We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel close to Legoland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Hotel Svanen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hedemarken 22, Grindsted, Billund 7200, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Lyngheden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindsted
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel close to Legoland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel with a special offer of Legoland. So we didn't spend much time in the hotel, but what we can summarize is: clean, very good breakfast, family friendly with a nice playground. Also our dog was welcome. The Hotel is a little outside of town in a commercial area, so don't expect to much for shopping or dining. But the town is very close by car.
So we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesse_im_norden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    26
    11
    1
See reviews for
42
18
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel, so the room was functional, clean, average, hence 3 star. There's no fridge in the room, but there's a beer and drinks vending machine outside if you want a cool one. We asked for wine glasses, no problem. Asked for coffee in the room, got a pot of coffee at reception.
After seeing the average room, I was worried about dinner. But it really was very good. Venison, with season veggies, a lovely SA Pinotage and desert. The kids loved their dinner as well.
Breakfast was simple, (no bacon) but nice sausages, REAL scrambled eggs, (which I've never had in a less than 5 star hotel) salami, ham, cereals the usual good quality continental.
Highly recommended as an alternative to the Legoland hotel, 10min drive from Legoland
Also had trampolines, huge sand pit area with climbing frames etc.
Esbjerg is only 40mins away as well for shopping etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timboson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Couldn't wait to leave. Basic basic rooms, uncomfortable small beds , average food . Uncomfortable seating . Ugly collection of external rooms like a Motel so can be a wet and windy walk from the dining room to the rooms. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grindsted hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the room , nice and clean with a decent sized shower room.
Staff were very friendly, evening buffet was plentiful and realistically priced, although wine was a tad pricey.
Great location for visits to Legoland and an ideal stopover for the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We staid with our two children at Lyngheden in July 2012. The hotel is located close to Legoland, however, you will need a car to go there or anywhere else (even though there is also a bus goining to Legoland). The hotel fullfilled our expectations; clean room, friendly stuff and a nice breakfast. The only small minus was the price of the dinner buffee which, in our opinion, was quite high (over 100 eur for two adults and two children, including 2 glasses of wine). The food was, however, of very high quality. Overall, we can recommend the hotel, good value for the money!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niklas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Being 10 km from Legoland this hotel was a base for our family trip. It is clean, rooms are OK, and breakfast buffet is wonderful. Staff might smile a little more, but as it rained there all the time I do not blame them that much :) Rooms are in a separate buildings, so if it not raining, you may have a beer outside, which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everything was satisfactory except the temperature was a bit high in the room. Perfect place to stay if you are going to Legoland. Our six-year-old enjoyed the playgrounds outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teodor_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindsted
6.7 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
5.0 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
7.2 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#9 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#4 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#11 of 13 in Billund
3.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sdr. Omme Kro
Sdr. Omme Kro
#1 of 1 in Soender Omme
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Property: Hotel Svanen
Address: Hedemarken 22, Grindsted, Billund 7200, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Lyngheden)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund > Grindsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Svanen 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing