is not unpleasant. Service is OK, but should improve in the timing of delivery/responses, attention for details, etc. Breakfast should be less standard (toomuch like in a hotel chain) to be consistent with the peculiarity of the establishment. Rooms in the old part have amazingly high ceilings and a lot of space. Bathrooms are kind from the Seventies. Nice swimming pool área.

Room Tip: Prefer those in the old building, old-fashioned but very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great place. We went & stayed because a good friend was getting married there. We stayed for three blissful days. Food is very good. Service is fantastic. Mario is your man. His jacket might not fit, but he's super human. Warm friendly staff, great pool. I'd like to go back again. Wedding was one of the best I've been to. Everything was just done so well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedboarderHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Il Castello di San Gaudenzio for a wedding and had a wonderful time. The setting was fabulous, the food (and there was lots of it) was fantastic and the staff were extremely helpful. Our room was decorated with marble, wood panelling, fabric wallpaper and even a fresco on the ceiling. The view out over the grounds and the fountain in the courtyard was wonderful. The morning before the wedding, we drove out to the hills and visited some vineyards - the staff at reception provided directions - it was well worth a visit and the scenery was stunning. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area and looking for somewhere special to stay or do go for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joceejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

San Gaudenzio Castle is a 15th century fortified manor house in Lombardy that has been transformed into an impressive four star hotel. Situated in a small village this hotel is very good for business trips and travellers seeking peace and quiet. Service is good, rooms are nice and roomy and the atmosphere is incomparable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the right wing are close to a church bell that might wake you up early in the morning. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms are authentic with hand paintings on the walls... The castle is located in the countryside and worth the drive and stay.. The staff was nothing short of amazing... ask for Mario he will take care of you.. and the food was simply spectacular. The grounds were surreal and I feel extremely fortunate that I got to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's a small castle with somewhat mixed medieval/modern feel, which is nevertheless very good if you want to spend a night at a more special place. The old building rooms are very good with a castle feel. The territory is not large and unfortunately inner yard, which is very nice, is not open to public. However, the atmospehere is quite preserved.
I note that restaurant was quite surprisingly good and so was breakfast. The pool on a second fllor of the secondary building boasts opening roof, which is also quite nice.

Room Tip: If you want more medieval castle-feel - choose a room in the old buidling (castello), most other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldmelnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cervesina
5.0 mi away
Motel K
Motel K
#1 of 2 in Casei Gerola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
7.3 mi away
Le Vigne di Corvino
Le Vigne di Corvino
#1 of 1 in Corvino San Quirico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Liberty
Hotel Villa Liberty
#1 of 1 in Pontecurone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Park Hotel Olimpia
Park Hotel Olimpia
#1 of 2 in Brallo di Pregola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cascina Scova
Cascina Scova
#1 of 6 in Pavia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
7.5 mi away
Prime Alture Wine Resort
Prime Alture Wine Resort
#1 of 1 in Casteggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Castello di San Gaudenzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di San Gaudenzio

Property: Il Castello di San Gaudenzio
Address: Localita San Gaudenzio, 27050 Cervesina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Cervesina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cervesina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Castello di San Gaudenzio 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Il Castello di San Gaudenzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di San Gaudenzio Cervesina, Italy - Province Of Pavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing