We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget last minute break - great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Parc Apartments
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Budget last minute break - great”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked on the Friday morning, went on the Monday! Sol Parc is an apartment complex clearly intended for families but quiet at this time of year (reputed to be closing next week for the season) - fabulous value for half board booked as a late deal - buffet style meals with reasonable choice and salad, in almost what almost resembled a giant playroom in the sister hotel opposite - if you want exquisite cuisine this is not really the place to come - however we were delighted with the relatively large swimming pool, cool water temperature, and proximity to the sand dunes of Son Parc beach which are largely unspoilt by the usual tower block architecture which has tended to ruin the Balearics. There are some curious caged birds within the complex, which somewhat added to the illusion you were in a forest. . Quite unseasonably hot temperatures for end of Sept/early Oct, made sleep a little difficult, as no aircon available - this may be a problem in high summer. Most apartments appear to be standardised with kitchenette and balcony. The fact that the complex is geared towards the German/Dutch market, rather than the English, is only a problem for xenophobes. The evening 'entertainment' was hardly a strong point to put it mildly, although staff were clearly doing their best, and again this was only an issue if your holiday tends to revolve around the expectation to be entertained. This is not a 4* or 5* complex, and doesn't pretend to be so. Staff friendly and obliging, particularly at reception.This is a lovely area of Menorca, with access to the Cami de Cavells footway which circumnavigates the entire island, and within easy bus reach of Mao, the capital and Fornells fishing port, another beautiful area.

Room Tip: Most of the complex is overlooked by pine trees, ie quite shady, or spooky, whatever your take on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimbikerun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    137
    76
    35
    21
See reviews for
151
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After reading tripadvisor reviews on this hotel, we booked this holiday not expecting anything too upmarket. What we found, once we'd been around the expansive grounds a few times in the dark, as it was so poorly signposted, was a very basic but clean apartment. Breakfast is ok, if you enjoy having your bacon and under cooked eggs lobbed on your plate by a very hot and exasperated cook !!!!!, first evening meal was lovely with a good choice, but after that, the next three nights meat choice was chicken wings/thighs !!!!. That all said, for families and couples this is a lovely peaceful resort, set in lovely surroundings. The beach is a 5 min walk down a steep but safe walkway, not too good for those with breathing / mobility problems though. The bay is beautiful and the water calm and shallow, which is ideal for children. A short bus ride to Fornells is well worth a visit, very beautiful and quiet harbour, although we didn't see any sign of a beach, so don't pack your bucket and spade. All in all we had a very peaceful holiday in a beautiful location but I would advise you to go for the bed n breakfast option and then enjoy a meal at any of the off site restaurants., although the choice is limited. There a 2 well maintained pools on site, though we didn't use them. Please don't come and expect great entertainment as it was very basic and aimed towards children. We would come back but definitely not all inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Son Parc hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked an all inclusive holiday at Sol Parc for a family of 4 in June for £1500. Excellent value. We used Travel Republic who were four hundred pounds cheaper than the travel agent in town who tried to book through Jet2 holidays. Having read the reviews we had fairly low expectations. Yes, the apartments are basic, and there are some ants but the advantages far outweighed the negatives. First of all there are 3 salt water pools that were immaculately clean. (Nice not to be washing chorine off a 2 and 4 year old every day) The apartments are built around the trees which is fie as you can choose sun or shade. The absolute gem is the gorgeous, child-friendly, beach just ten minutes walk. It is possible to load your buggy and get down there for the day.The all catering option is problematic as the kitchens in the apartments look ancient. I'm sure you'll be eating out or heating up lots of baked beans! The all inclusive was fine but repetitive towards the end of the week as they usually are. There is an excellent family run Chinese restaurant opposite the hotel if you fancy a change.
There was hardly any British holiday makers there. A lot of Swiss, Dutch and German people that meant a fairly calm, quiet atmosphere. One German couple quietly donated their parasol and sun mats to us as they were leaving.
This is not a five star resort but if you go with realistic expectations and want to be close to the beach then go for it.

Room Tip: go for first floor or the apartments near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiebev40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just back from a week at Sol Parc Apartments, the apartment was basic but clean and looked like it had recently been re painted. Kitchen was basic with fridge, hob, kettle, microwave and toaster. First few nights were very hot and the fan was no substitute for the lack of aircon. Booked room only so didn't try any of the on site food, the local restaurants were limited but Bar Rex and the Half Moon were both friendly and super food. Super markets stocked everything needed for snacks etc. Pool was clean and not too crowded but mainly in the shade.
Walk to the beach took about 5 mins and was not disappointing, shallow water for a long way with life guards patrolling when the waves did get up, ideal for all ages(buy a parasol from supermarket) Resort is fine although quiet even at peak time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Love these apartments. Beautiful beach, lovely pool area and brilliant village style resort. I found these apartments very nice and clean. It has easy access to the beach which is lovely. Its a great place for families and couples looking to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowmarket
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best beach Ive ever seen, shame cannot be said about Son Prc Apartments . Whole place need updating we went self catering ,your supplied with a double hobb which takes ages to WARM up and again ages to cool down. also supplied with kettle and toaster but only one socket to plug them in.. The whole complex is covered with pine trees so if youve booked a holiday to keep out of the sun this is the place for you.
The resort is deadly quiet we went in late June early July sat in the bar on the main strip!!!! and only 8 people passed us all evening.

Apart from the beach Rex's Bar owned by Marcus was by far the best place to go ,good food and good company . Would go again but will stay well clear of Son Parc Apartments

Room Tip: Dont choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haughley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having booked a last minute holiday Menorca was recommended as a low-key, relaxed and quite location.
The Island was beautiful and everything was excellent, calm relaxing without the hustle and bustle of the usual holiday resorts.
Son Parc apartments were really all that was available peak-season and last minute but it was placed in a great location with fantastic beaches, coves, walks and coast-line.
It was very basic and as its set in pine woodland you will expect the odd ant or insect. The facilities were fine but not modern particularly good for children and the staff were very family orientated. I was please it was multi-cultural as we mixed with Europeans and not the usual Brit-pack.
One gripe we had dressed for dinner and decided to dine in the restaurant on site, we were asked to go to reception to buy a ticket, we attempted this but due to being very busy we returned and told the staff we would like to pay here or could they ring through our details etc. We were shown to a table and presented with a complimentary glass of champagne (Cava) and began to dine.
The owner of the holiday resort later appeared and removed our drinks and asked us to leave exclaiming we were cheating him without a ticket.
I had to grasp his arm firmly and asked him in an assertive but polite manner to speak to his staff before he ever tried to embarrass us again.
He returned and was very sympathetic and because he was so rude he allowed us a discount and presented us with a bottle of champagne.
Menorca is a wonderful Island with stunning scenery; it has many hidden beaches and coves that can only be accessed by foot or boat so you can have a beach all to yourself.
We took a trip to Fornells Harbour and quay on August bank holiday, there was hardly anyone around, so calm and relaxed in the late morning sun, we hired a kayak and went into the natural harbour which was alive with marine plants and wildlife, so many little coves and sandy mini-beaches it was idyllic. We landed on a little quay with a very old boat-house for refreshments and were struck by the amazing setting. Later we enjoyed drinks and snacks at the village square which had plenty of people enjoying the atmosphere and weather but it was still, calm, quiet and very friendly.
One very positive point there appeared to be no mosquitoes as the Island has an insect control program.
A perfect holiday and one that always remains in my heart.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Culture-Zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Parc
0.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Son Parc
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,590 reviews
2.6 mi away
TRH Tirant Playa
TRH Tirant Playa
#5 of 5 in Fornells
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,108 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
3.3 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Parc Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Parc Apartments

Property: Sol Parc Apartments
Address: Urb. Son Parc, H-1, 07740 Son Parc, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Son Parc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Son Parc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Parc Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Parc Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Sol Parc Hotel Son Parc
Confortel Sol Parc Mercadal
Confortel Sol Parc Hotel Mercadal
Sol Parc Apartments Son Parc, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing