We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cote de Blanc” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant les Avises

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avize
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant les Avises
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avize
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cote de Blanc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A visit to Hotel Restaurant les Avises is a must if one is covering Cote de Blanc. Its possible to meet Anselme Selosse on Sat and Monday nights for an informal tasting. Unfortunately the hotel was sold out on Monday night so we went there for lunch.
It is beautifully done up, very chic. The restaurant has a very intimate trendy feel with its open kitchen and friendly chef. An excellent selection of champagnes. The food was a let down but we would certainly go back because no visit to the Cote de Blancs is complete without a visit to Les Avises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajivkehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    25
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
81
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband is a champagne fanatic and booked a room here in the hopes of meeting Anselme Selosse. We were told that the restaurant would be closed that night because Anselme was having a private party for his friends. Later, we were informed that hotel guests would be allowed to attend the dinner (at an incredibly reasonable price)--a "Diner Quatre Mains" prepared by Les Avisés chef Stéphane Rossillon and visiting chef Jean Sulpice, which consisted of 11 truly amazing courses accompanied by Selosse champagnes--the best meal I have had in my life! And of course my husband was thrilled to be able to chat with Anselme (and check out the kitchen--he's a fanatical gourmet cook, too). I do not know how dinner at the restaurant compares on "ordinary" days, but breakfast the next morning was excellent as well. The hotel itself is first-rate: comfortable, charming, tastefully decorated. Loved the tub. ;) I highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting the champagne region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyousTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at the Jacques Selosse's house in early July after a tough 800 km road in heavy trafic. It was like arriving in an island after a tempest. Nothing has been spared to refurbish and furnish the house. The room was tastefuly decorated and comfortable in spite of the lack of...heating after a terribly humid spring. So the room was a bit too fresh for us and no heating was available. The night was very calm and relaxing. The restaurant is of a high level with its inventive cooking based on products available on the daily fresh market. The chief cultivates his own aromatic plants on the terrace of the restaurant which I find charming. A special mention for the outdoor furniture, one of the most searched after and original that I know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were highly recommended to les Avises by other champagne lovers, and even though it is only open from Thursday to the weekend, it was well worth staying and eating here.
We stayed on the first floor, and carrying a suitcase upstairs is a minor effort to make for the stylish and light - filled room, with deluxe toiletries and other gifts, and a stunning bathroom.
Reception itself is only a small room off the parking area next to the winery, but reception staff were always very friendly and helpful, even bringing a mobile upstairs to enable a local winemaker to catch up with me.
The lounge is perfect for sharing a champagne aperitif, or after dinner relaxation. Nathalie handled the restaurant service with competent charm, and it is interesting to watch Stephane in the open kitchen. They handled my wife's dairy free and gluten intolerance needs without hesitation, and her meal was even better than ours!. Naturally the wine list is fascinating, with Selosse champagnes which are normally very difficult to obtain, and a range of other local growers champagnes. We had dinner with another Avize champagne maker, and she was very impressed with the meal.
Breakfast was extensive, including great egg options, served again with a warm welcome by Nathalie. You may be able to buy a bottle of the Selosse wines by asking at reception, and if you are staying in house Anselme provides an extensive tasting at certain times.
Both the hotel and restaurant are exemplary, and it is worth making a special effort to reserve a stay and meal here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Champagne_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay in this Champagne Region hotel.

We had the room called "Cheers" which is on the ground floor with its own terrace.

First thing to note is that check-in is not until 4:00 pm. We had arrived from Australia that mornign and then driven to the hotel. We arrived about 2:00 pm and ready for some down time. The initial greeting was a bit gruff but they then worked to get the rooms ready and we could have some time to relax. Very much appreciated.

The rooms have a bit of French flair and touches of Danish furniture and worked very nicely. Very high quality fittings throughout and lovely L'Occitane toiletries. The bathroom is a little exposed to the outside world if you have your curtains open, so beware!

Wierdest thing was that to access the toilet you had to go through the cupbord. Why the door was not placed in the bathroom I will never know!

Breakfast in the restaurant is wonderful. Some beautiful fresh local ingredients are served with charm. The bread and pastries were to die for and eggs are available to order. For the 20 euros it is well worth it.

We also dined in the restuarant and the food is also very good. Couple of minor details that could be improved but overall it was excellent.

Highly recommend staying here but note that it is some distance form the main champagne houses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I Stayed at the hotel on April 4th on my own. The hotel was almost booked out with people from Scandinavia, Germany, the US..... The room was very large and luxurious in this huge Napoleon style "manoir" which Anselme and Corinne Selosse renovated with true tastes. Interesting thing to emphasize is the way the dinner is set depending on the ingredients available on the day (good for foodies!). The small and intimate dining room is a great venue to share wine and food experiences with guests never met before. While I was on my own, 2 german couples invited me to join them to share a glass which ended emptying 3 bottles of wine carefully selected by Anselme.
Due to the location, the hotel might be better enjoyed when the weather gets better (starting from April) as the beginning and end of the year are dead touristic seasons. Furthermore, due to French laws, the hotel staffs MUST take 2 days off per week, reason for the hotel to be closed on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Room Tip: Avize being located in the heart of the Cote des blancs, the village is very quiet so either looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JolRoutard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for one night in January after visiting several champagne houses nearby. The facility is quite nice-particularly beautiful in the snow. Our room was very luxurious and the beds incredibly comfortable and tidy. We were the only ones staying there that night (much of the region seems to shut down in January) and we were treated like family. We had dinner in the restaurant (some locals were eating there too--always a good sign) and the husband/wife duo serving us and running the kitchen (Stephane and Nathale) could not have been nicer. Our daughter does not tolerate seafood and so the chef took her into the kitchen to figure out what she would like to have in place of the seafood components of the price fixe menu. The dinner was very nice and the wine selection was excellent. I also appreciate that the prices on the wine were quite reasonable. Try one of the estate champagnes while you are there as they are quite good and difficult to find. If you get a chance to talk with the guy who makes the champagne (Anselme) then you are in for a real treat. He very generously took the time to talk with our daughter (an aspiring winemaker) and she was blown away. We would definitely recommend this place is you want modern amenities matched up with a lot of old world charm.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the freestanding rooms (not in the main house) and it was quite nice and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avize
9.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.7 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant les Avises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant les Avises

Property: Hotel Restaurant les Avises
Address: 59 rue de Cramant, 51190 Avize, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Avize
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avize
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant les Avises 4*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing