We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Olhahali
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
345
4
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
345
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa water sports speed boat roof terrace fish private pool small ice cream st regis sea salt wooden villas special thanks great omelettes seafood night dolphin quest huge living room taking such good care bubble bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have absolutely no word to describe how amazing this island is. I had tears leaving it! Cherry took care of us, and handled everything for us there! The island is so beautiful, the hotel, the room, everything is so clean. They brought us a little gift everyday. The food is amazing, the activities are so fun. We also had a private photo shoot and the photos are absolutely insane. Paradise on earth, literally...

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Romaneamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRogersLNMA, General Manager at LUX North Male Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Romaneamr,

We appreciate the precious time you have taken to share just how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

How wonderful to know that you have chosen us to be your destination of choice and have been the most amazing place you have been to. It was our absolute pleasure to have extended you a combination and relaxation and adventure with our stunning villa, activities and unique dining experiences.

Thank you for your kind remarks to Cherry and she was happy to have contributed to your amazing holiday.

Myself and the team look forward to welcome you back for yet again an amazing stay!

Kindest regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute I booked to the minute I left, LUX North was faultless. Where do I start! It has to be when you meet your Island host having stepped off the sea-plane. Ours was ‘Moomin’ and he was fantastic. There was no hanging around to check-in, you got a quick tour of the Island by buggy and then you were whisked away to your villa and check-in completed there, within 5 minutes. ‘Moomin’ was ace.He couldn’t do enough for us. Always at the end of a mobile phone, yes they give your own phone pre-programmed with his number. Whether it’s making reservations, picking you up from your villa or from anywhere on the Island to get you home, getting sun-cream, taking your snorkelling, he made it all happen and was always so polite and friendly. Thank -you ‘Moomin’. Whoever came up with the idea of Island hosts was inspired. It makes a huge difference.
The villas are not your typical pretty Maldivian huts. They are very modern, very spacious and pure luxury. The majority are over water, have their own infinity pool, steps leading down into the lagoon. But best of all a terrace on the roof so you can watch the sun-rise and sun-set. Very special. And they even provide a large sail as shade from the sun so you could spend all day up there.
The beds are huge, the bathroom luxurious with the biggest shower you will ever see and all rooms have views out into the lagoon or the rest of the Island. They are also very cool, such a relief when you have been out in the sun.
There are 3 restaurants and they all serve a wide range of food whilst you sit and look out towards the ocean. In my opinion, next time I would just book the breakfast rate, as the half-board option was much more than we actually spent on dining. Again all the staff are friendly and polite and go out of the way to make your meal pleasant.
Breakfast in GLOW restaurant is massive. Plenty to choose from, both hot and cold, and people who need GLUTEN-FREE are well catered for. They even went out of their way to make gluten-free pancakes.
Activity wise, there are plenty of water sport activities to choose from. Snorkelling, diving, parasailing, you name it, they probably do it. They do tours to see dolphins, turtles, sunsets. You can go and visit a small Maldivian island. There are cocktail classes, art classes, or you can just go and snorkel in the lagoons and the house reef. Equipment is provided free. There is also sun-rise yoga (free) which my wife loved.
The final amazing thing about the island apart from location, the amazing staff, even the manager greets you and waves you goodbye, the villas, the sun, the views, the amazing food is how you can find your own space. By Maldivian standards, the island is not big, yet even when full you can spend hours not seeing a soul. If you want blissful peace, relaxation, sun, sea, good food and drink, friendly staff who are not intrusive and a good time you won’t go wrong choosing LUX North. We will definitely make LUX North the location for our third and future visits to the Maldives.

Room tip: The prestige over-water Villa was spacious.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRogersLNMA, General Manager at LUX North Male Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bezzer1,

Just wow! I can't thank you enough for this amazing & detailed review and how you exquisitely described each of your holiday experience. Being categorized as a "perfect paradise" is both humbling and rewarding.

Thank you for acknowledging the personalized and 24/7 service from our dedicated Island Hosts which really make the difference as this form part of our goal everyday to provide and extend our guests the most unforgettable and happiest experiences on the island. Moomin was pleased to know that his service and attention were commended.

For appreciating our villas & facilities, our food & beverage offerings, your gluten-free dietary requirement and island activities - Thank you. I am happy that we have exceeded your expectations and served you in a meaningful and memorable way.

We will definitely look forward to welcome you back here - your "home island" in the Maldives!

Kindest regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

All guests are different and have own preferences. Obviously, it's impossible to please everyone. So I was really surprised seeing 5 star rating of Lux North Male on Trip Advisor. As I'm back from Lux North Male resort, I fully understand why it's so, and happy to leave another one great feedback. This resort really deserves it. It's really wonderful place with great villas, delicious food, first-class service and perfect staff attitude.

We lived in a beach villa. It was very spacious for a family of 3 (me, my wife and our 6-years old daughter), light, fully furnished with designers furniture and had huge panaramic windows looking right to the ocean. We had an own pool right on villa, and our kid was very happy to swim there. The beach line was ideally clean with a nice white sand. It was not more than in 10 meters from our door. The island itself is not very big, but there is no any discomfort due to the size of the island. You may walk by foot and will easily reach any destination or may ask the manager to get you a lift on buggy.

In the past I heard opinions that Maldives' vacation might be bored. It was something I worried about as it was our first family trip to Maldives. In fact, for us – it wasn't bored at all.

Resort provides lots of water activities that we absolutely loved: snorkeling, kayaking, diving, boat excursions, etc. The water-sports club is just great. They have all necessary equipment and always ready to assist. Hotel has a great gym. It's not very big but has all equipment, machines and special room for yoga class.

There are 3 restaurants at the island. There is a very wide choice of various food. The cuisine is mostly Asian and South American. People from Europe will definitely find something new and interesting for them. So I would recommend to chose all-inclusive plan. :) It really worth of it. We absolutely loved everything we ate.

Our daughter enjoyed swimming and games in kids club with kids club crew members. She loved to visit and ice-cream shop every day. I believe it's just a dream for any kid: the ice-cream shop had provided than 20 different sorts of ice-cream. The hotel and restaurants crew members always were friendly and often talked to our daughter when they met her. They ofter gave her nice hand-made presents that she was really liked and brought home then.

I'd like to say thank you to all hotel crew and management – guys, you are doing just a great job. You do everything to make the guests' vacation unforgettable. Special thanks to Athu who was conducting great craft workshops and was telling us a lot about Maldives, its history and traditions. And of course – we are very grateful to our assistant Maria who helped us with any questions during our island stay. I'd like either to thank Olga from Lux booking team who helped a lot with reservation flow.

We dream to visit LUX North Male again one day. Hope it will happen soon. :)

Room tip: We lived at villa #9 and everything was just great.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRogersLNMA, General Manager at LUX North Male Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Dear Sergey D,

What a way to start our week than to receive this wonderful recollection and great feedback of your stay with us!

Your review says it all... thank you for sharing everything that guests could expect and enjoy from our humble resort which were beautifully described in every way.

I am truly happy that you have had an amazing trip and enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. Your kind words and compliments will definitely serve as a big inspiration as we continue on our quest for service excellence.

Thank you for your precious time and we will all await for your next visit!

Kindest regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Waou !
What an amazing Holidays we spent at Lux North Male.
The resort is almost new. Every details is well thinking.
Except few details, we have spent a perfect week.
For the record, the « details » :
a little problem with TMA and our seaplane transfer (but not really the Hotel’s fault) and maybe some of the dishes (prawns / Tuna Tartar) which were not at the same level than the others (but this is probably because we are French and really picky with food). Globally the food was excellent (the meat at Beach Rouge and the fish at Inti were both really amazing for a such « in-a-middle-of-nowhere-island ».

This said, we would like to thank all the team of the resort :
- first of all : Maher, our exceptionally smart Guest Manager, who made this week real holidays. He was such careful with all of us, he understood exactly what we expected. A real sense of Hospitality.
- Sheryl, Head of the Kids Club and her team who took great care of our little 5 years old daughter who usually doesn’t like kids clubs !! Thank you again.
- the Team of the Beach Rouge Restaurant, so kind with us and the DJette who made us dance,
- the Team of Glow, so nice for breakfasts,
- the Team of Inti and their exceptional dinners (very good sushi’s but not only ! Very nice gastronomy).
- housekeeper, spa Team,
Indeed everyone !

The Villa (Beach Villa) was sunrise lagoon exposed. Very Nice lay out and furnitures, very qualitative. Impressive view.
What a pity the water of the private pool was colder than the sea...

Into the lagoon snorkeling, We have seen baby sharks but I must say the Lagoon of the Nyama is more impressive on this point.

We had no time to get bored. Always something to do, but no pushing from Team, no overpriced activities, just real holidays.

We have traveled a lot included already in the Maldives (Nyama) and it is from far the best experience we had.

We wish all an Happy New Year and all the best.
Thank you again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 692nicolasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRogersLNMA, General Manager at LUX North Male Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear 692nicolasb,

What a fond and detailed reminiscence of your stay! - Many thanks for the time and effort you have spared, myself and the team are truly grateful.

So sorry to know of your seaplane concerns and dishes you have mentioned yet despite of these it is still very rewarding to read that you've had the best experience.

I am delighted to have built a team of service-oriented individuals who always ensure to go extra mile in exceeding guests expectations. Truly wonderful to know that you have celebrated life with nothing but pure magic and unforgettable memories with us. Thank you for remembering their names and for highlighting the rest of the team who made such wonderful connection with you. Surely, your kind words will continue to motivate us all!

All the best this 2020 and we hope to welcome you back "home"

Kindest regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

The facility is just great! From the airport welcoming to the island’s!
Our host Miqdad had managed to make it even more great!
The staff are kind and friendly!
The restaurants are great.
We had requested for a more private villa and were upgraded to a prestige water villa for the privacy!
We were amazed by the cafe LUX, ici and the shops! Never thought I will find a good coffee on a faraway island!
There are a lot of water activities and a great spa!

In short; we had the best getaway vacation so far !

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank aqeelam2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRogersLNMA, General Manager at LUX North Male Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Dear aqeelam2015,

I am pleased to know that you have carried away the most happiest and magical LUX* memories during your stay and inspired that we have delivered exemplary service, showed you genuine hospitality and surpassed all your holiday expectations!

Your wonderful feedback will be shared to the whole team as this will continue to motivate us to keep up the great job.

We hope to welcome you back with your family and friends in the not so distant future.

Kindest regards,

John Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews