We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of The Eels Foot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eels Foot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eastbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I cycled a long way to reach the pub and so we were in need of a bath, some great food and a comfortable bed and we were delighted that all three things were provided, along with a warm welcome and an excellent tea tray.

We had a lovely overnight stay and set up with a fantastic breakfast we set off on a lovely day for the cycle home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
36
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We always enjoy our stay here as it is ideal for access to Minsmere and other local places of interest. The rooms are much larger than you would expect from a bed and breakfast. The breakfast has a good choice and tastes delicious. Julian and the staff are friendly and helpful. We would recommend to anyone looking for good value and good pub grub in excellent accommodation to try here.

Room Tip: all rooms of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited this pub as part of a cycle ride on Easter Monday - 2 families all eating. Food was excellent, service prompt & friendly. Pub was busy which was a good sign but this didn't seem to affect turnaround times or standards. Adnams Ghost Ship beer in good condition. Small discrepancy on bill easily sorted & complimentary coffees provided. We came away feeling well fed & well treated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In a quiet and scenic location this pub has it all. Admans Ales in good condition, home made food, warm welcome, log burning stove for cold nights, spacious rooms away from the bars with views over the marshes or garden. There is even cycle hire available. Looking forward to staying again, next time without the snow!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoosaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted,England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived on a freezing cold Friday evening and were given a ground floor accessible room which was spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately,on one of the coldest nights of this winter ,the radiator had been switched off! The room never really got warm that night and the next morning at breakfast (which was excellent) we requested that the heating stayed on during the day as it was snowing and really bitter.This they did and the room was really warm when we returned from what turned out to be an extremely bracing days sightseeing! It was a pity about the weather but we drowned our sorrows with several pints of Adnams Broadside in the bar that evening.Can't fault the food or customer service,the location is great and we hope to visit again in the summer to enable us to really appreciate the Suffolk countryside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercredi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights here.

The room was spacious, comfortable and warm. It was bitterly cold outside, but looking out of the window at the snow and the chicken pecking away, was perfect.

We went on a Tickles Offer, which made it good value, but would hesitate to pay full rate, although it is so close to Minesmere that that in its self makes it value for money - I think!

Breakfast was filling but nothing to write home about, I'm afraid. As was the restaurant food. Good atmosphere though in the bar with live music on one of the evenings we were there.

Would we go back - yes I think so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed only one night which was a Sunday the bar had dartboard so we played darts which was great fun. The food was very good, home made and plenty of it. There were a good selection of good real ales and cider on draft with good wines if you want. The Sunday we were there it was Folk Music Day and several excellent musicians played wonderful traditional folk music. So altogether a wonderful evening, we will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboy7442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbridge
1.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eels Foot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eels Foot Inn

Property: The Eels Foot Inn
Address: Leiston Road, Eastbridge IP16 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eastbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eels Foot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eels Foot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eels Foot Hotel Eastbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing