We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location and good hotel”
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son Parc
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great beach location and good hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great beach location – with lots of space – perfect sand and water. Well kept and wonderful garden and surroundings. Ok, apartments with good space and most have some sea view as there is sea around the hotel. True about the many ants, but these are very small ones, no problem and simply a natural phenomenon as the hotel is located in a real nature area. There are also few goats around outside the hotel, very active in the mornings.
Very good half-board buffet with healthy food choices in good quality – somewhat crowded in high season but still good. There are 3 types of country wines and draft beer included in the buffet. You can order this day by day at the reception.
Son Parc is very quiet location with no shopping – except 3 small Spar markets. Do not think there is any night life here. Entertainment at Beach Club is not the best, but there is some Italian oriented. Still you will notice and like the 4 Italian animators joking around the hotel with the miniclub, daily beach volley, friendly attitudes and homemade performances.
The public bus system is good for exploring the western part of Menorca. For that we did not need a rented car. Also note that taxi is cheap and the distances on Menorca are quite small. Fornells is only 16 EUR away by taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_Heisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    198
    118
    50
    43
See reviews for
207
204
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed with family for 13 nights from July 2nd 2013 clean functional rooms 175 and 177 ground floor looking out onto Swimming Pool. Sheets and towels changed every other day decor and furniture jaded. The place was very popular with the Italians and other nationalities didn't get a look in. Evening entertainment was provided by Italian Animation team who would also descend on the Dining Room morning and evening back slapping their countrymen , kissing small children , shouting " Bonjourno " to all and sundry and generally being annoying. Rooms are poorly soundproofed and wooden furniture scraping along floors and toilets being flushed regularly disturb your slumbers , along with noisy inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms late at night ( Sadly the Italians were the guilty party - unable to conduct a quiet conversation even if their lives depended on it !).

We stayed on a Half Board basis and the food was " interesting " ( stated with a hint of irony ). Pasta every evening to cater for the Italians and such local delicacies as " Dogfish " and one evening we were served up a main course consisting of Brussel Sprouts and diced ham, which didn't appear anywhere in my Berlitz Travel Guide as a traditional Menorcan dish ! The Dining Room is air conditioned and the adjoining west facing outside dining terrace is unbearably hot so if my Review hasn't put you off and you do stay here then eat indoors. On the plus side the salad and fresh fruit were good , and we did enjoy three decent main dishes during our stay - Roast Leg of Pork , Veal Casserole and a Beef Curry ).

Swimming Pool was kept clean and the water reached a reasonable temperature , the paved area around it was faded and required a makeover. Sunbeds were fixed in the horizontal position and unless you were stretched out sunbathing , were uncomfortable. Sun Parasols shoddy looked like they had been acquired from a Car Boot Sale. Jacuzzi adjacent to main Pool was only to be used by Adults daily between 1100 hrs and 1300 hrs then 1600 hrs to 1900 hrs , rules which were enthusiastically enforced by the Scary Lady who ran the Poolside Refreshment Bar. On site shop is open daily 0830 hrs to 2030 hrs and guests receive a 7% discount , it carries a wide range of goods which should cater for everyone.

After dinner there is a VIP Lounge where you can sit in comfortable loungers and watch the sun go down with a coffee , cocktail or beer to hand. Hotel Staff were generally polite and efficient although one of the waitresses serving in the VIP Lounge had been on a Customer Alienation Course judging by her miserable demeanour.

The Beach is easily accessed from the Hotel and is typical of many Menorcan beaches - clean white sands shallow water to about 100 metres from shore - Pedalos for hire at 12 Euros for one hour and two sun loungers / one parasol at 15 Euros for the day or 10 Euros after 1400 hours. Pedalos seat four and have an integral slide into the sea which is great fun for children and adults alike.

A Hire Car is essential to get around the Island as public transport is adequate but in the absence of a Coastal Highway then numerous bus changes are required to reach your destination ( There is a direct service to Mahon from Son Parc - 2.30 Euros single for an adult , under threes travel free - the coaches are clean ,modern and punctual but don't run into the evening ). Hiring a car from the UK would probably be cheaper than in resort - worth checking out before you leave. Menorca is only 30 miles from west to east and twelve miles north to south , its roads are well maintained , well signposted and not too busy with traffic. There are plenty of beaches , historical sites and the two main towns to visit. Monte Toro in the centre of the island is worth a visit for the winding mountain road and stupendous views at the summit. A visit to the Shop is a must if only to check out the " Armani " watches at 12 Euros each - clearly Trading Standards Officers don't visit too often !

Overall Menorca is a lovely island and worth a visit however Son Parc Beach Club has seen better days and needs some TLC to bring it back to a reasonable standard. Although the present Recession that Spain is experiencing will ensure that isn't likely to happen anytime soon. The World has become a smaller place and the likes of Cuba and Mexico are overtaking the old favourites in the popular destination stakes.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms overlooking the Beach or Bay should offer a more peaceful option depending on Occupan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnyl504009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Son Parc hotels

Doenrade, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

hotel was very outdated, loud, and unappealing. the restaurant was awful, no variety, no options, very disappointing. the pool was the best part and even that was no more then average. the beach next to the hotel was ok, but we drove to numerous others that were better, rent a car because there is very little to do in this area. we could not have picked a worse hotel in my opinion it is very hard too believe that anyone would rate this even average.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Third Visit, again great Holiday. Perfect Location, less than 100 yards to the sandy Beach.Rooms basic but clean. Limited choice of restaurants in the resort of Son Parc, but for a week or two stay this really is no problem. Beach club's clients are generally a mix of Italian, German & English and the atmosphere is good.Beach is fantastic with gently sloping sands making it great for swimming.

Room Tip: 1st Floor Son Saura Beach view Rooms provide a Balcony overlooking the cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabba1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 1 week with my husband and two small children (1,5 and 3,5 years old) in Menorca in San Park hotel mid September 2012. We were on a full pansion plus basis.

Hotel:
Perfect location, 5 mins walk from the beach. Resort was very calm, in mid September there were mostly families with small children and pensioners. There were no parties, loud music so it was ideal for us.
There must have been less guests than in main season as there was no Kid's animation which we missed a lot especially when it was so windy for 2 days, we had to stay in the appartment.
There are 3 pools in the resort. Water was ice cold, pool area very old-fashioned and in need of renovation.
There is a playground as well. It is very small, it is rather for really young kids.
Room was a family appartment: living room, bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom, balcony. Size of the appartment OK. Kitchenette equipped with new fridge and microwave. Furniture was quite shabby, bed matrasse old and smelly... Cleaning lady came only in every 2-3 days. Quality is rather a 2 star hotel's quality.

Food:
Wide variaty of tasty food, including nice sea food every day. Thematic evening every night at the restaurant (Sangria night, pancakes night, etc) but this only meant special food, no concert, or other show. One negativ experience: coffee machine was not to be used at lunchtime. Other beverage was included.

Beach:
Very close to the hotel, very nice, clean, sandy beach in a little gulf. Cost guard available. Sea really clean.Shallow water so perfect location for small children.

All in all, this is rather a budget hotel, price not too high and you get what you pay for. I would recommend this hotel for families with small children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Beach Club the last week in September and had a wonderful time. The facilities are excellent and the apartments are well maintained and equipped; ideal for those wanting a self-catering holiday as we did. We did not try the restaurant as we routinely had our main meal of the day in the mid-afternoon at different restaurants and cafes while exploring the island. -- The Beach Club staff were excellent; very courteous and friendly; in particular Anna at the front desk and the Director, Encarna, who were very helpful and supportive while assisting us with our room selection. -- The location of the Beach Club is outstanding. The Hotel is situated at the end of a high peninsular jutting out into the sea with terrific views from all sides. The U-shaped complex was constructed with the open end of the “U” facing the end of the peninsular so that the apartments on the inside of the “U” face the swimming pools with side views off the balconies looking toward the sea. All of the apartments on the outside of the “U” have views; one side faces Eastward toward the sea, coastline and sunrise; the other side faces Westward toward the bay, beach and sunset. The apartments on end tips of the “U” primarily overlook the end of the peninsular, facing out to the sea. However, be aware that the painted concrete pathways and steps within the complex can get very slippery when wet, particularly if you are barefooted or wearing smooth rubber sole sandals/flip-flops. - The beach itself is excellent, with white sand backing onto high, grassy sand dunes. It is ideal for family swimming because the bay is mostly sheltered from the open winds of the sea and the water is shallow (going up to about adult waist high) for a very considerable distance off the beach line and with a fine sandy bottom. Conveniently, there is a separate, casual restaurant/bar at the far end of the beach – We found the Beach Club to be ideally situated for exploring the island. It is located at about the middle of the island, on the North coast, with easy and timely access to everywhere along well maintained roads. The interior of the island, and most of the North coastline, is refreshingly undeveloped with many acres of green forest and farmland and a majestic coastline. We recommend that you budget for a rental car in order to fully appreciate all that the island has to offer, including quaint seaside villages, outstanding beaches, ancient ruins, old military forts, Ciudadella old town, and the breath-taking 360-degree views of the island from the top of Monte Toro. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topas483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back yesterday, so sad we had to leave. This was our 4th holiday in Son Parc and 3rd stay at Beach Club. We e mail adeah and ask for same or similar room, the views are amazing. People are friendly nothing is 2 much trouble. In my opinion you get what you pay for and for what you get at Beach club you cannot go wrong. The onsite supermarket opens at 8.30am and he bakes fresh bread everyday, which was lovely with a little butter and jam for a light brekkie, sitting on your balcony listening to waves gently lapping against the beach. I miss it aready! Will deffo be going back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view of the beach, beautiful sunsets! Also ground floor is a better option if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManDebKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Parc
1.5 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,661 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
18.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,494 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,299 reviews
16.0 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Property: Beach Club
Address: Vial D'arenal, 07740 Son Parc, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Son Parc
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son Parc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Beach Club Hotel Son Parc
Confortel Beach Hotel
Beach Club Son Parc, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing