We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but clean and good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of AAA Mana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AAA Mana Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dated but clean and good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times. It is not fancy and the rooms are a little dated but, that said, this a very well situated motel which is close to the railway station and motorway. There is high speed wireless internet for a small additional cost.
There is an indoor pool which is not really warm enough to swim in in the winter but would be great for summer stays.
This is a tough area to find peace and quiet, given that there is a major railway on one side and a major highway on the other, but I didn't find it too noisy overall.
The service is fantastic and Ross and Megan cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are bigger, warmer and quieter. Well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review. It is much appreciated. We are a 3 star plus property and claim to be nothing more. As a long term corporate stay this Government agency dictated a competitively priced nightly rate, which is great to see, rather than a more costly 5 star property previously utilised. Our indoor pool is in fact heated to the same 29/30 degree temperature, as all public swimming pools. The room tip provided is slightly inaccurate as all types of rooms are the same size whether they are upstairs or down and sell at exactly the same price. You were a joy to host and we enjoyed our many conversations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
15
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

AAA Mana Motel was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. The unit was spacious with everything you need in it. The bed was very comfortable and nice and warm to sleep in, and the outdoor area was perfect for the dog. For those staying for Dog Shows, its only 10 minute drive to NZKC grounds. Ross and Megan are very easy to deal with and gave me everything I asked for. I would highly recommend this motel to others, and will definitely stay again. Thank you, Ross & Megan. Lisa & Chief :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wonderful guests. Thanks for your supportive honest comments. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned from my annual QB weekends dog showing at Porirua. Had another relaxing stay at Mana Motel. Find Ross very pleasant to deal with. Bed was very comfortable which helped with a good nights sleep after long days at the shows. Nice being able to walk down the road to the shops and handy to the park for walking the dog. Thanks again Ross & Megan.

Judy & Haylee (the dog)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1samoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Another great guest. Thanks for your honesty you were a pleasure to host. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a very poor experience with the 747 Motel in Wellington who increased costs without notice (see my review). Needed a last minute change of accommodation for my wife and I when we arrived at 12.30 in the morning from Australia. This motel was wonderful and easy to deal with. They were welcoming and left the room unlocked and lights on for us so when we arrived just got in and went to sleep. Motel was was to find. Room was very clean and comfortable. In the morning, the owners were friendly and free with advice on roads and routes to travel. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MauricePoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile and treating our guests as we would like to be treated - true honest kiwi hospitality at its best. We are disappointed that other Motels do not operate in the same manner. We hope you both enjoyed your trip around New Zealand and look forward to hosting you both again in the future, a delightful couple, who absolutely love New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although we arrived early and wanted to leave our bags there until later the management without hesitation showed us to our room where we had time to make a cup of tea from the excellent selection of provided drinks before heading off into town. Mana Motel is ideally situated and almost adjacent to Mana railway Station of catching a ride into town on Wellingtons new Matangi Trains. If you want excellent hosts and the sheer convenience then you can't go past this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room to avoid the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of AAA Mana Motel. Your positive, honest comments are very much appreciated and we thank you. As owners we take a lot of pride in presenting a place where we would like to stay, we work hard at providing our valued guests with "Good Honest Kiwi Hospitality." We look forward to hosting you and your family on your return visit, you were a delight to host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family & I stayed for 6 days at this Motel, and it was absolutely awesome in all area's. Our hosts Ross & Megan were wonderful, definitely family orientated, went the extra mile to make our stay that more enjoyable, comfortable, very relaxing & stress-free. My 4 year old twin grand-daughters thoroughly loved the environment, sandpit, trampoline and in-ground heated pool all within safe surroundings. The trains were a great attraction for us & were no bother during our sleeping schedule whatsoever, the same applies to the main road heavy traffic out front of the Motel also. Our rooms were immaculate, well serviced everyday and exceptionally comfortable. I would highly recommend this Motel to any of my family and friends in an instant, when and if required. All our needs were met and more during our entire stay!! Many many thanks Ross & Megan, gratefully appreciated!! Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your honest well written review. A delightful family to host who became part of our family. Hope to see you or your family and friends again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I organised the stay at this motel for my family and unfortunately mismatched my dates. Ross, was so very understanding and changed the check in dates without charge.
My family reported impeccable service from Ross and Megan they were a joy to deal with and absolutely lovely people.
The motel itself was clean, very comfortable with great amenities. The heated pool was great for the kids too. Great location and very close to shops, restaurants and takeaways.
Overall my family rated this motel as 10/10. Thanks AAA Mana Motel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Your delightful family deserved nothing but the best of true kiwi hospitality. You all became part of our family and we are missing you all already and can't wait for your return. We wish you all the very best for Christmas and the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
14.7 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#34 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAA Mana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Mana Motel

Property: AAA Mana Motel
Address: 41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AAA Mana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AAA Mana Motel - Porirua, New Zealand. Relax and enjoy some quiet time in our pleasant sunny surrounds. Our well kept grounds and private upstairs balconies provide the perfect environment for you to relax and unwind. Even better, on a warm summer's evening, put you feet up and chill out around our on-site barbeque and picnic tables. The choice is yours. We are conveniently located just north of Porirua, on the main road to Wellington (SH1). We offer a great combination of nice and sunny units; easy access to town; and a heated swimming pool to relax in. Most importantly we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly place to stay. Our clean and sunny, 1,2 and 3 bedroom self-catering units provide a relaxing place to stay, whether for the long-term or short-term. Wireless high-speed internet access is available along with Sky TV. We deliver a great experience of good honest kiwi hospitality with well-kept facilities. Our motel accommodation is conveniently located just 5 mins north of Porirua on SH1. Being so close to Wellington City, you can quickly and easily enjoy the Capital experience, either by car or train; and just 15 mins drive to Cook Strait Ferry. We also offer off street parking outside each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AAA Mana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing