We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out For Sunday Roast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Ranked #4 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Redditch
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out For Sunday Roast”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went here for the first time with Sister-in-law and her husband on 4/11/12 for Sunday Roast. We were shown to our table that had been booked and had lovely view out to the canel. The interior is very nice with lovely log fire the made you feel very relaxed. The service was very friendly and it was not to long to wait for your meals even though it was quite busy. We all had the Turkey what was good value for money and very nicely placed out. The meal was very good and there was plenty of it. What was also nice, was there was no pressure on you to leave after you had finished your meal and drink what you can find at other places that I have eaten at. So this for me is an A+ for the Herons Nest from me on this visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    20
    18
    4
See reviews for
19
31
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
547 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

took my wife and in-laws here last Sunday and had a great meal, great service and food was excellent. father in law and I both had the mix grill, huge meal with great meats, not cheap cuts that some places use.
all of our meals were good, also had deserts which were brilliant, beer was good, food was good and the staff were attentive with out being annoying

we were told there was a forty minute delay for food but we waited no more that 20 !

will definitely go again !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is one of my locals... It comes into its own when its either 1) - a lovely balmy warm day - when you can eat alfresco with a lovely chilled white or a sparkling lively lager... watching the narrowboats go by or 2) - a cold wintery day when they have the log fires roaring.. with a rich merlot or hot mulled wine... I love both experiences.

Visited recently with my daughter... a lovely evening... the smell from the log fires was wonderful and the service was excellent (on this ocassion two young men.. who went that extra mile to make our night memorable...(I love a sense of humour)... although I've recently been served there by a young lady who was equally brilliant in her own special way.... welll done to all. Food was very good and the price spot on.
The only criticism... and I am finding this at most restaurants recently so please don't think that you are on your own - the chips.. A few years ago The Heron's Nest served the best chips in the West Midlands.. dry, crispy and crunchy on the outside, fluffy on the inside... not at all greasy.. probably quite difficult to do large scale. Yes... a real skill I know - but do y'know - if you get your chips right... that is the sign of a very special chef behind the scenes.. and a chef who is passionate about getting it right.

Keep the menu simple - and cook from scratch as much as possible. I much prefer far less choice and more quality.. and keep your home made soups large and hearty - don't skimp on the portions.

Will I go again?.. I'm always in there... there are many boxes that can be ticked about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangomermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Went for a quiet drink on Sunday.

never disappoints. always great atmosphere, staff are really polite.

place is really calm and welcoming with a great selection of drinks.

good location with ample parking, great views for a summers day

defo going back again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hsalhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I used to come here every Saturday for month and loved the food and service, then one day the food was appalling so we stopped coming here, its been atleast 9 months since we was last here and the food was a lot better but the lack off staff was bad, the young girl with blonde hair looked so miserable and unhappy, not one of the staff smiled, they even took away the sauces with our asking if we had finished, as a local person I don't think I will bother going there again. Waited Ages to be served for a drink. It's gone down hill in the past 2 years.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxshellyjonesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knowle hotels

Warwick
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spotted at the hotel for a late lunch on a Sunday. First impressions were very good, great surroundings and attentive waitress. We ordered a lamb and vege Sunday lunch, and a child's Sunday lunch. Sadly when it arrived it had clearly been knocking about for a bit, and I suspect reheated. Tasted ok, but all rather dry and overdone. For the price, a very bad deal indeed. So in all, a fairly disappointing affair. With competition so great around this area, I sadly won't be returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank The_Goats_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night whilst attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. The summer special rate was an absolute bargain at £25. The room was very clean, had a large bed and a tiny but adequate bathroom. There was a TV and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Had a quick drink at the bar, the staff were very polite and freindly.

Breakfast was let down with very poor coffee, everything else was good.

Very good value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieVegasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.2 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.3 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Address: 2110 Warwick Road | The Heron's Nest, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming village of Knowle, this historic lodge provides convenient yet characterful budget accommodation near Solihull, Dorridge, Birmingham and the NEC.Dating back to 1816, The Heron's Nest is furnished with 10 comfy rooms and a cosy pub serving up seasonally inspired food and drink together with bags of rustic charm. Its canal and countryside setting brings further appeal, especially during the summer when the outdoor dining area springs to life.Knowle is a lovely place to unwind, with a pretty village square, an early 15th century church and lots of idyllic, timber-framed cottages. You could also take a stroll down the Grand Union Canal - but be sure to pack some sandwiches, as there are 147 miles of towpath.The wider area offers attractions to suit every taste. Shopaholics will love Solihull's Touchwood Centre, history buffs will enjoy the moated, medieval charms of Baddesley Clinton and families will relish a trip to Warwick and Kenilworth Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Nest Hotel Knowle
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing