We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A fine stopping off motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindsted
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fine stopping off motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the room , nice and clean with a decent sized shower room.
Staff were very friendly, evening buffet was plentiful and realistically priced, although wine was a tad pricey.
Great location for visits to Legoland and an ideal stopover for the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
54
20
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We staid with our two children at Lyngheden in July 2012. The hotel is located close to Legoland, however, you will need a car to go there or anywhere else (even though there is also a bus goining to Legoland). The hotel fullfilled our expectations; clean room, friendly stuff and a nice breakfast. The only small minus was the price of the dinner buffee which, in our opinion, was quite high (over 100 eur for two adults and two children, including 2 glasses of wine). The food was, however, of very high quality. Overall, we can recommend the hotel, good value for the money!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niklas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Being 10 km from Legoland this hotel was a base for our family trip. It is clean, rooms are OK, and breakfast buffet is wonderful. Staff might smile a little more, but as it rained there all the time I do not blame them that much :) Rooms are in a separate buildings, so if it not raining, you may have a beer outside, which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everything was satisfactory except the temperature was a bit high in the room. Perfect place to stay if you are going to Legoland. Our six-year-old enjoyed the playgrounds outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teodor_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Lyngheden hotel for three nights to visit Legoland with our three children, ages 3, 7 and 9. It was great. We had a family room with a double bed and a couch that pulled out to a double. The room was clean but lacked a minibar. We arrived late and the key was in the door and the beds were made. The bathroom was basic but clean. good breakfast with a nice selection of food. Nice outdoor environment, with playground and trampoline for the children. 15 min drive to Legoland. Overall a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Great hotel for staying with children. Nice outdoor environment, with playground and trampoline for children and nice seating for adults. It felt safe having the children running around the premisses while we were enjoying a nice glass of wine nearby.

The room was basic, but clean. We arrived late in the evening and had to make 2 of the four beds ourselves. Other than that the room was made everyday.

The food was very good and above the standard expected from a this class of hotels. We ate in the restaurant twice for dinner. The first time they had a la carte with some nice main dishes, and a nice selection of children dishes. The second night they served a buffet with fresh grilled meat and lots of cold assorted dishes.

The internet connection was partly free (for a duration of some hours by registering), but was really of poor/slow quality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Lyngheden Hotel is on the outskirts of a village called Grindsted in Denmark. It's in an industrial estate style area, around 15 mins by car to Billund. It's within walking distance of nothing of interest (industry estates), so you need a car. Staff service was poor, and receptionists are the waiters!

The rooms are on one level arranged over paths and grassland with a parking lot out the front. Sadly, there's trampolines outside our room (and rather a few others!) and is very noisy, kids were out being loud and bouncing till around 10:30 pm! Room was basic and more motel like. Two single beds together to form a double and an awkward pull out sofa. Bathroom was big but dead insect on the floor was unpleasant which cleaners failed to notice.

There was a wedding one night of our stay and were very noisy very late. Free wifi was good, ask at reception for password.

Breakfast and dinner were ridden with HUNDREDS and I mean loads of flies. Everyone else failed to notice this and just went on and ate it all as if they were invisible! Serious health issue here!!!!!!! Breakfast and dinner are both buffet, nobody to seat you or serve you and very few to clean up. A dinner ridden with flies for 58 DKK per person?! Pah!

Staff aren't helpful, that is if you can find one around. Made a complaint but no part-refund was offered and person didn't seem to care. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olihj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grindsted hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindsted
6.7 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
7.2 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#8 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#11 of 13 in Billund
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.3 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#4 of 13 in Billund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#5 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Property: Hotel Svanen
Address: Hedemarken 22, Grindsted, Billund 7200, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Lyngheden)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund > Grindsted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grindsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Svanen 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing