We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mentawai Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloita Resort & Spa
Bandung
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Every single second was just perfect. The staff was friendly and attentive, the management always looking to care for your every need, the bungalows were really cozy and the scenery was simply stunning
Mention apart for Mr. McLoving, great photographer, and Cahn, hats off to him and his knowledge of where and when to find the best waves

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Artime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
38
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A week on Aloita was not enough! From the moment we were met at the airport in Padang the service was outstanding. Traveling with my wife n family, Hannah 14, Dylan,10 and Lucy 10 on the Ambu Ambu ferry was a great experience. Then on arrival everything was just perfect. We had a big family bungalow with 3 rooms- all very spacious so we had our own space.

Surf was fun although the swell was small. Thats why I want to come back They generally do 2 trips / day and ther are a lot of waves nearby. Most of the guests surfed every day Cahn is an expert guideknows all the breaks and really looks after guests. One guy snapped his board and Cahn paddled 600m inside the reef to the lagoon and out to retrieve the missing 1/2. My kids also surfed a small wave up the end of the island 10mins walk. Tikus a soft left.

Hannah and I did the Open Water Padi Dive cert with Mario. 5 awesome dives-Talk about fantastic! A mega boat - dive master, skipper, boatman all to ourselves. Even 10y/o Lucy did an intro to scuba dive. We saw giant fan corals, clown fish- Nemo- trigger fish, sea snakes and a giant 6'barracuda.

The food although great, came out a bit late for hungry kids. They also were able to ask for somthing differnt if they did not like the buffet. All in all hospitality was great as was the location. In the evening we all had beers played some music and Dylan learned to play pool.Thanks Aloita and we hope to be back in 2014. Ed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

aloita was everything and more than I was expecting. the presentation of the resort was first class, the food was fresh and sensational. Cahn the surf guide makes the trip, really friendly and knowledgeable, great waves and loved being able to surf different spots every day.
thanks guys,
highly RECOMEND!!!


TOBY (happy guest)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place and fantastic crew ! One of my best surf trips to date in a resort that artfully combines the respect of pristine nature with all the luxuries one should expect from a high end resort. Will certainly be back with friends and family. Thanks again Alessandro, Steve, Cahn and all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Aloita is one of the best places I've ever visited. The 10 hour ferry trip to the Mentawai islands is totally worth it, and staying at Aloita made it even more worthwhile. A clean, well kept and very chilled out resort with the friendliest staff that we now consider friends :) We will definitely be back!
My friends and I are not surfers, we are mere city folks wanting to get away..and our getaway brought us to paradise. I have never been somewhere so beautiful with water so pristine and stayed at such a comfortable and welcoming resort. Felt like home. Thank you so much Aloita! We are planning a comeback very soon. <3

Room Tip: We stayed in the family bungalow, but the others looked just as awesome. All bungalows are just a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asisthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place, paradise of a location, great people, awesome staff - thanks Carn (surf guru, pool shark, likes a Bintang), thanks Mario (makes sure all runs well and food is tasty & plentiful), thanks Ronny (Padang fix it man link dude!)

Ill be back and hope as always the waves will be there when I arrive again! (Fingers crossed!)

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Four of my friends and I spent the first two weeks of March at the resort. We were fortunate as we were greeted by a truly accommodating staff, a wonderful Austrailian couple, and most importantly, some wonderful surf. I can't begin to say enough about the people associated with the resort, they are remarkably kind, and devoted to making your stay a delightful experience. Mario Facchini, who was filling in for Allasandro while he was on holiday, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed for a fantastic time. Our local surf guide, Une [sp?], was a Rock Star, making sure we got the best surf regardless of the conditions. I know I had a spectacular time and enjoyed the staff and other guests from Austrailia, the UK, and Italy! I would strongly recommend Aloita, and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: As a point of reference, the family bungalow is a beautiful, large, two story cabin. Due to its siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 890RobertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentawai Islands
0.0 mi away
Krui Mutun Walur Surf Camp Guest House
25.8 mi away
Playground Surf Resort
Playground Surf Resort
#2 of 2 in Pulau Masokut
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Camp Siberut
Surf Camp Siberut
#5 of 7 in Siberut
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloita Resort & Spa

Property: Aloita Resort & Spa
Address: Simakakang Island, Tuapejat, West Sumatra, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Mentawai Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mentawai Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloita Resort & Spa is the most complete and comfortable Resort in Mentawai-Indonesia.Aloita is the ideal place for surfers, divers and for those persons that simply want to relax.Please feel free to contact us for further information and rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloita Resort And Spa
Aloita Hotel Mentawai Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing