We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sol Parc Hotel review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Parc Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Parc Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sol Parc Hotel review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Broken into 3 areas

Accomodation
2* geared for self catering and not all inclusive - would suggest if staying there do this on a self catering basis as there are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. Rooms are basic but good size with big balconies
Room service average towel and sheet change every other day. Problem with ants in rooms, small bathroom and quite outdated. Fan only which was OK but would require air con in the height of season
Environment
The hotel must cut down the number of pine trees to allow for the sun to reach the pool areas staff are polite but the majority of guests are german so the entertainment reflects this. The evenings are boring with a childrens disco early evening and thereafter background music mostly in spanish or german. 7 mins to beach which is great but sun loungers are £6 per day.
Meals and drink
Poor meals in a large open cafeteria buffet, very repetitive. Limited drinks local brandy vodka and gin with draft beer mostly served in plastic cups frpm one bar at the pool in the day and from the other only bar after 6pm
Summary
If you can get the cost for all inclusive for @£400 a week fine as you will get what you paid for. If you can get under £250 self catering per person fine. Otherwise I would not recommend this resort

Room Tip: Go Self Catering and opt for a ground floor room as the balconies are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    118
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
127
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargate, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is well set out within a pine forest which is great for keeping the kids in the shade but not good for getting a sun tan. The rooms are clean but basic the ensuite bathroom goes off the kitchen, the balcony over looks the pine trees. We took our 11 and10 year old grand dauthers and let them use the bedroom with us sleeping or trying to on the sofa bed, very uncomfortable. The food was luke warm and not really acceptable. Use of only 1 micro wave and 2 double slice toasters. Fresh omelettes are cooked at breakfast but on the same hot plate has the bacon, not eating meat I did without omelettes. Saturday it rained all day so the pool bar was closed but the management would not open the lounge bar until 18.00. Very poor entertainment but only once a week.
Son Parc itself has a lovely beach within a great cove with shallow seas and life guards. The main shopping centre is partly shut down with many bars and restaurants closed and in disrepair.
There is a good bus service from the hotel with reasonable fares.
Would we return to Son Parc, yes, would we return to Sol Parc, not on your life.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to the Beach Club, Son Parc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Son Parc hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having read reviews on here I was hopeful that we had picked a decent place to stay. First apartment had an ant infestation with thousands of dead ants in the kitchen area. We were given a map to find our apartment, it reminded me of booking in to a caravan park. Having found the ants we then had to take all our bags back to reception. To their credit we were given another apartment straight away that was better but no offer to help with bags. The heat in August is unbearable with no aircon. The shade of the trees offer no respite in the apartments. The grounds are very well kept but all on a slope. My mum struggled with the incline. To get to the beach you have to walk about 10 minutes from where our apartment was....its all down hill but the return journey is hard work with bags, umbrellas etc. Swimming pools on site are excellent

The complex went all inclusive about 2 years ago and haven't quite mastered it. They only serve ice cream between 11-12 and 4-5pm. In the evening there is always a queue to get drinks as they do not have enough staff. The food in the restaurant is of poor quality and often runs out before the end of the sitting, leaving you without a pudding and the chef refused to give another couple more than 2 pancakes on one night!! The introduction of all inclusive has meant that the local businesses have died a death. There are 2 shops for groceries and a couple of not very good restaurants. There is very little else in walking distance. We got a cab from the airport. This was about 32 euros. Decent food and aircon would have made this holiday so much better!

Room Tip: All rooms are humid. Any over looking the pools are ok and the pools shut at 6pm so no much noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The apartment was clean, could be a litte better but was ok for a 2-3* Hotel. We had one bedroom with a fan - so it was possible to sleep at night although it was very hot - all apartments are without air condition - one bathroom, a kitchen, big balcony - there was everything inside you need.
We had to walk about 5-10 minutes to the beach, but it was a very nice walk!!!! There was enough place at the beach for everyone and the water was very very nice and warm.
The whole apartment and pool area is situated in the pine forest so there is enough shadow not to get a sun burn the first day and perfect for little children.

We booked half board, which was perfect for us. There is a supermarket within the apartment complex and also at the street outside where you can get some fresh food and all you need to cook by yourself if you want to.
Breakfast was fine, you got everything you need (coffee, chocolate, milk, tea, juices, different kind of bread, omelette, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cakes and other sweet food, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, spanish sausage, beans ......) and dinner was also fine. I wish they would have served more fresh grilled fish and vegetables but it was more like "fast food" - of course they also had fresh food, depends on what you like.
It is forbidden to take any food out of the eating area or you have to pay for it, unfortunately there are so many people who are not able to read those signs or who are just pretty brazen to put fresh fruit or sandwiches in their bags and pretending that everything is fine and that they did nothing wrong. Luckily the service personal is looking around and some people were caught.

Kids Disco started at 8.30pm and on some days the disco took place at the neighbour hotel beach club or playa parc. After the mini disco there were different shows, but we didn´t watch one of them. You could take a seat at the bar plaza outside and drink some cocktails, coffee or soda....

Wifi is available the front desk only and it is not working all the time, you need some luck and time ;-).

All in all, we had a very nice vacation, everything was fine and it was what we have booked. it is not a 5* luxury hotel, so do not expect toooo much. But I think if you only need some nice relaxing days it is absolutely perfect and although if all hotels were sold out there was still enough space at the beach.

We would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

just returned from a weeks stay and we loved it!!! basic yes ,old yes, get past that and your laughing. very clean good food two pools and on the most beautiful beach we have been on!!!!very quiet area, lovely staff especially the lady at the pool side bar THANK YOU X definatly return any time!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I visited Sol Parc in August 2012 for one week all inclusive with my husband and 2 sons, aged 8 and 5. Situated within a pine forest, the resort is pretty, with plenty of shade - useful when you have children to shield from sunburn!

Our apartment had one bedroom, a sitting room with kitchen, which doubled as the second bedroom with a sofa bed, a bathroom - with bath AND shower - and a terrace which had table, chairs and a clothes airer. This accomodation gave us plenty of room for the time we wanted to spend at the apartment during the day, which wasn't much. The decor was a little basic and tired, and the sofa bed comprised of two foam mattresses, one of which pulled out on the floor. My eldest son complained his mattress was uncomfortable, and I wouldn't recommend this sleeping option for older children or adults. There was a handy fridge, microwave and plenty of crockery and pans in the kitchenette, for those going self catering. The TV showed a range of channels including BBC1.

We were all inclusive, which turned out to be excellent value for money, and after reading other reviews on here, we had lowish expectations regarding food. However, these were greatly exceeded and we all thought the food was great. Choice was good at whatever time of the meal period we arrived at the restaurant.

Each day at dinner (apart from Sunday, where the food took a slight dip in quality and variety) there were at least two pasta dishes, cooked by a demonstration chef in the corner of the restaurant, and another different theme each day for the food, eg speciality Menorcan (roast pork leg; breads topped with tomato/caramelised onion), nice sweet breads and cake; fish (in fact there was grilled tuna there every day - what a treat!); paella, squid ink risotto (although we all gave that one the swerve); and others I can't remember. On top of that, there was always a good choice of vegetables (including courgette fritters and other fried veg as well as boiled) and other main course dishes. Chips were consistently rank, but that was a good thing as it made the kids try out new things.

Breakfast was always good, with bacon and eggs cooked to order (quickly too), and other ingredients to make a 'full English', along with cheese, ham slices, cereals, toast, muffins, some oddities that were hard to recognise, even Elvis would raise an eyebrow to the 'deep fried milk'!

Lunch was fine each day, with no difficulty finding good things to eat there either. Dessert tended to be ice cream and overly sweet cake most days, along with jelly and mousse too. There was a good selection of fresh fruit although the bananas were swooped on and seized within seconds of being put out, so be quick if you want one of those.

Staying on an 'all inclusive' theme, drinks were plentiful at bars around the resort all day, with good beer, TERRIBLE wine of all varieties, and whisky, gin and vodka, coffee and soft drinks, including pepsi and 7UP, which were all fine. The snacks weren't really required as our meals were so filling, but I had a look every now and then when getting ice creams for the kids, and the choice was both identical and ignored by holidaymakers in equal measure. I began to recognise individual frankfurter sausages and felt I was getting to know each and every one of them. Ice creams were small tubs of Nestle vanilla, choc or strawberry and there was an option of a lemon ice lolly, which was preferable, as the ice cream tended to be pretty rock solid and crystalised. By the time the crystals of ice had gone, so had most of the solidity. The snack bar would certainly be very useful if you had missed breakfast, which ends at 10am.

The beach was gorgeous, as was the 7-8 minute walk down a path through sand dunes to get there. It was never overly busy, but had a vibrant, friendly atmosphere of young families. I would recommend an early evening walk down there when the day has cooled off. Simply lovely.

There were two swimming pools at the resort which were clean and enjoyable. One was much more used than the other, as it was bigger and had more reasonable depth areas for children. The other pool had one small half metre depth area and a smaller, much deeper area, neither of which interested my children. We spent most of our time around the larger pool which gave enough sun and shade around it to decide which of these you wanted, or to move between the two.

Room housekeeping was undertaken every two days, with towels changed too. Cleaning was adequate but don't look too closely... The cleaners were friendly and lovely to the children, but unreasonably noisy at 7am one morning, cleaning rooms and moving furniture in the upstairs apartments. On another day, they were banging on our door to service our room at 8am, waking us all. We could have done without that, especially as they're not supposed to start till 9am. This was the only negative feedback I gave on the guest questionnaire they asked us to complete towards the end of the week.

Evening entertainment was certainly entertaining, verging on the bizarre if you stayed for the 9.30 show (seeing is believing); the 'mini disco' at 8.30 each evening was great fun for the kids. It was all well attended, giving a good holiday atmosphere, with an all inclusive bar and amusement arcade for the kids there too.

There is a shop, a gym and Son Parc resort shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk (use the bottom gate at the opposite end of the complex), and a nice park with better children's play equipment than on the resort, just across the road from the hotel main entrance.

Overall, we had a great time and it was particularly good to see the children enjoying themselves so much; we would consider booking again next year, notwithstanding the odd gripes mentioned here. It was good value for money. Hope this helps you decide where to book your holiday.

Room Tip: Consider a two bed apartment if you have teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

son parc!! September 2010 Well me and my family went for a dreadful holiday for 2 long depressing weeks!!..I dont even no were to start with this horrible place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
as we arrived late on at night we were given a map and told to find our own way 2 our room as we climbed & stubbled & slippled on the DEATH path in the dark to our door we found that we were living back in the 19teen ohh bolb apartment... It's all made out off dark old wood, horrible itchy wool bedding not good if u have excma and diffidently not good in the heat!!.. as the sun rised we were excited to head to the pool and enjoy our holiday after walking through the forest we found the pool witch was full of pines..hundreds off trees around it... we went self catering THANK GOD~!!! we went all inclusive one night and all we could eat was soggy chicken nuggets but the Melon was GOOD...There was no entertament at all...A BBQ that was NEVER open!!...like 3-4 pubs NOT CLUBS!!.. food was horrible in resort and out of it.. we lived off beans and toast... In our room we had 1 hob on the cooker that worked slightely it took about 15-20 min to warm up...No taxi services!!..No Banks!!... The beach was nice best part of the hole holiday...my brother liked the hot dogs at the bar as this is all he could eat....no point taking any going out clothes/shoes ect no were to go!! we had a thunder storm and the slippy rock/stoney paths were flooded No need for sun cream as your constantly in the shade because the sun carn't reach you for the trees!!!- We were so glad my brother brought playing cards as we spend pretty much all our time entertaining our self.. we couldn't wait to get home...Also if u do manage to find some thing eadble there are loads of cats that sat begging for food...I would not return even if this place were offered free you will have so much more fun in your back garden in the rain!! if ur to late and have booked make sure u take something to entertaine you and sleeping pills so ur holiday should i say hell goes quicker!!-- THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS WAS THE FLIGHT HOME WILL NEVER BE RETURNING IT NEEDS KNOCKING DOWN!! DONT NO HOW THEY CAN CHARGE PEOPLE TO STAY... hope you have a good time HAPPY HOLIDAYS LOL :)

Room Tip: try get some were on the ground because the steps are slippy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Parc
0.4 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Son Parc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carema Garden Village
Carema Garden Village
#3 of 5 in Fornells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Parc Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Parc Apartments

Property: Sol Parc Apartments
Address: Urb. Son Parc, H-1, 07740 Son Parc, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Son Parc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Son Parc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Parc Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 272
Also Known As:
Confortel Sol Parc Hotel Son Parc
Confortel Sol Parc Mercadal
Confortel Sol Parc Hotel Mercadal
Sol Parc Apartments Son Parc, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing