We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one word - Fantastic -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie De Biek
Ranked #1 of 3 Moorsel B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our base camp for a 2 day cycling trip around Brussels - excellent accommodations , high quality food , Very attentive and friendly staff ! The area is superbe and ideal for cycling - in The neighbourhood The zennevalley , Pajottenland , geuze and hops - The hostellerie was a former brewery, renovations ended in 2009 - beautifully done ! - Nice rooms , super terras , great food , easy to park .... Just perfect ! Thx

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel . The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. And with a great decor, making use if the original features of the original building but with modern twists. Breakfast selection was good too. It us a shame the restaurant is closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightsouthernstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have stayed here several nights now and have been impressed with the service every time.
I would not be surprised to see this establishment gain a Michelin Star in the future its that good.
Monday is the Restaurant day off in the Biek as is required by law.Take a Taxi to nearby AAlst where you will be spoilt by choice.Do not let that stop you from visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordshireHesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice enough room but the heating control did not work so it was quite cold. I needed to use the duvet from the spare bed to keep warm
Bathroom nice and spacious with a good shower.
Separate room for WC - a nice touch.
The rooms are in a separate building to the reception area. Not many lights around so it is quite dark at night
However, the restaurant does not open on a Monday and neither do any of the bars in the village. Your dining options are therefoe severely limited: pizza from a delivery service or the local Carrefour Extra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pie_N_Mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The pleasant hotel & restaurant De Biek is located in a tastefully renovated 19th century brewery at the main square of Moorsel near Aalst in Flanders.

The village is quiet and unimpressive. At walking distance you find a large supermarket and a night shop (open till 02:00). Brussels is at a 29 km distance. We chose De Biek as at hrs.com it had a customer satisfaction rate of 9 on a scale of 10. We found that rating entirely correct.

The hotel annex gastronomic restaurant is comfortable and well maintained. A good place for a relaxing stay. You can discover the region by bicycle by taking one of the many bike routes.

We had a choice between an apartment at €125 and a standard room at € 100, both with breakfast included. The apartment has a living room with a well equipped small kitchen, a bedroom and a separate private bathroom. The standard room has a private bathroom with showers and separate toilet. We didn’t fancy cooking and choose the standard room.

The room was impeccably clean. Adequately furnished and decorated, the room has twin beds, a TV set, desk and wardrobe. No coffee & tea making facility in the room. Windows can be opened but have no mosquito screens. Breakfast is very good with eggs cooked to order. Free Wi-Fi Internet and free parking at the property.

Overall we had a nice time. We would recommend this countryside hotel to anyone who seeks great comfort in a quiet environment. The restaurant is excellent yet pricey. Lunch at the De Biek restaurant is high value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We rented a studio at this hotel for three nights. The first night, they gave us one with a bedroom that only had two very small windows, so it got quite stuffy in there at night. Also, the shower and sink were right in the room. They must have just finished this studio, as the kitchen still had what seemed to be construction dust in the drawers and on almost all surfaces which surprised us, because the rest of the place was very clean. The living area had a bigger window, but you couldn't look outside, so it felt a bit claustrophobic in there. They were happy to switch us for our remaining stay though. They must have just finished renovating and they strive to create a stylish environment. Breakfast was okay, although the pickings were on the slim side for our standards, especially given the price of the room. There were some nice items, such as the croissants, but some were definitely lacking in quality, such as the milk and the cereals. Had the quality been better on the whole, we may have considered having dinner in their fine restaurant. A small piece of butter we had barely used appeared on our table the following day, which has never happened to us in any other place, and we do travel quite a bit. Although it seems that they are understaffed, all our request were promptly fulfilled. Service was friendly. Overall, this place is in a great and extremely quiet location if you are visiting Bruges, Antwerp and Ghent and don't want to stay in any of these cities. Had there been more attention to detail, such as removing spiders outside your door, replenishing coffee items in your room, etc., I would have given this hotel a perfect rating.

Room Tip: If renting a studio, try and get the one with the separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iterfacere101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My sister and I were in Belgium for a chocolate workshop, this was my 4th time in the country. Last time I had stayed in an Ibis Hotel in Aalst. This time the school had booked us on the Ibis again but when we got there found out the internet was out and had no idea when it would be back - also they charge you loads for the internet. Anyway, speaking to a local we found out of this brand new hotel and restaurant on the nearby city of Moorsel - we paid the same value the Ibis was charging for a room and service 10 times better. Very spacious room with big bathroom, eletronic room temparature, great breakfast, perfect environment. If you are wondering around Belgium, here is an ideal place for you. Oh, broad band internet is free!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie De Biek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie De Biek

Address: Moorsel Dorp 3, Moorsel, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Moorsel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moorsel
Price Range: $85 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie De Biek 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie De Biek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing