We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Topor Bistro

Topor Bistro
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Porirua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Polish, European, Central European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rangiora
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The fact that a suburban restaurant is full mid week is an indication of its popularity.
We quickly found out why. A very interesting menu of food which was different. Good service and the nicely spaced courses was great. When we finished our entree the waiter said he would get the chef started on our mains, which indicated we would receive meals that weren't sitting around waIting for us. The mains were what seem describe as "art on a plate" . Presentation was top quality and ample quantity, leaving us fully satisfied. The emergence of wonderful tastes added to the experience. The wine list offered a good variety of all types. The service was friendly, courteous and appreciated.
A wonderful experience which we would highly recommend to others. I have read other reviews and note a high level of satisfaction which I would endorse.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Polish Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! We began our 3 course meal with glorious vodka shots, and finished some 2 hours later with an amazing melange of desserts. In between, from lamb to kielbasa to borscht, everything was beautifully prepared, deliciously unique and expertly served. With some many wonderful restaurants to choose from in Wellington, the trip to Plimmerton and Topor was well worth it, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Six of us went there for a meal and found the service and food excellent. The polish food had beautiful flavours. Loved the duck pate as entree. Very well done main meal. The polish cheesecake did not have the texture or makeup of an English cheesecake but was really light and exquisite. The waiter was most accommodating when we told him that we were in a hurry to see a play and would like the food to be served quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Carol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant par excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant has to be experienced and then you will realise just what dining out really is all about. From the moment you enter till the moment you leave you just won't be disappointed. The atmosphere, the service and undoubtedly the the quality and quantity are absolutely perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Superb food. Very good portions and a great range. Waitress was good, but didn't know much about food. It is very much a restaurant to try... You won't be dissappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topor Bistro also viewed

Porirua, Greater Wellington
Porirua, Greater Wellington
 
Porirua, Greater Wellington
Porirua, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Porirua, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Topor Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing