We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no one knows what they are doing”
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship Inn Blaxhall
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no one knows what they are doing”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

booked one night stay on line, arrived early evening , shown room which was fine except no milk for cups of tea. Evening meal was good so was the beer. Was told breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30/ so we went to the bar at 9am place was locked and no sign of anyone, one couple left without breakfast, took us half an hour to get staff to anser the door, then the poor chap that came down had been suspended for a week but between him and his girlfriend they supplied a very nice breakfast but by then it was about 10.15. the cook eventually arrived huffing and puffing obviously she didnt want toi be there.

Checked out youmg lad saying everything was ok with payment being on line. Then on the following Tuesday very snotty woman phones us saying we havent paid which as was done on line we thought that was fine, but she then told us they only take the details of payment at that time and it does not get processed till you check out. Perhaps she should correctly train all her staff on how the business runs and make sure they turn in for their shifts and not leave ssuspended staff to do her and other peoples work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank julie326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0rf0lkgal, Director at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review, and I am pleased you enjoyed most of your stay.

I am sorry for the confusion you experienced at breakfast time which resulted from a mix-up with the staff rota, leading to no breakfast chef on the day.

The young man you spoke to is not actually employed by The Ship but lives here with his girlfriend who does work for us - they are on-call for emergencies. He should not have told you that you had paid on-line, but he was doing his best to help out and did not know how the system works.

Again apologies for all the confusion, your points have been noted and will be acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    42
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
24
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Have just stayed at this pub for one night in converted barns, they are roomy, lovely comfortable beds and large radiators if the rooms get cold. Every thing you need for a relaxing time. We had a twin room ensuite, there is a flat screen television, iron and ironing board if required, nice shower with plenty of power and hot water and a towel radiator in bathroom, again handy for drying the towels and if it had been cold would have been cosy in the barns. There was also a fridge in the passageway between the bedroom and bathroom. We ate our evening meal in the pub which was huge and we really struggled to finish it, well worth the money. The breakfast was also huge and all nicely presented. There is a fairly large car park opposite the pub and it is up a very quite country lane soo you dont get disturbed. I would definately stay here again if needed to be in that area.

Room Tip: There are 7 I think converted barns, no idea what the others like but probably much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseabeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've eaten at this pub quite a few times now and have never been disappointed, the food is excellent, well priced and fresh.
Some great real ales are always on tap and the beer is well looked after, I **highly** recommend this pub.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My partner surprised me by booking a weekend away in Suffolk. He chose the Ship Inn and if I am honest we read a few negative reviews prior to our visit so we weren't too sure what to expect. Well what a pleasant surprise it turned out to be! A real hidden gem in a lovely setting - tranquil and quaint. The chalet wasn't 5 star luxury but it was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and breakfast was very nice. The added treat was the karaoke evening that happened to be on that night.........The best rendition of Deliha was performed by a local resident "Roy" who made us laugh so much we were crying!! Thank you Ship Inn for a wonderful birthday treat!! We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_david81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0rf0lkgal, General Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We try our best to provide a wide range of entertainment, including the occasional karaoke night. Details of forthcoming events can be found on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I spent some time looking for somewhere in Suffolk I could hold my 40th birthday party, that had on-site accommodation and was reasonably priced. The Ship ticked all the boxes. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the planning and event, prices were really reasonable for food and drinks, and I was offered a good deal on accommodation, too.

The chalets were lovely: spacious, clean, quiet, warm, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast was great, with unlimited coffee, which is what we needed after such a great night's dancing! The Ship asked if I had any preferences for music on the night and arranged to have my first choice of artist to play. The entertainment was outstanding - everyone loved it and enjoyed a boogie! The bar is well-stocked with decent beer, which is well priced, and this made a big difference to how happy my guests were(!)

The venue is just lovely - a traditional 'living' old pub. So many venues like this are taken over and out-price the locals. This pub is all about the locals but, what's wonderful is that, the staff and the locals are all extremely welcoming to passers-by. This is a lovely-looking venue, but it is not 'over-preserved'. It's a pub you can relax in.

I held quite a big party at The Ship (25 guests) but the event was handled effortlessly. The party was quite mixed from teens to octogenarians, friends and family -everyone expressed to me how much they enjoyed the evening though.

The Ship offers great entertainment frequently, good local food, a great bar, excellent accommodation, a handy location, helpful staff, friendly locals and all at very reasonable prices. Thanks Sharon for making my night one to remember for a long time. :D

Room Tip: The new chalets are outstanding. Just explain how many are in your party and the rooms will be set u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micke_Frez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We have used the Ship for four visits and have found it to be a good traditional pub with excellent chalets.
The place improves every time we visit with helpfull friendly staff.Toby is a definate asset when it comes to making you welcome.
Breakfasts are super ,food is hot and well cooked.
Evening and lunch time menu is limited but once again the food is well prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronwbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have just returned from a week exploring Suffolk. We spent 3 nights at The Ship Inn in Blaxhall. Our Chalet was very good, immaculately clean, well appointed, piping hot water and heating. The staff & managers/owners are generally friendly. However we left a little disappointed. Not helped I'm sure by a break in but the place seems to be run on the back of a fag packet?

The menu is very disappointing and fails to deliver. We had a decent sunday lunch but all the other food was pretty poor. Breakfast started off terrible but by day 3 was decent. Breakfast waitress/cook locked us out one morning, she didn't once say good morning?

This place should be booming!! The menu need massive modernisation, with so many great places to eat round and about, The Ship Inn is way off the pace here.

They unbelievably only do food 12-2 & 6-9, captive audience!!! Hello!

New impetus/direction required

Room Tip: we stayed in the older chalets and they were very good, so I imagine the newer ones are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0rf0lkgal, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We are sorry you felt disappointed about your stay and the food provided. As you so rightly say, there was room for improvement. However, at the time of your stay, we were in the throes of a major change of management.

Since then we feel that we have made a great progress with regard to changes in the menu, upgrading the chalet booking system, and improvements to management in general. The Ship Inn remains a genuine country pub, and we strive to provide a high standard of food, drink and accommodation. We hope you will return to see for yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaxhall
5.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
993 reviews
6.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#15 of 17 in Aldeburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Property: Ship Inn Blaxhall
Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing