We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kawhia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Kawhia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quiet”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent two days here and left feeling rested and relaxed. I stayed in one of the waterfront units which literally is only a few paces from the water (bear in mind that the harbour is tidal so at times the water is actually quite far away). I didn't use the kayaks but I imagine that it would be lots of fun in warmer months.
The unit was small; ideal for one, cosy for two. It was well equipped with microwave, toaster and kettle and plenty of biscuits, tea, coffee, cereal and milk. The shower was great (hot and strong), and there were lots of spare pillows and blankets.
Bronwyn gave me good advice on what to do in the area and couldn't have been more helpful. This is a great place to stay, and Kawhia is a treasure of a town to visit, even on a wet and windy winter weekend :)

Room Tip: The waterfront units share a deck so would be a good option for two couples or two singles travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalTouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Reviews are an important tool for us to monitor people's view of where we are heading in terms of rooms, value for money, cleanliness, sleep quality etc.
You stayed in one our smallest self contained units, and although the location is water front,
we recommend that couples wishing to stay for longer periods of time, may wish to consider one of our larger units for greater space and comfort.
The camp's location is what it is - rural, tidal and water's edge. It is usually very quiet and peaceful.
Thank you very much for promptly taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time in Kawhia and delighted that you went away rejuvenated and relaxed, with fond memories of Kawhia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We also had the two bedroom unit . it was a treat to have a morning cup of tea in bed and be able to look out over the harbour. The unit was generously furnished with more than the usual equipment in the kitchen and also more Sky TV channels than are provided in most motels. The unit was also well lit, a boon for those of us who might want to knit or stitch in the evening. Many motel owners are so economical in what they provide that the traveler feels almost unwelcome. This is not the case here, we felt welcome and comfortable and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Both Snow and I love travelling ourselves and know what we like.
We hate getting only four coffee satchets , tea, sugar etc and only enough milk for your tea to go a slightly different shade.
We feel the location is beautiful but as you said, if the customer feels as though the owners skimp on condiments and are mean then, it leaves a lasting impression.
We would love it if you came back, but if not, you have done then next best thing by telling others that you enjoyed your experience.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your views.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

http://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif
A perfect place for us to stay while visiting the unique seaside village of Kawhia. We had the 2 bedroom cottage (the one in the photo above) right by the water. Our home for a night had everything we needed plus unexpected fluffy white towels, great amenities in the bathroom and generally well equipped and very clean. Loved the 'lazyboy' chair. Although this was the most expensive cottage in the complex it was worth it for the location. Kawhia Beachside Escape is a 'work in progress' by the very friendly delightful owners who have been adding cottages and upgrading the original accommodation for the last 12 years. Very Kiwi, very New Zealand. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review.
It makes all the hard work worthwhile to know our guests have enjoyed their stay.
We are pleased you thought we offer a genuine "Kiwi" experience.
We are Kiwi and we love our own country.
We love travelling ourselves and love seeing new destinations but we also love coming back home to KAWHIA.
It truly has a natural beauty of it's own and it is right on our dooorstep.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our last night in NZ before we flew back to the UK and we arrived late at Kawhia (btw - for those not in the know, it's pronounced kafia!) just as the storm hit! Snow helped direct us to a parking spot where our campervan wouldn't sink into the mud, and we battened down the hatches to weather the storm!
Next morning we woke to a sunny, windy morning. The campsite might not look much from the road side, but you couldn't get any closer to the water, and it is a lovely peaceful spot. There are tent pitches along the front next to the water, then campervan pitches just behind. There are also a number of cabins which looked great and which seem to have been kitted out to a high standard. The ablutions were spotless and it is clear that Snow, the friendly owner, is putting a lot of work into trying to bring all the amenities up to the same high standard.
We left with a good impression of the friendliness of the kiwis, not to mention a few bananas for the journey to the airport that Snow had picked for us off his tree!
We would definitely go back and would recommend it - we'd love to see it again on a warm sunny day!

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good pitch as close to the sea as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
It is great you spent your last night with us and were able to leave New Zealand with a good impression.
Snow has been working hard on painting our accommodation block's exterior.
It is a slow process but he is very thorough.
Snow just loves offering guests the dainty finger bananas off his trees. He has a bunch hanging off the clothes line right now rippening for guests.
He is a character and although he also works full time off site 2 hours away, he always makes time to chat to guests when he is working at home here at the camp in Kawhia.

Kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed the tranquility of this place. We stayed in the 2 Bed unit just a few yards from the shore, for one night. This unit is the most expensive available at Harbourview cottages and other units are not as close to the water. We found our unit clean, comfortable and well equiped, and very quiet. Our veranda had a splendid view across the water. Kawhia is a little off the beaten track but we drove round the Kawhia Harbour Road from Marokopa Falls and the Waitomo Caves, and can recommend this route, it's well worth the effort.

Room Tip: The 2 bed unit close to the shore is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and trust that you are now safely back in the UK.
We believe all our units offer good value,
but the 2 bedroom unit in particular, is proving to be our most popular unit as it is in the best location and is spacious with a great decking area to contemplate and watch the tide.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

the owner (snow) is absolutely lovely!! always giving his best and trying to do everything for the guest. the place is great, right by the sea and very quiet. the kitchen is huge!! nice small fishertown, lovely place to relax or take a bath in the warm spring by the ocean beach...
we had a great time and would go back to stay at this place anytime!! thanks snow!! daniela & boris

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dani73elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is important to both Snow and I that our guests leave happy as we love travelling ourselves, and know how hard people save for their holidays.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The roadside appearance does not look great but this place is a must if you are in Kawhia or its environs. Absolute waterfront position with an incredible view for our campervan and a very warm welcome by Snow the owner. Very well kept grassy site, brand new toilet/shower block which was spotlessly clean and a well stocked kitchen made for a very comfortable stay. A very friendly resident dog and cheeky pup along with an equally cheeky and affable host (apparently ex special forces!) made the stay even more special. Free loan of a spade and good directions to go in search of The Puia Hot Springs which is really memorable given that we were the only people there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for the review of our camp.
We realise our appearance from the road still needs improving and are currently in the process of painting outside.
Please note Snow served with the NZ military but not the Special Forces.

kind regards,
Snow and Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawhia
20.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
20.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
20.6 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
20.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park

Property: Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Address: 225 Pouewe Street, Kawhia 3889, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Kawhia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kawhia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kawhia's only waterfront accommodation. 6Km from Ocean Beach. We have 5 self-contained motel units(SKY TV), 9 comfortable cabins, large communal kitchen, lounge SKY TV,communal ablution block and 14 tent/RV sites. Perfectly situated on Kawhia's beautiful harbour frontage, and 600 metres from Kawhia village. Free Wireless internet. Kayaks for hire. Spring free trampoline. Kawhia is well known for its Maori heritage and Te Puia Hot Springs at Kawhia's Ocean Beach (loan spades for digging your own spa). We are 1.5 Hours drive from Waitomo, 1 hour from Raglan and Te Awamutu, and 1.15 Hours from Hamilton. 2.5-3 Hrs drive from Auckland and the ideal first night stop from Auckland airport. Make Ocean Beach Hot Springs and Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park your next destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing