We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent local pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eels Foot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eels Foot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eastbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“excellent local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We did not stay at the Eel's Foot Inn, but at a local self-catering cottage. However, we visited the pub on our first night and on New Year's Eve (which was going to be for a quick drink, but we left at 2.30am!)

The pub is a real locals' pub. The beer (Adnams) is excellent, the food is good and the staff were incredibly welcoming (especially on New Year's Eve when we just "settled in" for the night while the New Year's disco was going on!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stew13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    82
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
28
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Eels foot inn and thought it was excellent! The pub is very cosy with a lovely woodburner roaring away and the food was superb, staff were friendly and so were the locals. The room was very spacious and clean with a great shower and the breakfast the next morning was also great. I would have no problem recommending this pub to anyone, also worth mentioning is that this is a really nice neck of the woods and a short drive to Thorpeness to view the house in the clouds is well worth a visit and nearby Aldeburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgdmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Called in part way through our circular walk from the beach at Dunwich. Been here a few times over the years, and it's usually very busy at the weekend, but this was a Monday lunchtime, so we were able to sit in the bar area with our dog. It's definitely improved recently. I had fish & chips, & my wife had leek & ham pie with chips. Both were excellent. Good adnams beer too. Just what we needed on a dank & dreary December day..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We got a Tickles deal for a night at The Eels Foot and stayed one night on Saturday. The room was lovely and spotless, people were really friendly and helpful and the food was utterly delicious. It was a night away from the kids for us but after a night at the Eels Foot and a good walk the next day around the local area and up to the coast we really felt like we had been on a longer break.
I would certainly go again and will recommend it to anyone I can get my hands on!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the excellent rooms behind the pub, and ate in the restaurant while the Thursday evening folk singers were warming up. Once they got going, it made for a very entertaining evening.

The food was good pub fare, very enjoyable, sustaining and reasonably priced, but will not have the gourmets flocking there.

The location is extraordinary. It's easy to think this is just another bit of the Suffolk countryside, and of course it is, but in my opinion there is a special quality to the mix of lanes, trees, heathland, water marsh, nature reserve, birdwatching areas, coast and seascapes that lifts it well out of the ordinary. It is on the route of the Sandlings walk and close to the Suffolk Coastal Path too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having visited the Eels Foot for refreshments a few times whilst walking in the area, when we saw an overnight stay advertised as a Tickles deal, we jumped at the chance to experience it. How pleased we are that we decided to do this. Our room was lovely, well decorated, warm, comfortable and welcoming.Our friends stayed in another room and their room was equally inviting.

We stayed on a Thursday night as we had heard that local musicians gathered in the pub on this evening. This was the case and after eating an very good meal, we were able to enjoy the music. It was a lovely evening and seemed to be appreciated by everyone. It seemed to finish all to soon.

After the best night's sleep I have had in months, we ate very enjoyable breakfast in the pub dining room - very well cooked and presented.

I would certainly recommend this as a very good place to stay and/or eat.

.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Discovered this village pub whilst visiting the RSPB bird reserve at Minsmere. From walking through the door we were greeted by a blonde lady with a beaming smile and a warm welcome. She could not do enough for us. My husband sampled the Adnams beer. We both had the game pie which was recommended and we were not disappointed, fabulous! Thank you very much indeed, we look forward to coming back very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janejones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbridge
5.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eels Foot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eels Foot Inn

Property: The Eels Foot Inn
Address: Leiston Road, Eastbridge IP16 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eastbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eels Foot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Eels Foot Hotel Eastbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing