We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kawhia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Kawhia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality at it's best!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our Campervan road trip around North Island and this made an excellent spot to finish our holiday. The hospitality was very welcoming and both Bronwyn and Snow are really friendly and wonderful to talk to and exchange stories. An idealic spot with some spectacular views of the harbour and coast and hot springs are just a few minures walk away at a beach the other side of the village. Facilities are spotless and clean and the showers were the hottest we'd experienced anywhere!
If your looking for a site with the standards of a "top 10" but a little bit different head for Kawhia Beachside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Manager at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, our facilities and our company.
We are avid travellers ourselves and know just how important clean facilities and friendly hospitality is.
All the best on any future travels.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
76
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Otorohanga
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If your looking for clean modern peaceful accomodation with first rate service from owner operators then this is the place to stay. RIGHT on the waterfront from backpackers rooms to self contained units with all you need. The choice of all, is at the beach side s-cape. A trip back in time is to be had in the village with old fashioned service and friendly helpful people. The village is an easy walking distance from s-cape camp. Snow & Bronwyn can direct you to all the best places to eat drink and know all the local spots to visit. Book early or you might miss and this secret is spreading fast. :-)

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the units over the years. Our favourite for a family is the two bedroom water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and thank you for your continual support over the last few years staying in all types of our units and watching us grow and develop.
You started out as guests,
and are now truly friends, having purchased your own holiday home in Kawhia just recently.
The pictures you took and posted are AWESOME.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed the first night of our New Zealand campervan adventure here and it really set the tone for the rest of the trip. Initially we were debating between going east to Coromandel or west to Kawhia as we only had time for one and we were so so happy we chose Kawhia. It was very peaceful with plenty of gorgeous scenery. The location is indeed beachside, right on the water, close to town (town is small, but very cute), and near Kawhia's black sand and hot water beach. The hot water beach is a must see, the black sand makes for a really unique experience! All facilities for campers were clean and tidy, the best we encountered during our trip. They also offer kayak hire, which if you have the time and weather for it, is a must. The bay was very calm during our stay making for some easy kayaking. Snow and Bronwyn were excellent hosts and even gave us recommendations for the rest of our travels that served us well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mallory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks very much for writing a review about our harbour/ beachside camping facilities and establishment.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed Kawhia as much.
So often we are over looked for the Coromandel region, which is very beautiful as well, but very different.
Kawhia is small, not overpopulated and offers a completely different sort of experience.
It sounds as though you had a good trip all round.
Great as we just love it when people enjoy our country and review their travels in New Zealand in favourable terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent one night in a waterfront unit there visiting her birthplace. Very clean and comfortable unit with everything you need and a peaceful location with nice views of the bay as the tide goes in and out. Kawhia is a step back in time to a less hurried age. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and if you need to keep in touch with the world you can get internet access too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our accommodation property.
We trust you get back to Australia safely after your North Island stay.
Yes,
Kawhia is a bit like a step back in time.
That is part of it's peaceful charm and we are pleased your nostalgia trip lived up to your
expectations.
Thanks also for sharing your wifi knowledge.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Featherston
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank you Snow and Bronwyn for a lovely stay. You have a wonderful spot in our lovely country. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage right on the water front. It was very well equiped with plenty of linen, bedding, coffee, tea and all that you would expect. The cottage was clean and fresh. The bed in this unit was a King size double. Had to send out a search party to find Peter. Thank you Snow for helping with the fish. I hope the BBQ worked after Peter had finished putting it together. Thank you again for a lovely stay......No doubt Peter will be back to go fishing!

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage.....Great View,, Great Bed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review.
We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
It was great that Peter was able to get out on a fishing trip and catch so many fish. Thanks for the fish- it was lovely and fresh.
The BBQ was well recieved and got it's first use on the Friday night. Again it helped feed 50 plus people part of a motor bike rally on the Saturday night. Thank's Pete for all you help.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed one night for a family wedding - I liked the look of the place on their website so decided to book it. Sometimes you're not sure if the photo's have been overstated and if it is a true representation but we were pleasantly surprised that everything was just as we expected and as portrayed on the website. Being a clean freak I was happy that the cottage was clean and tidy and smelt fresh and everything provided was just as clean and fresh (towels, flannels, tea towels) - actually there was an abundance of linen and towels (and adequately named I must say). Shower was great for cabin type accommodation. But the best thing of all was the view. Location is spot on - right there on the water. Snow and Bronwyn are wonderful hosts and very friendly and accomodating. It really is a home away from home (you don't need to take anything!) It is a little pricey for Kawhia and for the time of year but well worth it. Will definitely recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage is perfect for a couple and 2 single adults (or 2 kids). There is a couch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt that the website gave a true impression of what is offered at the property. Thank you for your review.
We were a little puzzled about your comment about the 2 bedroom being pricey for a 1 night stay on a Saturday night in November.
Originally, both of your parties had booked the 1 bedroom and the 2 bedroom for Friday night and Saturday night and then both groups later changed to just the Saturday night which we still honoured for you even though the booking was changed.
We could have booked these popular units several times over for both nights, and subsequently had to turn other Friday and Saturday night bookings away -that would have given us two nights as originally booked.
We cannot fathom how people assume Kawhia should be cheap. It certainly is NOT CHEAP to provide high standard accommodation here and our prices are inclusive of 15% GST.
We do not promote cheap accommodation but feel it is nevertheless affordable for what is provided and on offer in the absolute water's edge location that it is.
To adequately cover our costs we should be charging a lot more, and we do a lot of the work around the premises ourselves to keep prices down.
Interesting enough, the 1 bedroom units at our competitors in town are advertised as only $6.00 cheaper (2 people) for far smaller units that are not water's edge, do not provide sky tv with Movie channels, UK TV, Discovery etc and were built over a generation ago.
We have individual sky tv decoders in each units, wifi, digital safes and our units (except for Water Front A and B which are in a block of two) stand alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed one night after being at a friends wedding. The location is great, only a few metres from the water. This is a great sheltered spot that looks out over the harbour to the east. It is in easy walking distance from the township and the jetty and boat club. The hosts were very helpful, the unit is top notch. Facilities included clean tidy bathroom, full kitchen, TV, video player(with a selection of Movies), Sky TV, safe, iron & board etc etc. Thanks, a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colin N Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property.
We really appreciate people taking the time to write a review, as there is no better form of recommendation than that of previous guests.
We take great pride in trying please our guests and are always striving to improve an already beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park

Property: Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Address: 225 Pouewe Street, Kawhia 3889, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Kawhia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kawhia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kawhia's only waterfront accommodation. 6Km from Ocean Beach. We have 5 self-contained motel units(SKY TV), 9 comfortable cabins, large communal kitchen, lounge SKY TV,communal ablution block and 14 tent/RV sites. Perfectly situated on Kawhia's beautiful harbour frontage, and 600 metres from Kawhia village. Free Wireless internet. Kayaks for hire. Spring free trampoline. Kawhia is well known for its Maori heritage and Te Puia Hot Springs at Kawhia's Ocean Beach (loan spades for digging your own spa). We are 1.5 Hours drive from Waitomo, 1 hour from Raglan and Te Awamutu, and 1.15 Hours from Hamilton. 2.5-3 Hrs drive from Auckland and the ideal first night stop from Auckland airport. Make Ocean Beach Hot Springs and Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park your next destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing