We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tapanui Country Home(North Island)
View Hotel
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
110
51
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
51
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water beachwaters edgeholiday parkocean beachoff the beaten trackwater frontlow tidecamper vanpeaceful place to stayclean kitchengeneral storepowered sitepiece of paradisepeace and quietout of seasonexcellent hostsnew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 172 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed one night after being at a friends wedding. The location is great, only a few metres from the water. This is a great sheltered spot that looks out over the harbour to the east. It is in easy walking distance from the township and the jetty and boat club. The hosts were very helpful, the unit is top notch. Facilities included clean tidy bathroom, full kitchen, TV, video player(with a selection of Movies), Sky TV, safe, iron & board etc etc. Thanks, a great place to stay.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Colin N Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our property.
We really appreciate people taking the time to write a review, as there is no better form of recommendation than that of previous guests.
We take great pride in trying please our guests and are always striving to improve an already beautiful location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently had two days here in a waterfront unit a few steps from the harbour. It was so calming to sit and watch the ever changing face of the harbour. The unit was well equipped, sunny and comfortable - a great place to spend some timeout. There was plenty to see and some good cafes in town. Kawhia is step back in time, to a more laid back friendly NZ town.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KayWhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
It is very important for us that people get to know that we are here,
and that we offer a consistent level of comfort.
We are glad you had a peaceful time and trust you got home safely, feeling completely relaxed.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent two days here and left feeling rested and relaxed. I stayed in one of the waterfront units which literally is only a few paces from the water (bear in mind that the harbour is tidal so at times the water is actually quite far away). I didn't use the kayaks but I imagine that it would be lots of fun in warmer months.
The unit was small; ideal for one, cosy for two. It was well equipped with microwave, toaster and kettle and plenty of biscuits, tea, coffee, cereal and milk. The shower was great (hot and strong), and there were lots of spare pillows and blankets.
Bronwyn gave me good advice on what to do in the area and couldn't have been more helpful. This is a great place to stay, and Kawhia is a treasure of a town to visit, even on a wet and windy winter weekend :)

Room Tip: The waterfront units share a deck so would be a good option for two couples or two singles travelling together.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalTouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Reviews are an important tool for us to monitor people's view of where we are heading in terms of rooms, value for money, cleanliness, sleep quality etc.
You stayed in one our smallest self contained units, and although the location is water front,
we recommend that couples wishing to stay for longer periods of time, may wish to consider one of our larger units for greater space and comfort.
The camp's location is what it is - rural, tidal and water's edge. It is usually very quiet and peaceful.
Thank you very much for promptly taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time in Kawhia and delighted that you went away rejuvenated and relaxed, with fond memories of Kawhia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We also had the two bedroom unit . it was a treat to have a morning cup of tea in bed and be able to look out over the harbour. The unit was generously furnished with more than the usual equipment in the kitchen and also more Sky TV channels than are provided in most motels. The unit was also well lit, a boon for those of us who might want to knit or stitch in the evening. Many motel owners are so economical in what they provide that the traveler feels almost unwelcome. This is not the case here, we felt welcome and comfortable and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review.
Both Snow and I love travelling ourselves and know what we like.
We hate getting only four coffee satchets , tea, sugar etc and only enough milk for your tea to go a slightly different shade.
We feel the location is beautiful but as you said, if the customer feels as though the owners skimp on condiments and are mean then, it leaves a lasting impression.
We would love it if you came back, but if not, you have done then next best thing by telling others that you enjoyed your experience.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your views.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

http://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif
A perfect place for us to stay while visiting the unique seaside village of Kawhia. We had the 2 bedroom cottage (the one in the photo above) right by the water. Our home for a night had everything we needed plus unexpected fluffy white towels, great amenities in the bathroom and generally well equipped and very clean. Loved the 'lazyboy' chair. Although this was the most expensive cottage in the complex it was worth it for the location. Kawhia Beachside Escape is a 'work in progress' by the very friendly delightful owners who have been adding cottages and upgrading the original accommodation for the last 12 years. Very Kiwi, very New Zealand. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review.
It makes all the hard work worthwhile to know our guests have enjoyed their stay.
We are pleased you thought we offer a genuine "Kiwi" experience.
We are Kiwi and we love our own country.
We love travelling ourselves and love seeing new destinations but we also love coming back home to KAWHIA.
It truly has a natural beauty of it's own and it is right on our dooorstep.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews