We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Ranked #4 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Myself and my husband went to the Heron's Nest for a lunch time meal on the 9th April. We had a lovely meal, I am vegetarian and was pleasantly surprised to see that there were at least 8 veggie choices on the special board. I had a beetroot strudel which was delicious. The staff were really attentive and were doing a great job. Well done, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    20
    18
    4
See reviews for
19
31
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After coming to the Heron's Nest for many years I have been increasingly irritated by the attitude of the staff which has completey changed.No one to serve at the Bar as the girls were waiting at the tables, who were hassled & needed help. I was told that I could not have a starter as a larger main course.
I took a friend to the disabled toilet & she said it was dreadful, loo roll on the floor, which she could not get at, no hot water, no towel & no soap
Not your usual standard!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillA785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knowle hotels

england
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having been recommended to go to the Heron's Nest I was hoping that it would be the flagship of the group. However, I was disappointed with my meal. Chicken and Ham pie (don't know where the ham was) covered in puff pastry. When I removed the pastry lid I found the contents barely covered the bottom of the dish. The chips were quite hard and the peas a little shrivelled as if they had been lying around for some time. Again similar to their sister restaurants the coffee sits in a perculator for some time and gets colder and stewed to such a degree that it is impossible to drink without milk. However the atmosphere of this eatery is very good and provides and warm welcome to any traveller. Also the staff are very friendly and attentive. Value if it had been more tasty then I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
492 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stopped off for a mid afternoon drink only. The pub is old and characterful and parts of it are probably undergoing renovation as scaffolding was up at the front of the building. Large area for dining then several smaller, cosy areas again for dining. We sat in come comfy chairs to the side of the bar with a view out to the canal.

Service was initially very slow as no one was behind the bar. A waitress was serving a large group of people who were finishing lunch and then eventually after around five minutes of waiting around a guy came down the stairs. From then on service was prompt. The food menu was pretty extensive and looked reasonably priced.

The outdoor terrace is huge - even a 'bottle shed' which is open in the summer months. Also lots of benches on the lawn so directly by the canal. Must be superb in the summer. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Only had a drink so cannot comment on rooms or food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Herons Nest. The family room was very clean and spacious (couldn't ask for anymore). The staff are very friendly and on our arrival, promptly made up the sofa bed for the kids. Will definately return again in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 878linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This was my 2nd time back here for a Xmas party & I'm so glad I wasn't paying. Terrible food, slow service, expensive drinks. Very clean tho'. I had a roast pork belly and it came with a small amount of mash and some gravy, no vegetables were offered to me. I then had cheese and biscuits- a tiny piece of Stilton with a huge amount of biscuits and a teaspoon full of pickle. As I said before I'm glad I wasn't paying because i would of refused to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Stopped at the Herons Nest in business, found the hotel really nice and cozy.

Room was small but it was the last one left so it was understandable.

The room was very nice and cozy and warm, very clean and modern.

The bar and restaurant was superb and the food was first class and a good price too!!

The bar is well stocked and has friendly staff

Would 100% stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0d_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.2 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.3 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#8 of 25 in Solihull
623 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
320 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Address: 2110 Warwick Road | The Heron's Nest, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming village of Knowle, this historic lodge provides convenient yet characterful budget accommodation near Solihull, Dorridge, Birmingham and the NEC.Dating back to 1816, The Heron's Nest is furnished with 10 comfy rooms and a cosy pub serving up seasonally inspired food and drink together with bags of rustic charm. Its canal and countryside setting brings further appeal, especially during the summer when the outdoor dining area springs to life.Knowle is a lovely place to unwind, with a pretty village square, an early 15th century church and lots of idyllic, timber-framed cottages. You could also take a stroll down the Grand Union Canal - but be sure to pack some sandwiches, as there are 147 miles of towpath.The wider area offers attractions to suit every taste. Shopaholics will love Solihull's Touchwood Centre, history buffs will enjoy the moated, medieval charms of Baddesley Clinton and families will relish a trip to Warwick and Kenilworth Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Nest Hotel Knowle
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing