We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Porirua B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to tell me about hotel deals as well. The room was spotlessly clean and despite being close to the road there was absolutely no traffic noise. There was no noise from other occupants either.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thankyou for your lovely review which is very much appreciated

We hope you come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Murray & Helen Mears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and i stayed recently for two nights on a business trip. We thought the motel was modern, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. The motel was central to all our needs in the area. We enjoyed our stay and will definatly call back again if in the area.thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thankyou indri09 for your positive review which we really appreciate.

We hope you come and stay with us again in the near future.

Hopefully guests can see that the positive reviews far outweigh the negative ones and 9 times out of 10 the guests whom use this site to write negative reviews the problems are caused by themselves and not the actual persons running the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Amethyst is a modern complex so you would expect that the rooms could be warmed. Our room was a back one which looked at the cliff face. It had two heaters supplied, but even though these were both set to full on, the room was too cold to sit in at night. No extra bedding so if you don't like electric blankets, prepare for a cold night. Extra bedding may be available on request but by the time you find out, reception will be closed.

Were woken during night with the interior doors slamming. Access to rooms is via an internal hallway. No lift to second floor.

Disappointing given the age of the complex.

Room Tip: In winter months ask for a front room which should see the sun, and apparently it pays to ask for a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerpete333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thankyou for your review - You very kindly telephoned me advising that your partner would be collecting the key and you would be arriving after reception closed. Prior to your arrival, I closed your drapes, turned on your heating and also left a light on so your would not be walking into a dark room. The following morning and your next three days of stay, you did not notify management about your concerns regarding warmth even though we spoke every morning prior to you going out for the day. If you do not notify management, how are we expected to rectify the problem. If we had of known we would of quiet happily provided an extra Quilt and a larger heater. On your last night of stay, I also closed your drapes to keep the warmth in as I was aware your were coming home late , your heating was already on. You failed to mention the extra service in your review. The first time we heard about the issues were on checkout, which is too late for us to rectify the problem.
With regards to reception hours (7am-9pm) they are clearly stated on our front door and in our compendium. There is an after hours number in the compendium and on the main door we can be contacted regarding any issues - e.g. extra bedding and heating.

Hopefully you will return to Amethyst Court again.

Murray & Helen Mears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at the Amethyst Lodge for 2 weeks on my initial arrival in New Zealand. Helen and Murray were very helpful in orienting me to basic cultural changes. I was also given directions to local stores in Porirua. The rooms are equiped with many items that are considered a bonus luxury. I was impressed. The staff were really nice. The place feels really safe. I hope to see this Lodge do well as the staff went out of there way to accomodate me and make sure that I didn't arrive late to work. Also, the internet connection speed clocks at over 12Mbs every time tested. Praise. Praise.

Room Tip: Sunny Room in the Fall worked out great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thankyou Kirk for a wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge and hope you have settled into your apartment in the city.

Hope you are enjoying your time in our wonderful country.

Regards,

Murray & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Found this Motor Lodge on Tripadvisor and after reading both the good reviews and the negative reviews I decided to give it a go-was really pleased with this selection as the rooms are a good size, very clean and contain all you really need for a pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thankyou for your positive feedback regarding our Motor Lodge - we really do appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Hope you come and stay with us again on your next visit to New Zealand


Murray & Helen Mears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

always stay at the amethyst when in porirua, the rooms are comfy, the staff friendly, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thankyou for you lovely comments - we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Murray & Helen Mears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

very freindly hosts
nice quite building quite
handy to train station (saves parking hassles in wellington)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
6.3 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Belmont Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Porirua
107 reviews
3.2 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#2 of 3 in Porirua
58 reviews
4.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
52 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Motor Lodge
Fernhill Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lower Hutt
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

Address: 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range: $96 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Court Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst Court Motel offers a very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. It is luxurious and spacious, having 26 studio suites, some with kitchens and spa baths, all having tea/coffee making faculties, microwaves. 1 bedroom with study & kitchen, 5 x 2 bedrooms with kitchens. Amethyst Court is ideally situated in the central business district of Porirua. Ideal stopover for ferry, with its easy access off the North/South Motorway. Complimentary broadband, breakfasts also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amethyst Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing