We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best motel I have stayed at, and I used to own one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Motor Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best motel I have stayed at, and I used to own one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Congratulations to the management of The Belmont Motor Lodge. What a lovely property, definitely 5 diamond as stated on their website. Great rooms immaculately clean and tidy, modern, and spacious , and nice and quiet. Our unit had a luxurious double spa bath, which was just what I needed after a busy day. On arrival (7.30pm) the curtains were drawn and the heater was on for us. The management are very customer focused, and were not aware that we used to own a motel. This will definitely be our motel of choice when staying in Wellington in future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    4
    1
    22
See reviews for
19
33
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I continue to stay and recommend the Belmont Motor Lodge to everyone because of the incredibly up market decor of all units. Sue,Brian and their team do everything within their power to make my stay comfortabe and enjoyable. My advise is that if you can't get a booking for the dates you require, CHANGE YOUR DATES so that you can enjoy being away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaValAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

My girlfriends and I did many inspections of motels because a few days away for us was a luxury and to come across the modern comfort of the Belmont was such a relief we grabbed the two bedroom unit. This was really up to date, polished and furnished with beautiful pieces of furniture. My husband and I have just booked 9 days into the same room. Wouldn't ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwinorthisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We found this Motel,roomy, luxurious and spotlessly clean, the owners were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We will definitely stay there again when we are in Wellington and recommend it to other people who are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latte70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We informed Belmont of our intended dates months ago. This was for 2 adults and one 18 month year old child. We also told them that we would have our own portacot for the baby.

Upon arrival, we were told we were going to be charged an additional $20 per night ($110 for the room and $20 for our baby). We explained the rate given to use was not this - but were flatly denied any leeway. In fact, the woman even had the nerve to tell us to
1) go elsewhere if we didn't like it, and
2) we had to make a decision at that moment if we were to stay - as we HAD to stay for the intended initial period.

Point to note, this was Christmas Eve, and there were no other options for us.

After further heated discussion - she finally agreed to drop the additional $20 a night to an additional $10 a night.

However - upon leaving - we were (as if this wasn't expected) charged the full additional $20.
Our room rate became $120 and they charged us an extra $10 per day.

In the end - we felt used and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially because of the spiteful and dishonest owners.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpatrick, Manager at Belmont Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
This booking was made for two people only and no mention was ever made of an accompanying child.
When the guest arrived and we realised there was a third person we explained there would be an extra charge. He became extremely irate to the point where we offered to arrange alternative accommodation for him which he refused. Eventually we came to a compromise which he accepted and he was given his key and shown to his room. On check out his wife reviewed the invoice which she accepted happily and then it was duely processed. We have a very good reputation and we are sorry that this guest was not happy. Some guests do not understand that a small child can create as much if not more work than an adult, therefore are charged as an extra person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

This motel is conveniently situated, just off the highway. The owners are friendly and very helpful. The studio room was good; it was clean, and had a large comfortable bed, reasonable bathroom, and kitchenette (microwave and fridge; one-bedroom units have more extensive cooking facilities). There was nothing particularly memorable about the motel, but it was an excellent choice for a night's stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_S_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

Travelled to Porirua, a suburb approx 25min ride from Wellington Airport for a friend's wedding. Only stayed 2 nights so was keen to find quality, clean accomodation which could provide a good nights rest.

Located centrally in Porirua adjacent to off-ramp to main Highway we found Belmont Motor Lodge. We were greeted by friendly owners/managers and we booked a 1 bedroom apartment.

The 1 bedroom apartment includes in the bedroom a comfortable King size Bed, a seperate living room with double sofa bed & TV, a kitchnette with microwave, dinner table for 4, & spa bath in the bathroom. Only downside was our apartment backed onto a busy traffic roundabout, but each evening we were so tired we hardly noticed any traffic noise.

I travel extensively for work & found this motel to be 'above average' motels in Porirua. 4 star property. It is modern, clean, less than 5min drive to the main North City Plaza shopping Ctr & approx 3min walk to Porirua Train Station.

I recommend to singles, families & business travellers looking to stopover in Porirua for a few nights.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Comfortable Bed!
  • Disliked — Although minimal, traffic noise from busy roundabout
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FreqFlyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
10.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Lodge

Property: Belmont Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 5024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing