We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when in Foix!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This charming auberge is located in St. Pierre, a five minute drive from Foix. Everything about our experience here reflected the care and attention to detail of the owner Anne Landes. The rooms are well appointed, the atmosphere cozy, and the staff make sure everyone has a great experience. And the restaurant – what incredible meals! The chef blends local specialties (including freshly picked organic herbs and veggies from the garden) with his Sicilian culinary tradition, creating something truly special. Breakfast is copious, and there‘s an intimate garden space for lunch and lounging in the back. Everything is reasonably priced – overall this is a superb value. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Rather than staying in Foix itself, we decided to stay here because of prior reviews - which seemed to have a far better rating than any of the Foix hotels. A key part of the attraction was the rave reviews of the restaurant attached to the hotel. We were extremely happy with both the hotel and restaurant. The accommodation was superb value for what you get (charming room, comfortable bed, free wifi) and we liked the fact that we were able to park nearby for free. The owner was also extremely charming and accommodating (like opening the bar for us early when we decided to have a pre-dinner drink). As other reviewers have mentioned, it is beautifully prepared and extremely reasonably priced. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel over one in Foix if you are visiting the region.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a dark and rainy night. We were lost. My wife and arrived at this small auberge hoping only to use the bathroom. The warm and smiling innkeeper, Anne Landes, took pity on us and, though her restaurant was closed for the night, asked her chef to put together a plate of food for us. It was beautifully presented and delicious. Then she asked if we'd like a piece of cake. Would we ever! And coffee? OMG, had we stumbled through a worm hole into heaven?! Then she asked if we would like to stay the night, and ushered us into a beautiful, cozy room. We ended up staying three nights. Everything was beautiful, Everything was delicious. And everyone working at the hotel was warm, friendly and kind--and intelligent and interesting, too, as a bonus. This was the sort of memorable find that makes traveling worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My experience of the Auberge was very good. The owner even phoned me in advance to let me know that the restaurant would not be open on the evening we arrived. We were greeted and told that should we want anything just to ring the buzzer, which we did and were brought drinks into the garden, each with a piece of cake; made with honey from next door. My husband and I had a room at the back overlooking the garden which was very peaceful. indeed we enjoyed a drink here after coming back from a meal in Foix.
The breakfast was copious and had lots of local products to try, as well as the usual fayre.
I only wish we had arrived on a different day so we could have tried the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the rooms are very pleasant and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The auberge is well furnished and decorated. The bar and restaurant are particularly nicely done for a country auberge. The breakfast was satisfactory and the evening meal quite good. Unfortunately car parking was 200 metres away and the auberge is right on the road. On our second night they forgot to tell us the restaurant was fully booked by a local music society. So when we came downstairs at 7.30pm we found we could not have a meal - however Foix is only 5 minutes drive and has a good selection of restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Its took me nearly 12 months to get round to writing this review, but still this place sticks out in my head, after travelling through France and Spain then home again. We visited at Easter myself husband and 2 girls, and enjoyed the quaint room, with fantastic view and the outside area we could imagine ourselves in the summer with a nice glass of red. Our restaurant experience was fantastic the food was fantastic and the children were well catered for especially with dessert. Staff were friendly and well accommodating,, and when we first arrived the GCSE French had to kick in which i really enjoyed. Again quaint, quirky, rustic friendly and very welcoming I would reccommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haraspubhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

On a house hunting visit to the Ariege Region we picked on this charming, if old fashioned, little hotel. Our room was warm - on a bitter November evening- the bed was new and very comfortable. But what makes this a truely amazing little hotel was the warmth of the welcome and the attention of the owner and her staff. Nothing was too much trouble, the log fire was kept burning but the food was wonderful and carefully explained. The owner, Anne, is aterrific cook and uses her knowledge of Italian cooking to enhance the local and organic produce that she uses.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Pierre de Riviere
8.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
189 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#3 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
63 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#5 of 6 in Mirepoix
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel balladins Foix
20.9 mi away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lons
Hotel Lons
#5 of 6 in Foix
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere

Address: 18 Lieu Dit le Pont, 09000 Saint Pierre de Riviere, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Saint Pierre de Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Pierre de Riviere
Price Range: $74 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Barguillere is an authentic traditional-style French tavern and auberge in the heart of the Pyrenees. The rooms are simple and full of character. The kitchen cooks with local, fresh, organic- slow food style. Great terrace in summer, diner near the fire. We accept animals. A place for nature lovers in a wonderful valley of Ariege. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing