We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Gite and Hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
The Griffon terrace looking out over the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Griffon terrace looking out over the valley
Cantobre from the East and climbing wall on right (Autumn early morning mists just clearing) Side terrace and the front door for the gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
The Griffon terrace looking out over the valley
Cantobre from the East and climbing wall on right (Autumn early morning mists just clearing)
Side terrace and the front door for the gite
View to the south, looking up the Dourbie Valley from The Griffon's terrace
View to the south from the gite's terrace, looking up the Dourbie Valley
North facing shared terrace
Living room
Bedroom 1 with a double and single bed
Bedroom 1 with a double and single bed
Bedroom 2 with en-suite bathroom
Bedroom 3 with 2 single beds
View across the south face of Cantobre
The entrance to our small 11th century village
Kitchen and dining room, the table can seat 12 with the 2 leaves added
Kitchen and dining room leading through to the living room.
Looking up at Cantobre from the Dourbie river
View up the drive to the top of our Castel
Looking down the drive at the top of our Castel towards the church
View from our gate, looking up to the church
Looking down on Cantobre from the hills to the east
View from our garden looking down The Dourbie Valley
Sometimes the vultures fly by...
The narrow street below the gite
Millau Viaduct (the world's tallest bridge)
View across the south face of Cantobre In winter
Road leading up to our top gite and the church
Two young bearded vultures sitting on the rock next to our garden
The garden with giant steps up to our high rock
The garden with boules court
Cantobre village, perched on the rocks overlooking the valleys
Sunset over the Causse du Larzac (limestone plateau)
Cantobre houses behind the church
Path in Cantobre going towards the end rock
View of our North facing terrace (viewed from inside our cave)
The Trevezel River
Two young kestrels sitting on the last big rock in Cantobre
Looking across at Cantobre from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cantobre, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Gite and Hosts”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

We had a fantastic family holiday in this lovely location. The Gite is located in the lovely village of Cantobre with fabulous views over the Dourbie Valley and is a great location for exploring the local area. The gite itself is very modern with all mod cons including wi-fi, satellite T.V etc and is very well maintained and is very clean throughout. Peggy and Lionel are most helpful and pleasant couple you could wish for, both will do whatever they can do to assist you in making your stay the best you could have.
Cantobre village itself is lovely and peaceful, and an ideal area for lazy walks or hard hikes or just to sit around and laze.
Millau is only a short drive away and has plenty to offer. we would certainly recommend it to friends and family and have already returned with elderly parents who also loved the place.
We have already booked for our fourth visit in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktopersho...
pershore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Griffon was Great”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Griffon is a great place for a family holiday in a beautiful part of France. It's well equipped, very well maintained and a clever adaptation of an ancient building. There's loads of space, both inside and out, for families either to have fun together or for individuals to disappear for quieter moments!

The setting is stunning: at the top of an ancient hill-top village with grand views of the surrounding hills and valleys. It's just like the pictures on the owners' website but better! A plethora of butterflies and birds by day and stunning starscapes by night are things which we will never forget.

The surrounding area is perfect for "doing nothing" , walking and exploring and days out and about in the local area.

The owners, who live on site in the apartment below Griffon, were charming and unobtrusively attentive throughout our stay.

We loved our time in Cantobre and hope to go back there. We are more than happy to recommend Griffon to anyone who is looking for an excellent base for a great family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian D
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a fantastic family holiday in this lovely location. The Gite is located in the lovely village of Cantobre with fabulous views over the Dourbie Valley and is a great location for exploring the local area. The gite itself is very modern with all mod cons including wi-fi, satellite T.V etc and is very well maintained and is very clean throughout. Peggy and Lionel were most helpful throughout our stay and answered our many questions and shared their local knowledge with us! I particularly found the enjoyed using the Garmin E-Trex as it comes pre loaded with some of the best local walks and took us on a couple of great hikes from the Gite. Cantobre village itself is lovely and peaceful and we would certainly recommend it to friends and family (in fact several have stayed following our advice!). We have already booked up for out third stay next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garmin satnav for walks,
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we are looking forward to your stay next year. I hope by then we will have had opportunity to record more walks onto our Garmin GPS devices. Maybe even a few cycle trips recorded by some of our cycling enthusiasts from this year will be available too. See you next year, Peggy & Lionel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing