We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AAA Mana”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of AAA Mana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AAA Mana Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Tallai, Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AAA Mana”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A little tired. No electric blanket and noisy being between the railway and the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny57218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Jenny, we thank you for taking the time to comment on AAA Mana Motel. We clearly list ourselves as a three star property and do not confess to be anything more, which is clearly reflected in the very competitive room rate you paid. Also, Jenny, our compendium in each room clearly states that electric blankets are available and you only have to ask. AAA Mana Motel is in a fabulous location situated 15 minutes out of Wellington which is the Capital City of New Zealand, not in a small country town. Like any large City our roading infrastructure is vital and your decision to stay with us reflects your need to be near easily accessible arterial routes. Delighted to see our friendly service impressed you and we thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
15
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this great motel.The rooms are nicely furnished very comfotable beds and pillows.The kitchen was equiped with everything you may need to cook with.And a good size rubbish bin.Room was serviced very well each day.Nice to have earl grey tea to drink and a coffee plunger as well.Very pleasent stay, great hosts,we definitely will go back again.This was our second stay and both times we have enjoyed it.Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment honestly and positively on your stay with us. Your warm thoughtful comments were delightful, it is so nice when Guests can comment on the positive things we are doing right rather than focusing on personal irritations. Megan and I work extremely hard to provide our valued guests with a memorable stay and to be able to anticipate their needs. We look forward to your continued support of AAA Mana Motel and meeting you both again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were at Mana Motel for three nights. The first two nights were uncomfortable due to what we thought was a very poor mattress. We found on the third night that there was a broken leg on the bed! We were able to prop it up temporarily, but the bed still wasn't that good, and the single in the second bedroom wasn't comfortable either. Good beds should be a number one priority in any accommodation. On the plus side, the big rubbish bin by the kitchen bench was a real bonus - those tiny things we normally get are hopeless. And the service was very efficient and friendly as well. We'd stay here again, but would check that the bed legs are OK first!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit towards the road - there is a rail line at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Our top priority, as Owners, is always to provide our valued guests with a good night sleep, we want you to leave happy and continue to return.
Guests unfortunately think Motel owners are mind readers, preferring to vent their problems through this medium....... Guests, can you please advise any staff member immediately if there is a problem of any kind, we will then rectify the problem as smoothly and as promptly as possible. If we are not advised, in this case, throughout a three day stay, how are we to know there is a problem.

We thank you for your positive comments regarding our efficient service and friendly manner, and we are delighted to hear that you would recommend us and would definitely stay here again. We look forward to hosting your family on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I had a lovely stay at Mana Motel, it had everything you could need when away from home and in a great location out of the city but close to reality. The room was a good size and fully equipped with everything to truly relax in like your own home after a day working away from home. Good cafe and supermarket/shops close buy & great hospitality. The only negative i would say is that it is a bit close to the train tracks but really, you can't get away from this or highways through Welly so its fine. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your enjoyable stay with us. Your comments and honesty are much appreciated. Look forward to catching up with you again on your return visit.
Ross and Megan Levy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

After having a positive experience previously we decided to return and spend the weekend here. I chose this motel for the open grass area outside our patio which allowed my toddlers to play on the grass and head down to the childrens play area. On two occasions my children were rushed at by a dog in the childrens play area which scared the living daylights out of one of them so she was too traumatised to return to their play. The pool was too cold this time to swim in even though we were assured it was at the set temperature of 28% but this was not proven. To top it off the fridge in our room froze all my food and vegetables. Serves me right for travelling on Friday the 13th. Dissapointed this time unfortunatley as my first stay was of a positive one. Its so hard to find a familiar motel that suits all our requirements, i was hoping this was to be the one.
I was not aware that motels allowed dogs to be free in an area where children play, something ill be sure to ask when making a reservation elsewhere.

Room Tip: check the rules and regulations for dogs before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your first visit with us and pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade that was provided. Your second visit is of concern. We are extremely disappointed that you could not have approached Management directly, as we note that you were staying for a couple of days and nothing was even mentioned on your departure. This situation would of been very simple to rectify by us talking to the responsible dog owners. We only had one dog in house during your stay which was an old placid family friendly Labrador who is around children daily within his own family. We clearly advertise our property as "dog friendly" as families love traveling with their family pets. We vet all animals coming onto this property and only accept ones that are family friendly. Our Indoor Heated Swimming Pool is set at a constant 28 to 30 degrees, which is the same temperature as public indoor swimming pools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porirua hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed overnight with our two dogs and were thrileed to find such a helpful and warm welcome. Ideal studio with separate sitting room and bedroo opening onto enclsoed area - even doggy poo bags supplied. We are not surprised this motel had no vacancies - unlike others nearby. W e will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and high rating. It was a real pleasure hosting you and we would love to see you back sometime. Although we are a pet friendly motel we only accept 'friendly' pets under strict conditions and it was a pleasure to also host you friendly 'furry' friends. Thank you. Ross & Megan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wairoa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and my daughter and myself had the pleasure of staying here for three nights mid December 2011
Our first impressions were how clean and tidy the premises were and the two bedroom unit we shared was tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
On arrival I was surprised by the friendly welcome we received at reception and the help that was given us in finding our way to various places.
I would highly recommend this establishment and will use these facilities again when next we visit Wellington/
Brian, Deidre and Kimberly Jones
Wairoa

Room Tip: number 22 two bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words Brian. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
14.7 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#34 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Motor Lodge
Marina Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAA Mana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Mana Motel

Property: AAA Mana Motel
Address: 41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AAA Mana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AAA Mana Motel - Porirua, New Zealand. Relax and enjoy some quiet time in our pleasant sunny surrounds. Our well kept grounds and private upstairs balconies provide the perfect environment for you to relax and unwind. Even better, on a warm summer's evening, put you feet up and chill out around our on-site barbeque and picnic tables. The choice is yours. We are conveniently located just north of Porirua, on the main road to Wellington (SH1). We offer a great combination of nice and sunny units; easy access to town; and a heated swimming pool to relax in. Most importantly we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly place to stay. Our clean and sunny, 1,2 and 3 bedroom self-catering units provide a relaxing place to stay, whether for the long-term or short-term. Wireless high-speed internet access is available along with Sky TV. We deliver a great experience of good honest kiwi hospitality with well-kept facilities. Our motel accommodation is conveniently located just 5 mins north of Porirua on SH1. Being so close to Wellington City, you can quickly and easily enjoy the Capital experience, either by car or train; and just 15 mins drive to Cook Strait Ferry. We also offer off street parking outside each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AAA Mana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing