We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I continue to say here again and again, i wonder why?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Porirua B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I continue to say here again and again, i wonder why?”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

have been using this property periodically for a couple of years now as a Wellington base, and it has actually got better with Murray and Helen taking the reigns last year. my earlier review stated "fantastic" , well this review will have to read "fantastic plus!"

very few accommodation complexes in the wellington region are well maintained and well managed, and amethyst court is definitely well managed and maintaned and fully warrants their 4 star plus rating.

will continue to use this lovely motel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thankyou for your wonderful review.

Since taking over the Amethyst Court Motor Lodge 18 months ago we have continued to upgrade and improve the property to keep our guests coming back.

We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best Service we possibly can.

We hope you will come and visit us again in the near future

Murray & Helen Mears
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
13
15
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mauritius
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

stayed here on a business trip to porirua for only 1 night, but everything was top notch.the room, was clean and tidy, all amenities were of a good standard and quality and the owner/operators were very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmanyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thankyou for your very nice review.

Murray & I look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Murray & Helen Mears
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The great serviced started from prompt response to enquiry about staying until we walked out the door. Lovely friendly people and a great product in a very handy location. Will definately use again and have no hesitation in recommending.
The only thing i would suggest is a hook in the bathroom and some bigger cups. Other than that all was truly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at the Amethyst for a period of two months and found this to be a great motel. I stay in a number of motels for business and believed this to be at the level of the best i have stayed in. The operators were very friendly and went out of their way to deliver great service.
When i return to Porirua for business i will ensure this is where i stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n-jacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Murray & I really appreciate your positive feedback.

Hope you come an stay at the Amethyst Court Motor Lodge in the near future.


Murray & Helen Mears
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Amethyst Court Motor Lodge is a very fine Motel.

I did not find one thing the criticise about this place.
It was neat and clean, the rooms were well set out and the little extras like soaps, shampoos, gels, tea coffee, sugar etc were all there in abundance.

The shower, while being eco friendly was a good experience, towels were clean and a pleasure to use.

The staff were friendly and helpful, even waking up at 1:30AM to let us in with a cheery face and attitude.

Overall a very comfortable place to stay and very affordable.... Just 20 Minutes from the Capital, Wellington.

Saveytraveller

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saveytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Murray & I would like to thank you for this positive feedback and hope you both enjoyed your short time in New Zealand.

Murray & Helen Mears
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Terrible, unprofessional hosts that need to go on some sort of course to learn how to look after their guests.

1. Some personal bathroom toiletries went missing from our room while were were away from the motel. When we reported this to the owners they became upset and implied we were calling their staff thieves.

2. The owners objected to us supplying and eating our own meals at their motel i.e. breakfast.

3. My work place had informed the motel my husband would be accompanying me. The owners did not like my husband being with me, and accused me of not informing them.

Terrible hosts, who need training to become competent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
This was a group reservation made via a Travel Agent, the group were booked into mainly two bedroom suites and the guest who has written this review was also booked into a two bedroom suite sharing with one other lady. The guest telephoned her friend and said that she would be bringing her husband and the lady that she was sharing with did not want to share with the married couple. We then had to get in touch with the travel agent who was totally unaware of the extra person and arrange new vouchers for the group booking.

We asked the guest to pay the extra person rate for her husband as her employer gets a special discounted rate for 1 person in the suite
We were informed of a razor and not toiletries as stated by the guests husband missing on check out only after we request they pay the extra person rate at the end of the 2nd day of stay.
The husband happily paid the extra person charge and was smiling & happy when he departed. The cleaner and myself searched the suite for the missing razor but it was not found

The group was not supplying their own food but using an outside caterer to bring breakfast into our complex, which we feel is totally unprofessional when we cater our own breakfasts. I do not know of any other motel who would allow an outside caterer for a group to bring in breakfast.

Murray & Helen
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Nice motel, though we were charged an additional 10% on the meals that were ordered in (9 meals for our group, so a fair-sized additional cost) - by the motel, not the restaurant concerned.

On querying this, I was told it's standard motel practice - I've never encountered it before, and in any case would have expected to have been told in advance, when I asked them for a restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackrabbit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
The 10% Surcharge applies only to meals charged back to our complex and this is stated in our compendium.
The compendium requests that if a guest is wanting to charge back the meal charge, management is to be notified. - in this case we were not advised about the chargeback.

When advised about a chargeback then we advise the guest of the 10% surcharge (the fee covers management expenses e.g. cleaning up of restaurant dishes, credit card commissions etc) in case any guest has not read the compendium.

Even though your group were unhappy with regards to the meal surcharge we thankyou for recommending our complex as a place to stay.

Murray & Helen Mears
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porirua
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Belmont Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.2 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.7 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#9 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Motor Lodge
Fernhill Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

Property: Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Address: 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Court Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst Court Motel offers a very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. It is luxurious and spacious, having 26 studio suites, some with kitchens and spa baths, all having tea/coffee making faculties, microwaves. 1 bedroom with study & kitchen, 5 x 2 bedrooms with kitchens. Amethyst Court is ideally situated in the central business district of Porirua. Ideal stopover for ferry, with its easy access off the North/South Motorway. Complimentary broadband, breakfasts also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amethyst Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing