We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stay”
Review of AAA Mana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AAA Mana Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a very poor experience with the 747 Motel in Wellington who increased costs without notice (see my review). Needed a last minute change of accommodation for my wife and I when we arrived at 12.30 in the morning from Australia. This motel was wonderful and easy to deal with. They were welcoming and left the room unlocked and lights on for us so when we arrived just got in and went to sleep. Motel was was to find. Room was very clean and comfortable. In the morning, the owners were friendly and free with advice on roads and routes to travel. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MauricePoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your honest comments. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile and treating our guests as we would like to be treated - true honest kiwi hospitality at its best. We are disappointed that other Motels do not operate in the same manner. We hope you both enjoyed your trip around New Zealand and look forward to hosting you both again in the future, a delightful couple, who absolutely love New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although we arrived early and wanted to leave our bags there until later the management without hesitation showed us to our room where we had time to make a cup of tea from the excellent selection of provided drinks before heading off into town. Mana Motel is ideally situated and almost adjacent to Mana railway Station of catching a ride into town on Wellingtons new Matangi Trains. If you want excellent hosts and the sheer convenience then you can't go past this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room to avoid the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of AAA Mana Motel. Your positive, honest comments are very much appreciated and we thank you. As owners we take a lot of pride in presenting a place where we would like to stay, we work hard at providing our valued guests with "Good Honest Kiwi Hospitality." We look forward to hosting you and your family on your return visit, you were a delight to host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family & I stayed for 6 days at this Motel, and it was absolutely awesome in all area's. Our hosts Ross & Megan were wonderful, definitely family orientated, went the extra mile to make our stay that more enjoyable, comfortable, very relaxing & stress-free. My 4 year old twin grand-daughters thoroughly loved the environment, sandpit, trampoline and in-ground heated pool all within safe surroundings. The trains were a great attraction for us & were no bother during our sleeping schedule whatsoever, the same applies to the main road heavy traffic out front of the Motel also. Our rooms were immaculate, well serviced everyday and exceptionally comfortable. I would highly recommend this Motel to any of my family and friends in an instant, when and if required. All our needs were met and more during our entire stay!! Many many thanks Ross & Megan, gratefully appreciated!! Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your honest well written review. A delightful family to host who became part of our family. Hope to see you or your family and friends again in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I organised the stay at this motel for my family and unfortunately mismatched my dates. Ross, was so very understanding and changed the check in dates without charge.
My family reported impeccable service from Ross and Megan they were a joy to deal with and absolutely lovely people.
The motel itself was clean, very comfortable with great amenities. The heated pool was great for the kids too. Great location and very close to shops, restaurants and takeaways.
Overall my family rated this motel as 10/10. Thanks AAA Mana Motel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Your delightful family deserved nothing but the best of true kiwi hospitality. You all became part of our family and we are missing you all already and can't wait for your return. We wish you all the very best for Christmas and the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed at this motel on a number of occasions. We have found the rooms to be immaculate, well serviced every day and extremely comfortable. This motel is situated in a good, convenient location, close to shops, restaurants etc.

Ross and Megan were fantastic to deal with, therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We thank you for taking the time to review AAA Mana Motel. We love receiving honest down to earth comments from guests and are delighted that you commented highly about the cleanliness and fabulous location of AAA Mana Motel. Good honest kiwi hospitality which we are also very proud of. Look forward to catching up with you both on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to sleep !!!! The trains (freight and passenger) run all night and feel like they are coming through the room, VERY VERY VERY noisy !!! The rooms were generally tidy but when you looked slightly (and only slightly) closer - they were very dirty- bathrooms and kitchen areas!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

AAA Mana Motel is proud to be located on the outskirts of the vibrant Capital City - Wellington.
To get no noise, this large family of seven would be better off staying in a country location not in a vibrant City. We note, however, this guest rated our "Location" and "Room Quality" quite highly. Which we thank you for but are slightly confused about.

This room is extremely popular for large families, who are budget driven as it is a large three bedroom apartment, and is roomy and immaculately presented. The prior guest review, who also stayed in this room, confirms our thoughts "Excellent great stay for great value". Very hard to please everyone all of the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed four nights. The rooms were bright and fresh and very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The room was well serviced every day and the hosts were very friendly and helpful with information on local sites to visit.The room was very comfortable and great value would certainly stay there again a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We thank you once again for your fabulous comments. As you know we pride ourselves on our well presented, clean and sunny rooms. Guests, like yourselves, love the convenient location of AAA Mana Motel, being so close to the vibrancy of Wellington City where they can enjoy shopping and upmarket restaurants whilst leaving the car behind and hoping on the train. We look forward to seeing you all again next month on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porirua hotels
0.9 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#2 of 3 in Porirua
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
No photo provided
Belmont Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Porirua
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAA Mana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Mana Motel

Address: 41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range: $86 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AAA Mana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AAA Mana Motel - Porirua, New Zealand. Relax and enjoy some quiet time in our pleasant sunny surrounds. Our well kept grounds and private upstairs balconies provide the perfect environment for you to relax and unwind. Even better, on a warm summer's evening, put you feet up and chill out around our on-site barbeque and picnic tables. The choice is yours. We are conveniently located just north of Porirua, on the main road to Wellington (SH1). We offer a great combination of nice and sunny units; easy access to town; and a heated swimming pool to relax in. Most importantly we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly place to stay. Our clean and sunny, 1,2 and 3 bedroom self-catering units provide a relaxing place to stay, whether for the long-term or short-term. Wireless high-speed internet access is available along with Sky TV. We deliver a great experience of good honest kiwi hospitality with well-kept facilities. Our motel accommodation is conveniently located just 5 mins north of Porirua on SH1. Being so close to Wellington City, you can quickly and easily enjoy the Capital experience, either by car or train; and just 15 mins drive to Cook Strait Ferry. We also offer off street parking outside each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your AAA Mana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing