We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spinnaker Motel
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$87
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aotea Lodge(Porirua)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moana Lodge(Plimmerton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
20
19
9
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
19
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsen routemin walkferry portsfollowing morningeasy accessacross the roadsky tvgood sizestay there againnew zealandpatunitheatergarysh1motelhosts
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 55 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are to relocate and were looking at the area. The owner was very very helpful. He drove his own car to a local estate agent and introduced us, and gave lots of great advice about the area. The room was very clean and well furnished. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qssue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Never again will I stay in this place unless im sure the ownership has changed and I urge anyone reading this to do the same!

I booked with this motel through the AA website about 3 weeks prior to arriving. I was transferring my family in two vehicles (with 2 children under 4) to the South Island after securing a job in Canterbury. I also had two dogs on the back of my truck secured in a medium sized dog box. Upon arrival at about 4:00PM I advised the owner that I had the dogs on the back. He told me they had a no dogs policy and I said that im sorry that I hadnt rung earlier to check as I thought it would be ok as the AA site had no mention of it and the dogs were going to remain in the box overnight. He asked if they barked and I told him that they didn’t and they were trained native species dogs and therefore were well behaved and obedient. He begrudgingly said it would be ok but they would have to remain in the box overnight. This was fine by me and what I had intended.

The dogs had been in the box all day as we travelled down from Whakatane and after we unloaded the children etc I took the dogs down to the beach to have a run around. I returned just before dark and chained the dogs to the front of my truck while I got the dog box sorted for the night and fed the animals. I walked inside to get the dog food and through the window I saw the owner coming over with his portable phone in hand. He stood outside the door and called me on the phone to come out and talk. I walked out and my four year old daughter followed me. I asked him what was up and he launched into a tirade telling me in a loud voice that it wasn’t good enough that the dogs were here and that we would have to go. He said “you can have your money back and get out of here”. I asked if he was going to kick the kids out at this time of night and if he was seriuosly going to do that. He became more unpleasant and I had to ask my daughter to go inside whiole dad talked with the man. I told him the dogs were going back into the box as we had agreed earlier and that they wouldn’t be a bother to anyone, but, I did have to feed and run them as they had been in the box all day. He got very worked up and aggresive but I remained calm and asked him if I put them back in the box now would it fix the problem? He said he would have the police come down and remove us if we didn’t go. He again said “you can have your money back and leave”. I again asked if I stuck to what we agreed could he let us stay for the night as we had no where else to go. He finally agreed but continued to rave and and talk about a no dogs policy before walking off in a huff. In the end we stayed and he did not come back over to our room but through the upstairs curtain I could see him peeking at us through a gap in the curtain until well after 10PM. After this I was too tired to watch him anymore and assumed he was going to take no further action. We left very early the next morning.

I admit I should have checked if having the dogs on the back of the truck was going to be an issue before I arrived. That was my mistake. I thought we had come to an agreement upon arrival but clearly he was spoiling for a conflict. This man is dispicable and to carry on like that in front of children in my opinion is inexcusable. I wish this man nothing other than a massive heart attack. That was a dispicable display from you Mr Spinnaker. You know you can’t say the same of the way I conducted myself during your tirade. There are other ways of dealing with situations you are not happy with. Carrying on like that is childish and ridiculous. I hope this review and others I have seen on this site about you provide you with some insight into what is appropriate customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

I have just been going through the unresponded Reviews on TripAdvisor and have seen your one. My husband and I have taken over the running of the motel and we assure you that you would not get the same treatment again. We still have the 'No Dog' policy but other than this we would ask that if you should be travelling this way, please do not hesitate to try us out again. Pat & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Rooms are perfect had no problems until we had family pop in to visit us as we were ready to go to the beach for the day so while getting ready we had 4 kids (inc my 2. 3yrs&1yrs) running around and playing on the little playground they have set up for kids. After the beach i invited my visitors back for dinner knowing (read Conditions) that they had to be gone by 9pm or 10pm (one of those) we just had to let management know or whoever running the place so thought cool we can use the little BBQ area to eat in (next to the Playground). Partner went over to reception to let the guy know and was told NO! and that the guy went on saying the kids are noisy and were not use to this noise around here. Partner came back to tell me and straight away the welcome feeling good feeling went straight out the door i just literally stood there starring out the door thinking 'oh no, what am i gonna do?' say? I didn't want to let my family down as they were on there way back over to us and because we were only stopping in for two days this was the 2nd day. I went over to make a deal and in a calmly manner said ill keep the kids indoor until we finish dinner on top of him saying "will if you don't like it then ill give your money and use can just leave", when he said that i was stunned and nervous and just told him "ummm im not here to argue with you". He then calmed down and said okay as long as i kept them inside..... I went back smiling to my partner who probably had his ears out the window hoping to hear what would happen and we were both happy but at the same time shocked and i still was feeling nervous in my tummy. I knew that my family and i wouldn't be staying there ever again..... I thought what if i had 3, 4? maybe 5 kids? Would the little playground be recommended for them? or would that be too much noise? Or would i have got the NO! too many kids? Who knows. Just should state that too many children is not recommended even though they have a playground area for the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Love My Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

We are sorry that you a bad experience the last time you stay, but the motel is now under new management and we would welcome you back anytime. We hope that you would give us another go as we enjoy having children here. Sorry for the late response to this, but we have just been going through reviews and have spotted quite a few that have not been replied too. Once again, we would be more than happy to see you back for another stay some time in the future. Pat & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I stay in the Spinnaker Motel in Mana/Plimmerton once a fortnight or sometimes once per month for business and find the managers to be the loveliest and kindest people. Nothing is a bother and they look after me so well I feel spoilt!!
The rooms are extremely clean and tidy, comfortable beds and a central location to the train station and the lovely town of Plimmerton.
I would recommend this motel to anyone and give it a 10 out of 10 all round

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy101NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht 1-5 wegen des Strassenlärms
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews