We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Country Club Killarney
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Club Killarney
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Faha
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great place left to deteriorate, the estate is very worn out, badly maintained if at all, grounds where drab flowerbeds full of weeds, the tennis court rusted fence and knackard net was unusable. the on site reception was closed and drab. The onside pub not owned or run by the owners of the accommodation was the only saving grace on site, you definitely require transport, as there is nothing local at all. This must have been a great place when it was new but I'm afraid it's had it's day, I would not recommend this place. A great shame.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

As with other comments the 'Club' was third rate, reception only open for two days in a week, old, unmaintained accommodation, uncomfortable furnishing, no washing machine or dryer in cottage, patio without any chairs or tables.
The showers were a joke, I have 'cried' tears faster than the water that came from the shower! Anyone with arthritic fingers would not be able to shower
The pub on site was good with friendly people however the pool and entertainment facility was up for sale and not open
Wireless Internet only available in small corridor near reception, two seats, no heating?
Having travelled from Queensland, Australia on a once in a lifetime holiday we we're very disappointed

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ricka139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

For the price we paid (€39 per night) we were very impressed with the size and quality of our one bedroom apartment at the Killarney Country club. It was spacious and generally in good order with comfortable furniture. The rural location won't suit everyone - it is a long way from town and you definitely need a car, there are few facilities on site apart from a bar.

A few niggles:
- Only one bedside table and lamp.
- No info on local food stores in Information booklet (important for self catering)
- Broken shelf in fridge.
- Poor finish in bathroom

A good base for exploring Killarney, RoK and the Dingle

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

the house was certainly not a cottage and it was not anything like the pictures on the website. upon arrival we were met by a less than friendly receptionist. the keys were left in the open house we were staying in. we went to a house which even looked awful from the outside. the paint was very dull flaking and discoloured. when we went into the house it was flithy. spider webs and dead spiders literally everywhere. dead fly in the fridge. cereal under the kitchen table. hairs on the floors. stones even in the upstairs hallway. the kitchen table and upstairs dresser were sticky. the glass had not been cleaned in the doors as you could see drawings and phrases on the glass. when i went to reception and requested another house i was told no even though it was very obvious that most of them were free. then i had to suggest gettin a cleaner in. the receptionist was very put out by this and said the cleaner would be a few hours and that the house had been checked that morning and that it had been fine. i asked her to come and look at the house with me she declined. she did not as much as offer an apology. we then left for a few hours. when we came back the house had been cleaned.....although a few spider webs and the dead fly were still there! the facilities are not as described. very disappointing stay. would not recommend staying.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roisin4568376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had 2 bed appartment. It was clean and ready for us on arrival. Ideal as base for touring. Travelled with my teenage boys and felt very safe there. Bar on site which seemed to have people in it most nights although we didn't go there so I can't comment on that. Only drawback was no oven or dish cloths to dry dishes when we washed them

Room Tip: we had up stairs appartment and had no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalEm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have to day this was one holiday we were looking forward to as the website was just fab but when we arrived it was a big disappointment, no one to meet us reception closed until monday at 10am, very run down grass not cut and the smell of sewage was just terrible and it was not a warm week, one washing machine on site between all houses and apartments, house not clean at all never been so disappointed before and no cleaning items left so you could even tidy up after yourself as we were there for a week with kids and as for been told towels supplied not enough for each person in party to have one and also cutlery and crockery not enough supplied. The bar or country club if you would call it that was just a plain simple pub with a pool table in it and no music at all even during august and stayed open till well after 2am and seemed to be all locla men that came in after work with work clothes on. The palce seems to be very run down and not kept to any standard, play area for kids run down with long grass and as for the tennis court broken beer bottles all over it and run down. We were actually sick in the middle of the week weather due to the place not been cleaned properly or the smell, but we were glad to get back home and only for the sack we could not get anywhere else as they were all fully booked we would have been gone long before our week was up. Would not recommend this place to any one as dirty and not well kept and not very friendly and cant understand the previous reviews that i seen before we went on holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fm101NorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We came to KCC on an Interval exchange from the US. Everything we read beforehand was misleading.. The pool and leisure club have been closed all year and are up for auction. The on-site pub/ restaurant is practically empty every night and only has music the last weekend of the month, and food is served for Sunday lunch only. Our cottage (#1) was recently painted due to a fire in June, and it smells like burnt, wet wood (terrible). There was no service desk for the first two days, and when we complained of the smell, they acted like they had no ideathere was a smell. A resident there told us of the fire. All service did was leave a can of air freshner. Many of the units are up for sale as residences, and we believe the timeshare owners are writing good reviews to draw people in to stay because we were told that the cottages are very difficult to rent to vacationers. The reception desk is only open 4 days a week from 10-4 and is of little help when it is open. Research this location very carefully before you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BethHavredeGrace_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faha
7.5 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
276 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Killarney

Address: Faha, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Faha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Faha
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Country Club Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Killarney Faha, Ireland - County Kerry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing