We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still lovely but food a bit disappointing this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion
Ranked #1 of 9 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Still lovely but food a bit disappointing this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Third time at the Lion. Love the place, rooms well furnished, beds fantastic, good bathrooms. However we opted for the small double and it really is rather small. Better to pay the extra for the standard double. Evening meal was disappointing this time - my tuna with Thai noodles was overcooked and dry and unattrictively presented. My husband's venison was also overcooked and tough. Nevermind, we are not put off and will come again!

Room Tip: If you are happy with a shower only, then no 1 is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jayandpee
Thank you for reviewing us again, and for returning to us again and again. It is a pleasure to welcome returning guests. I was sorry to hear that on this occasion the food wasn't quite up to expectations. We do strive for consistently good standards. I do hope you will come again and we will be up to your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    61
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
54
142
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent and friendly service from first arriving to checking out. The Lion has been tastefully refurbished with many old features and is in a lovely setting next to the river- we will have to return in the summer and make use of the terrace.
We stayed in the small double which was cosy but nicely decorated and had a surprisingly spacious and luxurious bathroom. At the price we paid we felt it was good value, particular given the high standard of delicious breakfast.
The evening meal was of a high standard, with generous portions and good presentation although some items were a little pricey.
The staff were genuinely pleasant and friendly....we were amazed to find that we were the only people staying there on a Saturday night in January (though the restaurant/ bar was busy) as many more people definitely need to experience this!

Room Tip: Small double is perfectly adequate unless you need sitting space/ want to spend alot of time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review and I am glad that you enjoyed your experience, we look forward to you coming back to enjoy the terrace and gardens in the summer - fingers crossed for a few more sunny days this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Lion's Christmas party night! Having just returned from two weeks in Egypt over the Christmas period...I realise we definately know how to through a party in this country! The staff couuldn't of been more welcoming...the food was fab and the marquee was beautiful. We danced the night away to a great disco. Ok we don't have the sun in this country but the atmosphere that night was all the warmth you needed...congrat's to all the staff for a great night...book us in for next year!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Susan, yes it was a fantastic night. I think the staff enjoyed it as much as the guests. We will certainly be more than happy to see you again next year and hope to make Christmas party 2013 even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We're just home after a lovely New Year's Day morning at The Lion where we enjoyed a splendid New Year's Day Buffet Breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by friendly and efficient staff and offered Bucks Fizz as a start to the most delicious and varied buffet breakfast options. Attentive staff ensured we were topped up with tea or coffee and toast and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good morning Ann, Happy New Year. I am so glad you enjoyed our New Year breakfast, despite being seated next to my noisy family party in the restaurant! The breakfast certainly seemed to have gone down well with guests, and I hope it heralds a the start of a really good New Year for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I would just like to say a big thanks to all of the staff for the excellent Christmas Party Night in the Marquee at the Lion. The attention to detail in the Marquee was second to none and the Food and Service as ever was spot on.
Our friends from both Knighton and Liverpool share these sentiments.

Hope all of the other parties go as well as this one did, thanks :-)

Richard Demynn

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks Richard for your review. We have been really pleased with the response to our party nights, of course you can pay attention to every detail but it is always the guests who make the party sparkle and our guests certainly sparkled. I agree it was a lovely evening as were the other nights we scheduled. Already thinking about this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to the Lion in order to meet friends for dinner in Ludlow. Initial impressions were wonderful- the location is lovely and I can imagine the garden in warm weather is fabulous. The decor is really nice, traditional yet modern, the staff could not be faulted and the rooms really nice. Unfortunately we were given a room above the kitchen (room 3) on a busy Sat night- normally that would be fine as you may well not be in bed until later but I'm 6 months pregnant, this was a last night away before baby and I really need my sleep. First it was the coffee machine, then the swinging kitchen door and there was a noisy function in a room nearby. Anyway, my husband complained at 1130 and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I appreciate this is a working pub and I anticipate none of the other rooms have the same issue.. we were just unlucky. The kitchen door stopped at 1.20am and started again at 6.20!!! On the upside the room was lovely and the bed really comfy. We had also asked for an extra duvet to make the bed softer for me and this was waiting when we arrived- again, really good service.

Anyway, to the morning and a fantastic breakfast. And yet again, really good service- the same girl who had dealt with the issues the previous night. When it came to checking out, we cannot fault in any way how we were dealt with and despite a poor nights sleep we would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Special thanks to the girl who was so lovely throughout, on reception, in the evening, at breakfast and at check out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chablisgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Good morning Chablisgal, thank you for your review and your glowing comments, I am just sorry that you found it difficult to get an early night, we were fully booked that night and the pub was very busy with diners. I am glad that Lauren looked after you so well, she is a diamond! I hope that you will come back and stay with us again when your baby is born - we will be sure to put you in a room away from the kitchens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We meet up with friends from Mid Wales for lunch once or twice a year.The Lion was a half way point for us.It was a friday lunch and there was only another table occupied in the dining room which was spacious and airy. The service was excellent, quiet, unobtusive but attentive. Everydish was displayed with style and panache.The highlights from the four meals were the Mussels as a starter ,the luxury fish pie as a main and the poached pears for dessert. Starters and puds pricey but main courses good value for the quality.Good wine list. Certainly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for your recommendation on tripadvisor, it is really good to know that you and your party enjoyed your meal with us and we really appreciate the time you have taken to say so. I hope you will meet here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
7.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
6.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Clive
The Clive
#1 of 1 in Bromfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion

Property: The Lion
Address: High Street, Leintwardine SY7 0JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing