We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, thank you!”
Review of Far End Guesthouse

Far End Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knowle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Far End Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Enjoyed one night at Far End whilst working in the area. The room was comfortable and relaxing. A good selection of drinks in the room. The bathroom was small but certainly adequate (excellent shower). Would certainly stay again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We are 3 ladies walking the Grand Union Canal. It is very difficult to find accommodation along the canal so we were delighted to discover this gem of a B&B. The welcome was very friendly, the rooms comfortable clean and and after a hardy breakfast we were on our way before 9 a.m. to finish the walk to Birmingham Gas Street Basin. Thank you Dawn for all your help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltraudbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hello, It was nice to see you and hear all your news about the Olympics. We hope you didn't get too wet going back. You should have rung us and we would have picke dyou up and givneyou a life to the nearest railway station as we live so near to them.

Enjoy your future walking holidays.
Regards,
Dawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

4 of us from Australia stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend. You could not find a better place to stay, very quiet, excellent clean rooms & a lovely breakfast. Great for early morning walks along the Birmingham to London canal, which is only 250 yards behind the house.
Dawn & Steve were excellent hosts & you are in a great location to visit the surrounding Stratford-upon-Avon, Oxford, the Cotswalds & of couse the town of Knowle.

Room Tip: The best room is the one next to the carpark, with its own en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shentonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My sister actually found it, and I joined them for 2 nights. My room was comfortable, quiet, even had a fridge! Dawn and Steve, the owners, were helpful and friendly -- really made us feel at home. The surrounding countryside was wonderful with the canal nearby and the public walkways. The small town of Knowle was quaint and within walking distance. What more could you ask for? I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The largest of the 3 rooms is good for stays of 3 nights or longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarJSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst working in the area. A real haven to come back to after work. Great owners, Dawn and Steve, made to feel at home. Fantastic breakfast, comfortable room with brilliant bathroom / shower.
Will defo come back with wife if visiting area again.

Room Tip: Appears all rooms same quality. But my double at rear has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi nice to see you again. I hope life is not too hectic and we will see you soon.
The horses have been moved away now.

We now have a private entrance through the porch foir visitors and hope you like the changes when you come again.
Regards, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently and it was just perfect. Such a relaxing and beautiful place to be, right by the canal - perfect for a stroll along to the nearby waterside pubs. We ate our excellent breakfast in the sunny garden and found the proprietors to be warm and helpful, plus a great source of local knowledge. We'll definitely come here again.

Room Tip: The en-suite double is gorgeous and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a great B&B.
I stay in hotels at least 4 nights a month with work and when I book myself anywhere always stay at a B&B, and this is one of the best.

A stones throw from Knowle, which is a lovely little town with everything you need and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets.

Lovely modern room, freeview tv, free wifi, kingsize bed all to myself, vast array of teas/coffees.

Really friendly owners, I had to leave at 6.30am and, despite my protestations, the owner got up early to make me a continental breakfast. But the best thing was the peace and quiet.

Spend £65 a night at a Premier Inn with doors banging and no breakfast, or spend £38 for my most peaceful night away from home at the Far End?
I know which I'd choose everytime!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knowle hotels
0.4 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
2 mi away
The Stables- Deer Park Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Achill Guest House
Achill Guest House
#2 of 5 in Knowle
46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Far End Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far End Guesthouse

Address: Far-End Kixley Lane, Knowle, Solihull B93 0JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sephen and Dawn invite you to visit our 18th century country cottage that was once a pub, located 50 yards approx from the Grand Union Canal but five minutes walk from the centre of the historic village of Knowle. It is ten minutes drive approx from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. There is ample safe car parking.The house has two ensuite guest bedrooms and one guest bedroom with shared bathroom. All rooms have access to wifi(free) and tv and coffee making equipment. Ensuite rooms have a DVD recorder.There is a lounge with ingleknoock fire place where guests can sit in front of a roaring fire in the winter.Trip advisor guests have commented on the quality and variety of the breakfast ie fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast, fruit juice,coffee and then a full Engish cooked breakfast to follow. Alternative breakfasts can be provided or room only can be arranged without breakfast.Birmingham, Stratford and Warwick are a short drive away but guests wanting a longer day trip can go to the Black Country Museum or the Costswolds.There are many National Trust properties around this area or alternatively, sports enthusiasts can go to Edgbaston cricket ground.Plant lovers can visit the Birmingham Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Far End Guesthouse Knowle, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing