We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful overnight stay!”
Review of The Warwick Arms

The Warwick Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Warwick Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Clutton B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful overnight stay!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Warwick for one night dinner bed and breakfast.

Had Grand Mezze for dinner lovely selection of hot and cold starters followed by mains and a selection of all the desserts on a sharing plate! The Turkish delight ice cream is to die for! All the food was delicious we had a break between course 2-3 of 30 mins a good idea as would never have managed the desserts!

Room was lovely nice boutique decor stayed in Midsomer Suite, bed really comfy and lovely drencher shower in en suite.

Staff were really friendly, accommodating and welcoming.

Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellsbellsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
41
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

...by the roadside managed pub feel to the Warwick, it's a pleasant surprise. To be welcomed without even asking my name and then shown to my room was a great start, followed by equally switched on service downstairs, well done. The menu is very good for those that love Med food, and the food backs it up, the fish soup and croquettes a definite recommendation. They could look better in the plates if I am being picky, but it tasted good. Also, make the wine list a bit less boring, you will sell more. A Mediterranean menu needs good European wine by the glass.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Regrettably only stayed one night on this occasion but it will not be the last.
Reception was very good and efficient with all the paperwork ready and waiting. The room was called the Mendip Suite. Do not be misled by the use of suite because it is simply a hotel bedroom but very well decorated and exceptionally clean. It was in some ways a good that we were only staying one night because there is no wardrobe or drawers for clothes. Simply three coat hooks on the wall. There is the opening in the wall for a wardrobe so why the room has been left like this is anyone's guess. The bed was very comfortable. A lot of road noise since this room faces the main road. Looks like the joiner needs to return because the bathroom door would not close. The clock had a very loud tick. Dinner was extremely good, well priced with a small but adequate wine list at reasonable prices. Service was brilliant. Just one small criticism was that the Baklava was very poor and dry.
The full English breakfast is exactly that, a full English. Well cooked, ,very hot and again excellent service.
The reason for the nearly exceptionally good is the road noise, the lack of storage in the bedroom and the Baklava.
Ready for the next visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not face the main road. There is no air conditioning in the bedrooms and the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas44_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After having several decent meals at the Warwick since it reopened we have heard some mixed reports of late with poor food and service. We arrived for breakfast today as the only customers party of four. The food arrived full English minus hash browns and bacon, the chef had run out. Rounded off by a single piece of 4 inch square "toast", a rubbery egg and uncooked mushrooms that were left. The waitress neglected to tell us this when we paid for it 20 minutes earlier.
How can you advertise breakfast served 7 days a week and run out of two ingredients with a shop just down the road, unacceptable. As it was my wife's birthday I did not want to make a fuss however did point our dissatisfaction out to the waitress and that was the last we saw of her.
Warwick arm you seriously need to up your game with the other quality eateries close by. Will not be returning in a hurry, shame.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank greecelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clutton hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I found this restaurant/boutique hotel after failing to find anywhere with space in Bristol and despite a drive out of the city it was well worth it. The accommodation is tasteful, clean, new and easily worth £75 for bed and good quality breakfast.

My room, then Shepton Suite was very clean and comfortable with good quality furniture.

The food was reasonably priced and very well cooked. The banana and sticky toffee pudding was excellent and Given there were plenty of people inside and the car park was full on a Tuesday evening it appears the quality is bringing in the punters.

What really stood out was the quality of service. From the moment I walked in to the minute I checked out the staff were incredibly attentive and polite. And given i was eating alone I had plenty of time to witness it wasn't only me who benefited from this. The young man who showed me to my room, took my order, served me in the bar, brought my food and did the same at breakfast was good service personified.

I would definitely visit this restaurant/hotel again.

Room Tip: Best choice will be the rooms that don't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel a lot in my work and regularly end up in the west of England one weekend per month. The Warwick arms is a real surprise. Food, is a well priced and quite extensive Mezze style menu and the accommodation is stylish and new. Staff are welcoming and friendly and go out of their way to help out. I'll certainly be back and would certainly recommend it as a place for a stylish evening meal, a comfortable lunch with family and a reliable comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We decided to visit this ramshackle local pub for a Sunday lunch on a cricket tour in the local area. We were rudely told to sit in the garden and that we could only order roast dinners despite there being plenty of room in the restourant. This was fine by us as we were looking to sit in a nice beer garden and the beer garden is the only redeeming feature of this establishment. We all ordered our roasts and sat in the sun, then we kept sitting, kept sitting, kept sitting, until eventually our food started to arrive over an hour after we ordered it, the food arrived in dribs and drabs over the space of the next 40 minutes with the veg and cauliflower cheese that was supposed to come with them never arriving at all. What did arrive had a mis match of over done beef and raw roast potatoes.

To make matters worse when the management were finally summoned to appologise they blamed all of the problems on the foreign chef in a racist diatribe that would have made basil fawlty blush.

Overall avoid this horrendous establishment unless you have all afternoon to waste on slow, over cooked food. The sideshow entertainment of the staff running around like headless chickens not having a clue what to is comical, but not if you are starving

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rjwilki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clutton
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hunters Rest Inn
The Hunters Rest Inn
#1 of 4 in Clutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cameley Lodge Hotel
Cameley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Cloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pig near Bath
The Pig near Bath
#2 of 3 in Pensford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Arms

Property: The Warwick Arms
Address: Upper Bristol Road, Clutton BS39 5TA, England (Formerly Mezze at The Warwick Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Warwick Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing