We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Porirua B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Possibly the best service I have received in a long time. Lovely rooms, clean , fresh and warm. The heaters were turned on to keep the room warm this is a home away from home,. Friendly service the owners went the extra mile

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thankyou for your lovely review - very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Motor Lodge and hope you will come and visit us again in the not to distant future.

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Modern rooms that were immaculately clean with comfy beds. The heater was turned on and the room was warm when we arrived very late at night. No problems with road noise even though it is on a busy road. Exemplary service from the hosts and a warm Wellington welcome :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thankyou for your lovely review - very much appreciated.

Would love to host you again if the need arises for accommodation in Porirua.

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Chose this accommodation because of it's proximity to the CBD & as its situated on a busy road I was surprised how quiet it is. I stayed 5 nights here so enjoyed the comfortable chairs & wee table for relaxing. An agreeable bed to my taste, fresh bedspread & comfy pillows. Also a generous ration of towels & wash cloths.
I appreciated the little things - the daily replenished biscuits to go with a cuppa and a good quality plunger coffee (although only a welcoming 1 off). Top marks for supplying a choice of daily newspaper. Thoughtful customer service in my opinion.
The only reason I didn't give the perfect score is that I thought the TV was a tad small for the size of the room & a wider range of Sky channels would have been perfection!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MornaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

An exciting trip down from Auckland to the Sevens was slightly soured by the poor customer service this motor lodge provides. Ideally we would have preferred to stay closer to the city for the Sevens, but our late accommodation arrangements lead to this sour experience.

As a professional with extensive travel experience overseas and locally, I have never encountered such impolite customer service before. On arrival at the motor lodge we were received by a very disrespectful, rude and unwelcoming host.

From the outset we were treated with suspicion. We had changed our booking from three to four guests, and although there were only ever four guests in our group, we were falsely accused of hiding an extra fifth person in our room.

As we took our luggage into our rooms, a friend opened a window and asked those of us by the car if everything was unloaded from our vehicle, only to be chastised by the owner for supposedly yelling. This was followed by a number of phone calls from the owner threatening to call the cops - IF - we were to misbehave. So there was constant suspicion, but never a grounded reason.

I do wonder if our ethnic backgrounds led to the owners unwelcoming behaviour, as I have seen other reviews comment on this. Perhaps, if we were not a group of males, travelling to Wellington during Sevens weekend, we may have been treated differently.

Heading to the Sevens was an opportunity to relax, to enjoy a fantastic sporting event in the company of good friends, and of course to watch New Zealand win! On the other hand, the motor lodge experience was reminiscent of boarding school with the all suspicious matron sneaking into your room, checking your every move and threatening to impound you.

In the end, we paid for a roof over our head, and a safe place to stay for the weekend, and this service was met, we thank you for that. Rest assured we will not be paying for your services again.

I expect a response from the owners outlining all our faults, but dear readers, beware, take heed - this is not a pleasant lodging.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thankyou for you review - we know that you were a member of the group whom wrote the review Absolutely Rude Customer Service - we will not be adding any further comments.

We are hardworking moteliers whom have had 9 years experience and were not going to let one room of 5 Unruly, loud, drunken guests upset the weekend for the other 31 rooms full of guests

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We travelled down from Auckland for the Wellington Sevens. As soon as we arrived the owner was very rude and unwelcoming warning that she would call the cops if we were too loud or moved any of the furniture. After our arrival, as we were unpacking, she proceeded to call our bedroom several times to caution us once again, that if we were to become too loud or moved any beds she would call the cops. It appears as though she had already made her mind up before we arrived, and was clearly rude throughout our stay. She may have had bad experiences with customers in the past but the behaviour was by no means appropriate towards paying guests. We had behaved in a respectful way our whole stay and had given no reason for her to be so rude and unpleasant. I see others have also commented on similar issues with the owner. We do not recommend this facility. Rude, disrespectful and inhospitable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank hiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thankyou for your review - you have failed to mention that you booked for 3 persons only and did pay for an extra person after Murray investigated. We also know that there were not 4 persons staying but there were 5. This room is for 4 persons only and it is against our Fire Regulations to have any more persons than the allocated bedding for that room. You would also not let our cleaner service the room because you knew she would have revealed to us the extra bodies that should not have been there. There was also a BOON BOX on the fridge, and all windows open in the room and loud music could be heard all over the carpark as guests were arriiving. There was also a lot of thumping on the floor and other guests were complaining about the noise. On the Saturday Evening while you were at the Rugby 7's we went up to the room to shut the open windows as it was raining and the dining table was awash with empty bottles and there were also a full bin of empties in the room also - obviously you were all getting pre-loaded on alcohol prior to going to the Rugby 7's. We like to keep a good standard of behaviour within our complex at all times and your behaviour would not have been acceptable at any motel. We however appreciate that you removed all empty bottles

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

On arrival from a long drive toward Porirua, was Not given a warm welcome!!. Helen (manager/owner) was very rude and was more concerned with her hotel furnishings, than hospitality. She was more concerned about her lamps not being broken, due to past bookings from other people "this is not my concern" & that's why you have insurance. I had to pay for my accommodation with an additional $100 for deposit due to booking with a visa debit card "travellers Beware" these rules are not clear on booking.com. She charged me room $145 + 25 (infant) + $100 (bond). Family bookings Beware, sure this place is Clean and Modern ++, but its not worth Families with children to stay at a Unaccommodating facility!!! Soooo Rude, Helen made me feel small, was not expecting that!!. No air conditioning in room, Tooo hot!

Room Tip: Select a ground floor. Make sure you have air conditioning the room was sooo hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labrina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I wonder why you have used this page to express this negative review when you have failed to read the terms and conditions of the Booking.com website. You booked this room on booking.com for two persons only and requested a downstairs suite - I emailed you and stated I could not provide you with one and you would be upstairs. I also advised you that you would be required to pay $100.00 Bond on arrival as you had used a Visa Debit Card (A Visa Debit Card is not a Credit Card) as security - our booking.com site states that you are required to pay a bond for incidentals (normally we ask for $200.00 - but only asked you for $100.00) We showed your husband the terms and conditions on our back office computer and he agreed. When you booked the room you also asked for extra towels - there were already 3 in the room (we suspected there would be extra persons more than the amount booked) You finally admitted that you had an infant and did not like paying the extra person rate of $25.00 which is clearly stated on the website. We had to shuffle guests around to provide you with a downstairs suite (inconvenienced another guest) and provided you with a portacot for the infant. I note that the room was warm - we do have pedestal fans for the guests to use, we would have supplied you with one if asked, I suggest next time you book on any website you are honest in the amount of guests you book and read the terms and conditions - moteliers do not like being deceived or cheated.

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where the terrible reviews came from as I found the staff very helpful and upfront. A nicely decorated spacious ground floor with a great bathroom. Would definitely return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZAmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our property.

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
6.3 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
10.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Belmont Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Porirua
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#2 of 3 in Porirua
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
64 reviews
4.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

Address: 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Court Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst Court Motel offers a very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. It is luxurious and spacious, having 26 studio suites, some with kitchens and spa baths, all having tea/coffee making faculties, microwaves. 1 bedroom with study & kitchen, 5 x 2 bedrooms with kitchens. Amethyst Court is ideally situated in the central business district of Porirua. Ideal stopover for ferry, with its easy access off the North/South Motorway. Complimentary broadband, breakfasts also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amethyst Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing