We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winning combination”
Review of The Eels Foot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eels Foot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eastbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Winning combination”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

A winning combination of a genuine old pub with modern efficiency. Great location being so near to Minsmere bird reserve with lovely walks on the doorstep. Good pub food, friendly service, with 6 very spacious comfortable en suite rooms (built only a few years ago) behind the pub overlooking the marshes, (one very slight niggle was we found the bed rather hard, but that's maybe cos we're not as young as we used to be). We will certainly come back when we want another great birdwatching break with good accommodation and food .

Room Tip: If possible ask for a family room for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank restlessSEEngland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    93
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
150
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Googled to find an inn/hotel that was near Minsmere Bird Reserve so that I could revisit the area after a 40 year absence! The Eels Foot Inn came up and I think the RSPB should be very grateful to have such a wonderful and friendly Inn at the edge of their flagship reserve. From the moment of my arrival the staff were approachable, friendly and helpful and I was given a clean, comfortable and individually decorated room which was lovely to retire to after hours out on the marshes or bike rides using the Inn's own bike hiring service. Fine and varied pub food and individualised breakfast added to the enjoyment as did the local ale and there was even local entertainment with a Thursday folk night. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a sense of calm, quiet and good old fashioned hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j4c4h4d4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Having previously eaten lunch in the Eel's Foot during visits to Minsmere, I was very happy when my wife booked a two night stay for my birthday. The welcome was great, and the rooms really clean, comfortable and well equipped. We ate in the pub on the first night - the food is excellent, and I particularly enjoyed the range of Adnams ales. My highlight of the weekend was a morning's birding with local expert John Grant - this was organised through the Eel's Foot landlord, Julian. I'm not a novice birder, but it was still really good to be out with someone who really knows the local area. If you're considering a stay in the area you'll struggle to find anywhere better than the Eel's Foot

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We were so pleased that we couldn’t resist the chance to stay in a pub called 'Eels Foot'! We spent three nights in this lovely traditional and friendly Inn. Our room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. It could have been a bit warmer, but I appreciate we were there on some of the coldest nights of the year. The bed was one of the best I have slept in away from home. Breakfast could not have been better, all freshly cooked and masses of it - good coffee too. The Inn has a good choice of evening meals, all of which are reasonably priced and very well cooked. Staff and locals all made us feel very welcome and were happy to recommend places to visit. Our main purpose for being in the area was to visit RSPB Minsmere, just a five minute drive away. Seeing a bittern, a hen harrier and a starling roost, ticked three of my 'must do's!! Also close by and well worth a visit were Soutwold, Aldeburgh and Snape Maltings as well as the lovely (even in December) Suffolk coast. If possible, stay at Eels Foot on a Thursday night when many local musician gather in the bar for a 'jam' session. One of the best evenings we have enjoyed for a long time. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed here for one night a Friday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Good clean accommodation at the rear of the pub, with a good view. Had evening meal in the pub which was very good, although at busy periods I guess it can be busy, but then again it's a traditional pub and not a restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful. Situated in area which is great for walking and taking in the coastal views. Good value for money. I would stay again and recommend it as a bit of a gem!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NytramEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We booked a weekend break via laterooms for my husbands birthday, as it was near Minsmere, he being a kenn birdwatcher. On the morning we were due to arrive, we received a very aplologetic phone call from the landlord to say that he had unfortunately overbooked. Oh dear, we thought! However, he couldnt have been more helpful. He booked us into alternative upmarket accomodation for the first night without charging, and took us to and fro personally. A lovely touch was a huge bouquet of flowers waiting in the room. We were soon settled into our booked room the next morning after a wonderful breakfast. This room turned out to be lovely, and we thought it much more appealling than the previous one.We felt very much at home here, and the bar food was great.. A very enjoyable weekend, so we insisted on paying for the first night. We hope to go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyH0usewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Stayed at the Eels Foot for two nights while visiting Minsmere RSPB reserve nearby as novice birdwatchers and would echo everything said in the last review, (in particular the excellence of the breakfast sausages). The spacious ground floor twin room was perfect for me and my 80 year old mother. (Nowhere to plug in hairdryer near a mirror but that is a small point and the owners were intending to rectify this!). All just what we wanted and more. Warm, comfortable, characterful, very clean, good food and the bird reserve on the doorstep and Southwold a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbridge
1.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
765 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eels Foot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eels Foot Inn

Property: The Eels Foot Inn
Address: Leiston Road, Eastbridge IP16 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eastbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eels Foot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eels Foot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eels Foot Hotel Eastbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing