We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable 2 night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Motor Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Comfortable 2 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. The stay was comfortable. Hosts were friendly. We checked in at 930pm and they waited for us and had our electric blanket and room heater switched on - a nice touch I have to say.

The room was clean and reasonably modern. LCD TV with a few SKY channels provided. Kitchen was well equipped. Heating options were good (electric blanket, wall heater and an oil heater).

Check in and check out was a breeze. All in all, not bad for a motor lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -Gary-T-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    4
    1
    22
See reviews for
19
33
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were here for one night while on a business trip. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and upmarket but a bit dark, and we couldn't get Television One on the tele. I worked in the evening and missed the turnoff on my return to the motel so got a bit lost. A recommendation would be to have a big sign near to the roadway for those of us who get lost easily. However, as already mentioned, a very nice motel with great hosts, and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room no. 5 is quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Belmont for two nights in mid-February. I was a bit worried as it was so close to the motorway but it turned out to be very quiet. The room was quite comfortable -- large and modern. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. I would also recommend the Indian restaurant up a small hill beside the hotel. It was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family had a great time staying here, definitely the cleanest motel and also up to date. Very helpful host. Will definitely stay again when in Wellington.

Room Tip: Speak to the motel as they will then advice you on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenDragon338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed one night on the way through the Ferry. There is no question that this is one of the cleanest motels that I have every stayed in. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was very tidy with modern decor and had a spa bath.

The motel is located close to the railway tracks and the motorway. We did find some noise particularly from the trains during the night. But considering the proximity to the tracks and road, it was surprisingly quiet.

The room had a nice outlook onto some bush which was very pleasant.

However, I would not want to base myself at the motels for too long with a family. The kitchen did not have an oven (only microwave and hobs). The two bedroom unit was also quite compact for a long stay. But this is perfect for short stays.

I was a bit taken aback that a $250 a night unit did not provide a DVD player. That had to be hired at $8 per night. For $250, I would expect this type of facility to be included.

But if we were transitting from Ferry again, I would have no hestitation in booking again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I are from Australia. We spent 5 weeks driving around New Zealand, staying at a variety of motels and have no hesitation about singing the praises of this hotel. Sue and Brian greeted us warmly and made us very welcome, including recommending a terrific restaurant for our dinner. (Topor, you are terrific also.) The banana cake and silver teapot service when we went in our room was unique and much appreciated. The stay was excellent and we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulheatheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We travelled from Australia and stayed at Belmont Motor Lodge, the owners were fantastic making us feel right at home. The rooms and facilities were fantastic we didn't want to leave.
Thanks Brian and Sue will definitely be back again soon and spend more time at your motor lodge. No hesitation at all recommending Belmont Motor Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
10.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Lodge

Property: Belmont Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 5024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing