We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant summer holiday, great beach location”
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son Parc
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As a family of three adults we returned to the Beach Club Son Parc approx 14 years after going there with our two children. Not alot has changed in and around this resort and this made our return trip all the more pleasant. Reception gave a friendly welcome and were very helpful throughout our stay. It no longer has the childrens club or entertainment- not that we needed it - so entertaining young children means that parents have to be prepared. There is entertainment provided at Sol Parc Hotal and although we didn't go, whenever we walked past it looked lively. The rooms were clean and comfortable and well appointed with all the bits and pieces you might need. They were cleaned on a regular basis and clean sheets and towels were provided. Make sure you budget for air conditioning, much needed in August! We had accomodation overlooking the sea on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked with plenty of choice. The on site shop was well stocked and provided us with all we needed for lunch and snacks. We hired a car and my husband found driving quite easy as the roads around the island were only busy in and around the two cities - Mahon and Citadella. Quite reasonable rates and this means we saw alot of the island and tested many beaches - some quite remote! Although in all honesty, nothing really compares with the beach and swallow sea that the hotel overlooks. The pool is a little chilly but a welcome relief when its hot. Not crowded around the pool and with a separate childrens are. We would return in an instant and it was only by chance that I found the hotel whilst searching the net.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 538 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just stayed one week there and it was great! Everyone is nice especially with children (we have 2 children of 6 and 3), the buffet was very good and varied every evenings and the beach of Son Saura is really beautifull! The pool was a little bit too cold for me but my children not, they have stayed for hours in it! I hope I will go back there once...
Marie M. , Lausanne, Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This resort is in an ideal location. Although a car is an advantage there is a bus service to the door and the island is so small you can easily cover it on the bus. The resort has excellent views, especially from the buffet room across Son Saura beach. The apartment was basic and a bit tired but spotless. It had a beautiful view across a small bay and along the coast. We had half board and the food was varied, plentiful and of a high standard. It was good to be able to watch your chosen items cooked fresh by the chef in the buffet room. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The pool was small and basic but we didn't spend much time there. We didn't go to the evening "entertainment" which seemed to be aimed at the German and Italian groups. We would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Tony551723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Beach Club and will definitely return next year for a longer stay. The apartment was cleaned every two days and clean sheets and towels were provided each time. The whole area is very family friendly and quiet at night. The pool area is lovely and is well maintained. The staff at the resort are really helpful, particularly the lady at Reception on night shift. The beach is beautiful and safe for children as the sea is shallow for quite a distance. Son Parc itself is a peaceful resort, containing only two other hotels. The Main Street is a 10 minute walk from Beach Club and has several good quality shops and restaurants. Pino Mar restaurant was particularly good. If you plan on staying for longer than a week, hiring a car is a good idea in order to explore the rest of the island. I would recommend the Beach Club to anyone with children under 12 and to couples.

Room Tip: Request a poolside apartment.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soozie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We travelled in July as a family with two small children, aged 3 and 1. Firstly, the aparthotel. Clean, comfortable, plenty of crockery, beautiful view. We were sea facing, I think bay facing would have got you evening sun where as we had it first thing until around 2pm. A minor detail and each to their own. Nice roomy balcony. We were self catering as don't really 'do' all inc buffets. The kitchenette had electric rings, microwave, large fridge freezer. Adequate for holiday needs/small kiddies. We ate in and took away from the Beach Club bar restaurant. The pizza and paella was very good indeed. The kids meals were good, the rest of the food OK (grilled meat/fish/salads) The drinks (especially Pomada) very nice indeed, reasonable and the view over the beach stunning place for sundowners. The on site Spa well stocked (as was the one in town) very good value for both local food (imports obv dearer) and alcohol. Fresh bread/pastries daily. The pool area was clean, a nice temperature and was never crowded with such a lovely beach so close by. Reception staff v helpful and knowlegable, though they were busy and could have done with one more lady perhaps. Towels changed every other day, bedding twice. There was a kids club, beach games tournaments and a gym none of which we used so cannot comment.
The beach was accessed several ways, one of which was just by the hotel (some steps) The sand was clean, sea shallow and blue. Pedalos etc We took our own sun tent but if you need a parasol they seemed cheap enough in town instead of paying daily down there.
The town/village was less than 10min walk away. There is a park, play area in shady pines with football nets etc for older kids. In town there is a 'strip' of bars and restaurants but not all were open at the same time. Makes sense i guess as we were slightly off season. Always somewhere to eat and drink. A pizza of tapas bars, pizza, Chinese, traditional restaurants and English 'pub' type places. We enjoyed tapas upstairs at Sagittarius Bon something or another (you see it) good staples; meatballs, tomato bread, prawns, patatas bravas, beef carpaccio etc Also the cocktails/g&ts along at pura Vida (or suchlike - the place with a kids play park) were very nice, excellent gin (island speciality) V nice staff. Pinomar looked nice for food (also did take away) but we just had a drink and snack.
The resort is mainly European (italian and german) but we liked that, very good atmosphere. Bus to fornells, mahon, es mercadel (via cala tirant) frequently from outside hotel. We walked along the cliff to arenell, then taxi'd back. Taxi from airport 40 E including tip. Hired a car for one day to visit a friend elsewhere on island was 70E including 2 kids seats. Depends on how much exploring you want to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great beach location – with lots of space – perfect sand and water. Well kept and wonderful garden and surroundings. Ok, apartments with good space and most have some sea view as there is sea around the hotel. True about the many ants, but these are very small ones, no problem and simply a natural phenomenon as the hotel is located in a real nature area. There are also few goats around outside the hotel, very active in the mornings.
Very good half-board buffet with healthy food choices in good quality – somewhat crowded in high season but still good. There are 3 types of country wines and draft beer included in the buffet. You can order this day by day at the reception.
Son Parc is very quiet location with no shopping – except 3 small Spar markets. Do not think there is any night life here. Entertainment at Beach Club is not the best, but there is some Italian oriented. Still you will notice and like the 4 Italian animators joking around the hotel with the miniclub, daily beach volley, friendly attitudes and homemade performances.
The public bus system is good for exploring the western part of Menorca. For that we did not need a rented car. Also note that taxi is cheap and the distances on Menorca are quite small. Fornells is only 16 EUR away by taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Heisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed with family for 13 nights from July 2nd 2013 clean functional rooms 175 and 177 ground floor looking out onto Swimming Pool. Sheets and towels changed every other day decor and furniture jaded. The place was very popular with the Italians and other nationalities didn't get a look in. Evening entertainment was provided by Italian Animation team who would also descend on the Dining Room morning and evening back slapping their countrymen , kissing small children , shouting " Bonjourno " to all and sundry and generally being annoying. Rooms are poorly soundproofed and wooden furniture scraping along floors and toilets being flushed regularly disturb your slumbers , along with noisy inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms late at night ( Sadly the Italians were the guilty party - unable to conduct a quiet conversation even if their lives depended on it !).

We stayed on a Half Board basis and the food was " interesting " ( stated with a hint of irony ). Pasta every evening to cater for the Italians and such local delicacies as " Dogfish " and one evening we were served up a main course consisting of Brussel Sprouts and diced ham, which didn't appear anywhere in my Berlitz Travel Guide as a traditional Menorcan dish ! The Dining Room is air conditioned and the adjoining west facing outside dining terrace is unbearably hot so if my Review hasn't put you off and you do stay here then eat indoors. On the plus side the salad and fresh fruit were good , and we did enjoy three decent main dishes during our stay - Roast Leg of Pork , Veal Casserole and a Beef Curry ).

Swimming Pool was kept clean and the water reached a reasonable temperature , the paved area around it was faded and required a makeover. Sunbeds were fixed in the horizontal position and unless you were stretched out sunbathing , were uncomfortable. Sun Parasols shoddy looked like they had been acquired from a Car Boot Sale. Jacuzzi adjacent to main Pool was only to be used by Adults daily between 1100 hrs and 1300 hrs then 1600 hrs to 1900 hrs , rules which were enthusiastically enforced by the Scary Lady who ran the Poolside Refreshment Bar. On site shop is open daily 0830 hrs to 2030 hrs and guests receive a 7% discount , it carries a wide range of goods which should cater for everyone.

After dinner there is a VIP Lounge where you can sit in comfortable loungers and watch the sun go down with a coffee , cocktail or beer to hand. Hotel Staff were generally polite and efficient although one of the waitresses serving in the VIP Lounge had been on a Customer Alienation Course judging by her miserable demeanour.

The Beach is easily accessed from the Hotel and is typical of many Menorcan beaches - clean white sands shallow water to about 100 metres from shore - Pedalos for hire at 12 Euros for one hour and two sun loungers / one parasol at 15 Euros for the day or 10 Euros after 1400 hours. Pedalos seat four and have an integral slide into the sea which is great fun for children and adults alike.

A Hire Car is essential to get around the Island as public transport is adequate but in the absence of a Coastal Highway then numerous bus changes are required to reach your destination ( There is a direct service to Mahon from Son Parc - 2.30 Euros single for an adult , under threes travel free - the coaches are clean ,modern and punctual but don't run into the evening ). Hiring a car from the UK would probably be cheaper than in resort - worth checking out before you leave. Menorca is only 30 miles from west to east and twelve miles north to south , its roads are well maintained , well signposted and not too busy with traffic. There are plenty of beaches , historical sites and the two main towns to visit. Monte Toro in the centre of the island is worth a visit for the winding mountain road and stupendous views at the summit. A visit to the Shop is a must if only to check out the " Armani " watches at 12 Euros each - clearly Trading Standards Officers don't visit too often !

Overall Menorca is a lovely island and worth a visit however Son Parc Beach Club has seen better days and needs some TLC to bring it back to a reasonable standard. Although the present Recession that Spain is experiencing will ensure that isn't likely to happen anytime soon. The World has become a smaller place and the likes of Cuba and Mexico are overtaking the old favourites in the popular destination stakes.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms overlooking the Beach or Bay should offer a more peaceful option depending on Occupan...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnyl504009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Parc
10.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
1.4 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,731 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,295 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,336 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: Vial D'arenal, 07740 Son Parc, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Son Parc
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son Parc
Price Range: $47 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Beach Club Hotel Son Parc
Confortel Beach Hotel
Beach Club Son Parc, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing